Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Research Guide: MUSC 213 Survey of Popular Music

This research guide features resources and strategies for finding information and conducting research related to Music.

MUSC 213 SURVEY OF POPULAR MUSIC

This page includes instructions for finding books and articles in the Jerry Falwell Library related to composers and musicians before 1945 as well as information about various musical genres between the years of 1945 and 2015.

FINDING BOOKS

Using the Search Anything box, enter the name of the composer of musician of interest. Ex: Stephen Foster

 

This search brings over 47,000 results. This is a huge number of results but that can be cut down by clicking on Book/eBook or by choosing more limits such as publication dates, language found on the left side of the result page, or by using the Advanced Search option. In Advanced Search more modifiers can be added using the Boolean Operators AND, OR, and NOT.

If the title you want is in the Robotic System, click on the link provided.

Click on the link again on the next page then Request to pickup at the Customer Service Center and Sign in using your Liberty user name and password. On the next page click SEND REQUEST. The book should be available to you at the Customer Service desk in 10-15 minutes.

 

ARTICLE AVAILABILITY AND INTERLIBRARY LOAN

On occasion an article is not available in its entirety in the databases where you are searching. In that case you will se a message that says:

Click on this link and you will be taken to a screen that shows where the article may be found.

The example below is for the article "The gospel according to Bruce Springsteen."

 If you choose the ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Series Plus link you will be taken to a page where you can click on the year and volume of the issue desired.

If you click on EBSCOhost ATLA series link you are taken to a page where the PDF can be downloaded.

If the university does not have direct access to the article, you have the option to order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL or Illiad).

To set up an ILL account click here:  https://www.liberty.edu/library/interlibrary-loan/

Articles requested through Interlibrary Load usually come very quickly.

FINDING ARTICLES

Journal articles are housed in databases to which the library subscribes.

There are three types of databases that you can search.

General databases include many different subject areas.

The steps to finding general databases are: Browse All Databases - On Databases page click on arrow next to All Databases Types - Choose Popular Databases

Subject specific databases focus on one particular subject area

The steps to finding journal articles related to music are:  Browse All Databases - On Databases page click on arrow next to All Subjects - Scroll down and choose Music

Video/Audio databases allow you to listen to performances of musical pieces

The steps to finding video/audio recordings are: Above the main page search box click on Audio/Video - Choose Streaming Audio or Streaming Video.

Another option is to go to the Music Databases page and choose one of the Audio/Video databases listed at the bottom of this page. 

GENERAL DATABASES

CREDO is a database of reference material with links out to additional journal articles.It can be found under Databases by Letter.

Other relevant General Databases include: EBSCO Quick Search, Humanities International Complete, JSTOR, and Project MUSE, and ProQuest Central.

SUBJECT SPECIFIC DATABASES

America: History and Life (Under History databases)

Cambridge Companions Online: Cambridge Companions to Music

Music Index

Music Periodicals Database

Naxos Music Library

Oxford Music Online

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature

VIDEO/AUDIO DATABASES

Music Online: American Song

Music Online: Jazz Music Library

Naxos Video Library

 

DATABASE SAMPLE SEARCH

The following screen shot shows the results of a search for articles about Progressive Rock in EBSCO.

.

This search brought up 1,327 results. Such a large number can be reduced by using the limiters on the left side of the result screen including copyright date, language, and geographic location. Databases will have different looks, but the basic principles for searching remain the same.

When an article is provided in PDF format (as in the example above), a number of options are available: