Faculty Services: LU Online Faculty

The Online Services Available for Students and Faculty page explains the Services and Resources provided to online students.

When off-campus, links to subscription electronic resources will send you to an EZproxy authentication site. Use your Liberty University login and password at that point and you will be passed on to the electronic resource. Or— log-in to EZproxy at the beginning of your search. Then you will have access to all databases.

Provide persistent links

• Within Canvas, provide students with persistent links (also called permalinks) to the articles you want them to read.
• Only by using persistent links will students be able to access articles both on and off campus.
• See our comprehensive OpenAthens Guide for instructions on creating accessible links for your course, if the link to the article or e-book is not provided by the database.

Links to databases are preferable to PDF's

• Downloading PDF copies of articles from Liberty’s library subscription databases and then uploading them to Canvas for your students usually violates copyright law and our vendor license agreements.
• Even for articles you wrote, making just one copy of PDF's doesn't allow us to track numerous individual student article downloads to show that expensive databases are being used and thus should be retained.
• Even if an article is available on the web, provide a link and not a copy.  If the copyright status of the web article is questionable, link to our databases instead.

The goal of the Liberty University Library is to provide the Liberty University community with a rich and varied collection of materials.

• Click here for further details: Request Library Resources for Purchases.
• Since policies and procedures for requesting library materials vary by department, contact your department head for details regarding your specific school.
• Here is our Collection Development Policy
• For electronic books, our license agreements sometimes only allow one user at a time.  If you would like to require an electronic book for course use, click Using Ebooks for Course Content for more details.