How to Find and Use E-books: E-books by Subject

Full-text reference resource with articles, images, audio files, and videos covering every major subject

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using CREDO

Extensive collection of multidisciplinary e-books

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Ebook Central (ProQuest)

Scholarly e-books covering many different subjects

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides covering a variety of disciplines

Full-text, academic e-books, including reference materials, covering a wide range of topics

Full-text electronic access to ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences

Dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, timelines, maps, and more which can be browsed by subject, searched in the entire database, searched by particular subjects, or searched in individual works

Full-text academic e-books from Oxford University Press, including business and management, economics and finance, history, literature, neuroscience, philosophy, political science, psychology, public health and epidemiology, religion, social work, and a variety of other subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law (Updated monthly)

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Oxford Academic

Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly books in the humanities and social sciences from the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies

Complete full-text of the Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, and the Britannica Book of the Year as well as websites selected and reviewed by the editors

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Britannica Academic

Full-text, academic e-books, including reference materials, covering a wide range of topics

Dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, timelines, maps, and more which can be browsed by subject, searched in the entire database, searched by particular subjects, or searched in individual works

Full-text e-books on humanities

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using ACLS Humanities Ebooks

Ebooks of essays published from 1902 to the present about the history of various subjects across the humanities and social sciences with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music, and the arts

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Cambridge Histories

Encyclopedia covering the breadth of communication studies, including theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using International Encyclopedia of Communication

Research tool covering the current state of knowledge on the origins and development of the Bible according to its different canonic forms in Judaism and Christianity, including the history of the Bible's reception in the Christian churches and the Jewish Diaspora in literature, art, music, and film as well as other religious traditions

Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly, professional, and reference e-books published by APA (Updated monthly)

Influential writings representing the most important trends of sociological thought from the eighteenth century to the present day, including many major theorists

Full-text technical references; curated content; interactive equations, charts, and graphs; and materials and substances data for engineers

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Knovel

Full-text e-books and digital video streams related to business and technology as well as learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, and audio books

Full-text reference e-book for the fields of psychology and behavioral science

Transcripts of counseling and therapy sessions and first-person narratives of mental illness and treatment as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material

Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly, professional, and reference e-books published by APA (Updated monthly)

Influential writings representing the most important trends of sociological thought from the eighteenth century to the present day, including many major theorists

Complete full-text of the Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, and the Britannica Book of the Year as well as websites selected and reviewed by the editors

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Britannica Academic

Full-text reference resource with articles, images, audio files, and videos covering every major subject

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using CREDO

Full-text, academic e-books, including reference materials, covering a wide range of topics

Dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, timelines, maps, and more which can be browsed by subject, searched in the entire database, searched by particular subjects, or searched in individual works

Full-text reference e-book for the fields of psychology and behavioral science

Collection of resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis

Research tool covering the current state of knowledge on the origins and development of the Bible according to its different canonic forms in Judaism and Christianity, including the history of the Bible's reception in the Christian churches and the Jewish Diaspora in literature, art, music, and film as well as other religious traditions

Encyclopedia covering the breadth of communication studies, including theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using International Encyclopedia of Communication

Dictionary of the English language, including extensive etymologies, timelines, a historical thesaurus, and browsing functionality

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using the OED

Peer-reviewed articles for the study of philosophy and related subjects such as politics, psychology, economics, anthropology, religion, and literature

Full-text e-books on humanities

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using ACLS Humanities Ebooks

Works of short fiction produced by writers from Africa and the African ancestry from the earliest times to the present, including materials from early literary magazines, archives, and the personal collections of the authors, many of which have never been previously published

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Black Short Fiction and Folklore

Ebooks of peer-reviewed essays about Shakespeare studies and production, including Shakespearean images and photographs, published from 1948 to the present

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Shakespeare Survey (Cambridge Companions Online)

Extensive full-text collection of early English books, including titles by John Locke, Captain John Smith, William Shakespeare, and others

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using EEBO

Full-text volumes of poetry by approximately 50 Irish women written between 1768 and 1842 as well as biographical and critical essays prepared by leading scholars

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Irish Women Poets

Repository of state papers, chronicles, accounts, and correspondence from the archives of Britain, Ireland, and continental Europe as well as books and manuscripts related to the study of Britain and its place in the world during the medieval and early modern period (c. 1100-1800) (Updated weekly)

Reference materials and records to plays, people, theatres, productions, and production companies covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre, including images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks, and other resources

