Research Guides: Nursing & Medical Science: Nursing Research

Featured Resources

CINAH Plus with Full Text – Upgraded to CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, and book chapters as well as full-text evidence-based care sheets, lessons, and continuing education modules with coverage dating back to 1937

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Scholarly full-text journals on a variety of medical disciplines as well as the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database
Ovid This link opens in a new window
Articles in nursing and related health areas including pharmacology, public health, and psychology

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Ovid
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Journals, video, dissertations, reference books, and other resources related to the fields of nursing and allied health

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest)
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals, articles, book chapters, and open access content covering scientific, technical, and medical research

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using ScienceDirect

Additional Resources

Annual Review of Clinical Psychology
Articles synthesizing primary research literature and identifying principal contributions in the fields of clinical psychology and psychiatry, including research, theory, and the application of psychological principles to address recognized disorders
Annual Review of Psychology
Articles synthesizing primary research literature and identifying principal contributions in the field of psychology and related subfields
Annual Review of Public Health
Articles synthesizing primary research literature and identifying principal contributions in the field of public health and related subfields

CINAH Plus with Full Text – Upgraded to CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, and book chapters as well as full-text evidence-based care sheets, lessons, and continuing education modules with coverage dating back to 1937

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals, magazines, health reference books and encyclopedias, evidence-based health reports, and more covering all key areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to complementary and holistic medicine

CQ Researcher
Full-length articles with in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day, including an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, and resources for additional research

Want more Information? Watch a short, helpful video tutorial on CQ Researcher Online

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text, academic e-books, including reference materials, covering a wide range of topics

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Gale Virtual Reference Library

Genetics Abstracts
This database provides a practical means for keeping up with wide-ranging findings that are important to scientists own studies, sifting the worldwide literature for significant advances as they happen and forging an essential link among different systems. Coverage: 1982 - current
Grants & Funding (from Science Journal) - Formerly GrantsNet

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Scholarly full-text journals on a variety of medical disciplines as well as the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database

Health Video Library
The Stanford Health Video Library programs feature prominent doctors presenting the latest health research.
Immunology Abstracts
Studies are summarized relating to all aspects of immune systems in man and animals, including normal functions and disorders Coverage: 1982 - current
Journal of Cell Biology
The Journal of Cell Biology (JCB) is an international peer-reviewed journal.

Ovid This link opens in a new window
Articles in nursing and related health areas including pharmacology, public health, and psychology

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Ovid
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text electronic access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using JSTOR
MEDLINE (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Citations from biomedical and life science journals indexed with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®) from the NLM controlled vocabulary extending back to 1946

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using MEDLINE

PapersFirst
Index of papers presented at conferences worldwide

Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text back files of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Periodicals Archive Online
Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of scholarly and trade publications in fields such as physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance, sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, and more

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Sports Medicine & Education Index
Proceedings This link opens in a new window
Index of worldwide conference proceedings
Biological Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications covering the biological science fields and including the Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Biological Science Collection (ProQuest)
Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window
Journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Consumer Health Database
Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration, and related topics

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest)
Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text information from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations, and law

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest)
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Journals, video, dissertations, reference books, and other resources related to the fields of nursing and allied health

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest)
PsycARTICLES (APA PsycNet) This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed articles published by APA and affiliated journals (Updated semi-weekly)
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals covering topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database
PsycINFO (APA PsycNet) This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, scholarly abstracts and citations of behavioral and social science research (Updated semi-weekly)

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals, articles, book chapters, and open access content covering scientific, technical, and medical research

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using ScienceDirect
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals with coverage back to 1930 plus abstracts for additional journals, sports-related video, and articles coverings sports and sports medicine research, including nutrition, physical therapy, occupational health, exercise physiology and kinesiology

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using SPORT Discus Database

Toxicology Abstracts
This database is the only comprehensive resource for professionals in this field and is specifically focused to meet the needs of toxicologists. The database covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues. Coverage: 1981 - current

TOXLINE This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens with coverage since 1999

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using TOXLINE
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, and reference resources covering a wide variety of disciplines

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Wiley Online Library

Resources by Letter

A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Database Tutorials

CINAHL Plus with Full text Basic Searching

Flash
Youtube
PowerPoint (requires PowerPoint or PowerPoint viewer)

CINAHL Plus with Full text Advanced Searching

Flash
Youtube
PowerPoint (requires PowerPoint or PowerPoint viewer)

Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings (from EBSCO):

Flash
Youtube
PowerPoint (requires PowerPoint or PowerPoint viewer)

ProQuest Nursing and Medical Databases:

Flash
This is the first in the ProQuest Medical Databases tutorial series. See http://www.proquest.com/en-US/support/training/materials.shtml for the rest of the series.

Ovid SP for Journals@Ovid:

Basic Seach - Flash (can take awhile to load)
Advanced Search - Flash (can take a while to load):

SciVerse ScienceDirect (from Elsevier):

Flash
Has related tutorials
Has tutorials in other languages

Using EBSCOhost's Visual Search:

Flash
YouTube
PowerPoint (requires PowerPoint or PowerPoint viewer)

Professional Websites

Christian nursing journals

Journal of Christian Nursing (This link allows you to search within the Journal of Christian Nursing thru the Ovid database.)

Christian Periodical Index (This links allows you to search the Journal of Christian Nursing from EBSCO's interface with links to the full-text in Ovid.)

Professional Organizations

Nurses Christian Fellowship

American Nurses Association

American Organization of Nurse Executives

ANCC Nurse Executive Certification (ANNCC Nurse Executive and Advanced Certification)

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality

American Pain Society

Centers for Disease Control

International Council of Nurses -Global Health Issues

National Institutes of Health

National Institute of Nursing Research

National League of Nursing- Nurse Educator Certification Information

World Health Organization

Other professional websites

ANA Code of Ethics

ANA Scope and Standards of Professional Nursing Practice

ANCC Magnet Program (ANCC Magnet Program for Hospitals)

Academic Center for Evidence Based Practice_ STAR Model

Baldrige Award

Essentials of Genomics and Genetics Education for Nurses

Healthy People

International Parish Nurse Resource Center

The Iowa Model of Evidence Based Practice

NLN Competencies for Nurse Educators

Quality and Safety Education for Nurses

THOMAS Library of Congress Federal Bills Search

Subject Guide

JoHannah Lowder

Email Me

Contact:

(434) 582-2821

Subjects: Nursing

Topical Databases

These are databases on specific topics.

Genetics

Citation Software

As a Liberty University student, you can access RefWorks for free. RefWorks is a citation management tool, which helps you keep track of your sources, the notes you have on your sources, and help create bibliographies from those sources. Go to the Library's RefWorks page for more information and to access RefWorks.