Skip to main content

Faculty Services: LU Online Faculty

Library Resources for Liberty University Online Faculty

Online Services for Students and Faculty


The Online Services Available for Students and Faculty page explains the Services and Resources provided to online students.

Remote Access

When off-campus, links to subscription electronic resources will send you to an EZproxy authentication site. Use your Liberty University login and password at that point and you will be passed on to the electronic resource. Or— log-in to EZproxy at the beginning of your search. Then you will have access to all databases.

Connecting Students to Articles

Provide persistent links

  • Within Blackboard, provide students with persistent links (also called permalinks) to the articles you want them to read.
  • Only by using persistent links will students be able to access articles both on and off campus.
  • It is important that the link has a proxying prefix for off-campus students.  Just because a link works properly on-campus does not mean it will work properly for off-campus students. 
  • See EZproxy off-campus article links for Blackboard for adding the needed prefix if it is not provided by the database.

Links to databases are preferable to PDF's

  • Downloading PDF copies of articles from Liberty’s library subscription databases and then uploading them to Blackboard for your students usually violates copyright law and our vendor license agreements.
  • Even for articles you wrote, making just one copy of PDF's doesn't allow us to track numerous individual student article downloads to show that expensive databases are being used and thus should be retained.
  • Even if an article is available on the web, provide a link and not a copy.  If the copyright status of the web article is questionable, link to our databases instead.

Selection of Materials to be Requested for the Library Collection

The goal of the Liberty University Library is to provide the Liberty University community with a rich and varied collection of materials.