Skip to main content

Open Educational Resources: Home

This guide provides information and discovery resources for OER.

Open Educational Resources (OER)

"Open Educational Resources are teaching, learning, and research resources that reside in the public domain or have been released under an intellectual property license that permits their free use and repurposing by others. OER include full courses, course materials, modules, textbooks, streaming videos, tests, software, and any other tools, materials, or techniques used to support access to knowledge." - Hewlett Foundation

Questions

For more information or questions about Open Educational Resources, contact the Scholarly Communications Department at the Jerry Falwell Library.  scholarlycommunications@liberty.edu

Featured Resources

  1. MIT Open Courseware – openly published MIT course content that covers the humanities, social sciences, and sciences
  2. MERLOT – a project of the California State University System, contains links to open textbooks from a variety of sources (peer review indicators)
  3. OER Commons – a search engine that makes various OERs of different levels discoverable
  4. COT Education – Continuing Support for Open Textbooks.  
  5. OpenStax – an initiative of Rice University with support from foundations like Hewlett and the Gate’s Foundation (peer reviewed)
  6. SUNY Open Textbooks – an initiative of the State University of New York libraries with support from SUNY grants (peer reviewed)

 

Other OER Discovery Resources

BCcampus OpenEd – a collection of open textbooks created by BCcampus

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) – a collection of peer reviewed open access books with Creative Commons licenses

InTech – an open access publisher of books and journals in science, technology and medicine

Libre Texts – a multi-institutional collection of higher learning textbooks

Open Textbook Library – an aggregation of openly licensed textbooks

Open TextBook Store – a catalog of open textbooks collected by educators to make open textbooks more easily adoptable in courses

OpenStax CNX– an extension of OpenStax, a repository of open access textbooks and curricular materials

General OER and Creative Commons Collections

Creative Commons – a collection of Creative Commons licensed materials

OER Commons – a search engine that makes various OERs of different levels discoverable

Teaching Commons – a collection of OERs available through the Digital Commons platform

 

Portals

Search Multiple locations

Search for OER across multiple repositories in the Mason OER Metafinder.

Mason OER Metafinder is searching well-known OER repositories like OpenStax, OER Commons, MERLOT but also sites like HathiTrust, DPLA, Internet Archive and NYPL Digital Collections where valuable but often overlooked open educational materials may be found.

MOM iconMason OER Metafinder (MOM)
 
Advanced Search