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Theatre in Context

Dictionary of the English language, including extensive etymologies, timelines, a historical thesaurus, and browsing functionality

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using the OED

Full-text electronic collection of works focusing on the period between 1800 and 1830, including canonical and previously unrecognized poetry, prose, drama, letters, and diaries as well as political, philosophical, scientific, and sociological works from Britain, the British Empire, and North America as well as the full run of The Wordsworth Circle

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Romantic Era Redefined

Plays with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more, including selected playbills, production photographs, and other ephemera related to the plays

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Twentieth Century North American Drama

Collection of resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis

Books, pamphlets, broadsides, and other scarce printed material covering American history, literature, culture, and daily life from 1639-1819

Contains ebooks concerning various aspects of nursing, including gerontology, nursing assessment, and holistic nursing. The ebooks must be viewed in a browser.

E-books for medicine, nursing, and allied health, including an image library and integrated drug information

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using R2 Digital Library

Books, pamphlets, broadsides, and other scarce printed material covering American history, literature, culture, and daily life from 1639-1819

Ebooks of essays published from 1902 to the present about the history of various subjects across the humanities and social sciences with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music, and the arts

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Cambridge Histories

Research tool covering the current state of knowledge on the origins and development of the Bible according to its different canonic forms in Judaism and Christianity, including the history of the Bible's reception in the Christian churches and the Jewish Diaspora in literature, art, music, and film as well as other religious traditions

Full-text electronic access to ebooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences

Repository of state papers, chronicles, accounts, and correspondence from the archives of Britain, Ireland, and continental Europe as well as books and manuscripts related to the study of Britain and its place in the world during the medieval and early modern period (c. 1100-1800) (Updated weekly)

Full-text academic e-books from Oxford University Press, including business and management, economics and finance, history, literature, neuroscience, philosophy, political science, psychology, public health and epidemiology, religion, social work, and a variety of other subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law (Updated monthly)

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Oxford Academic

Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly books in the humanities and social sciences from the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies

Collection of resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis

Full-text of the ten-volume print encyclopedia along with associated audio tracks, musical illustrations, photographs, drawings, song texts, score examples, charts, and maps

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online

Downloadable and printable sheet music for all classical genres, spanning from Medieval times to the 21st century and including composers from Bach to Arvo Part

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Naxos Sheet Music

Full, study, piano, and vocal scores of classical major and lesser known composers, including works from the Middle Ages to the 21st century

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Music Online: Classical Scores Library

Reference materials spanning the entire history of Western classical music, including full-text of Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Music Online: Classical Music Reference Library

Full-text of reference works, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies chronicling the history and culture of the African American experience through music, including blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrels, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Music Online: African American Music Reference

Reference materials and records to plays, people, theatres, productions, and production companies covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre, including images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks, and other resources

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Theatre in Context

Contains ebooks concerning various aspects of nursing, including gerontology, nursing assessment, and holistic nursing. The ebooks must be viewed in a browser.

E-books for medicine, nursing, and allied health, including an image library and integrated drug information

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using R2 Digital Library

Research tool covering the current state of knowledge on the origins and development of the Bible according to its different canonic forms in Judaism and Christianity, including the history of the Bible's reception in the Christian churches and the Jewish Diaspora in literature, art, music, and film as well as other religious traditions

Peer-reviewed articles for the study of philosophy and related subjects such as politics, psychology, economics, anthropology, religion, and literature

Full-text articles covering the history of early Christian texts, authors, and ideas up to 600 CE and including iconographic, martyrological, ecclesiastical, and Christological traditions, as well as cultic phenomena, such as the veneration of saints

Definitive collection of Barth’s works in German, including sermons, letters, lectures, conversations, and academic writings as well as a full-text English translation of Barth’s The Church Dogmatics and other works

A full-text searchable database of early writing concerning Protestantism.

Complete full-text of the Encyclopædia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, and the Britannica Book of the Year as well as websites selected and reviewed by the editors

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Britannica Academic

Full-text reference e-book for the fields of psychology and behavioral science

Full-text, academic e-books, including reference materials, covering a wide range of topics

Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly, professional, and reference e-books published by APA (Updated monthly)

Influential writings representing the most important trends of sociological thought from the eighteenth century to the present day, including many major theorists

E-books for medicine, nursing, and allied health, including an image library and integrated drug information

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using R2 Digital Library