Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Where is Search Anything?
Use the Search box above to "Search Anything" using Summon.
You can also search this, and all other, Research Guides, using the Search Box locating in the top right corner of the page.
Reference resources are a great way for you to get a brief concept of a person, place, thing, or event. Using a reference resource can often tell you the main events of a person's life or the main parts of a battle. While your professor may not want you citing a general encyclopedia such as our Encyclopedia Britannica, some may allow you to cite more subject specific resources as described in the links below.
Online Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Oxford Reference Online Premium
Contains dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, timelines, maps, and more. You can browse by subject, search the entire database, search particular subjects, or search in individual works.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A large database of reference and primary sources covering a wide range of topics. Sections of the ebooks can be viewed in a browser, heard as text to speech, or downloaded as PDF documents.
For more information, please view this video tutorial on Gale Virtual Reference Library
The best quality introductory articles written by prominent scholars are all at your fingertips.
Find the next steps to leading journals and books.
Credo Reference (formerly Literati)
Get content from hundreds of reference books covering every major subject. There are over 3 million entries, 200,000+ images (art, diagrams, maps and photos), and over 100,000 audio pronunciation files and sound clips. The content is enriched by a network of cross-reference links that cut across topics and titles to give you accurate, contextual results.
Want more Information? Watch a short, helpful video tutorial on Credo Reference
We have Encyclopedias in print and electronic formats. The first two below are examples of ones available electronically while the second two are only available in print.
We have handbooks in print and electronic formats. The first two below are examples of ones available electronically while the second two are only available in print.