This chart contains basic reference sources that are likely to present the following information about composers:
Biographical/chronological information
A general description of a composer’s style and important highlights of their life
A listing of a composer’s major works
|
Title of Work |
Place to Search |
Location(s) |
Path |
|
Baker’s Biographical Dictionary |
Search Anything Search for title |
Book Tower – level 3 |
ML105.B16 2001 |
|
Baker’s Biographical Dictionary |
Search Anything Search for title |
Ebook |
Click on title |
|
New Grove Dictionary of Music |
Search Anything Search for title |
Book Tower – level 3 |
ML101.U6 N48 |
|
New Grove Dictionary of Music |
Databases – Search by Subject (Music) |
Music databases |
In Oxford Music Online database |
|
Harvard Dictionary of Music |
Search Anything Search for title |
Book Tower – level 3 |
ML100 .A64 200b |
|
Harvard Dictionary of Music |
Search Anything Search for title |
Ebook |
Click on title |
|
Credo Reference |
Databases - Search alphabetically (C) |
Online reference database |
Under Databases browse by letter C
|
The search path for finding books is:
www.liberty.edu/library
Above the search box click on Books. The Print, E-book, and Audiobook boxes are automatically chosen.
In looking for Books, remember that there are not always entire books dedicated to a single work. Expand your search by looking for a book about the composer or the Type of Music or the Time Period of Music you are researching. Then use the table of contents or index in the book to see if your piece is included.
You can also start with a broad simple search - such as the composer's name. Additional terms can be added to narrow the results if needed. A search may retrieve a variety of resources.
For further help contact:
Rachel Schwedt, Research and Instruction Librarian, reschwed@liberty.edu
Office # 434-592-3357
Come to the Research Desk at the Customer Service Center
Email: research@liberty.edu
Call # 434-528-2221
Journal articles are housed in databases to which the library subscribes. The search path to finding journal articles is: www.liberty.edu/library - Browse All Databases - In the box next to All Subjects, scroll down and choose Music
Databases
The Jerry Falwell Library subscribes to a number of databases dedicated to the field of music and other general databases which include music. Some databases provide access to scores that you can print. Some offer recordings of musical performances, and others specialize in professional journals with articles addressing many aspects of music including the analysis of musical works.
You will probably need to visit a number of different types of databases to find the information you need.
Suggested databases:
Journal Articles
General (including music journals)
EBSCOHOST
JSTOR
Proquest Central
Project MUSE: Humanities and Social Sciences
Music specific
Music Index
Music Periodicals Database
RILM Abstract of Music Literature
Reference materials
Cambridge Companions Online: Cambridge Companions to Music
Music Online: Classical Music Reference Library
Oxford Music Online Includes: Grove Music Online
Oxford Companion to Music
Oxford Dictionary of Music
Videos / Audio
Music Online: Classical Music Library – contains reference information ,video and audio
Music Online: Opera in Video
Naxos Music Library
Naxos Video Library
Scores (Sheet Music)
Library Music Source
Music Online: Classical Scores Library
Naxos Music Library: Sheet Music
Search Terms
Specific search terms are assigned to materials in databases and library catalogs. Some databases search the entire body of an article to look for the terms you choose, and some search only the subject terms assigned. Following are some common subject terms you may find useful in your research. Many of these can be used in combination with each other.
Search by time period
Music – History and criticism – 17th century
18th century music – History and criticism
Search by composer
Scarlatti, Domenico – History and criticism
Haydn, Joseph, 1732-1809 – Biography
Search by title of musical piece
Search by type or time period of music
Baroque music
Gregorian chants
Renaissance music
Organ music
Church music
Choral music
General sub headings – use in combination with other terms
Composition (Musical composition)
Analysis
Criticism or critique
History and criticism
Search by country
Italy – 18th century – Music
The following screen shot shows the results of a search for articles about Thomas Tallis in Music Index. Search terms used were Tallis, Thomas and History and criticism.
