Research Guides: Allied Health: Respiratory Therapy

Librarian

Email Me

Search tips for recommended databases

MeSH Terms

From the National Library of Medicine: "The Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) thesaurus is a controlled and hierarchically-organized vocabulary produced by the National Library of Medicine. It is used for indexing, cataloging, and searching of biomedical and health-related information. MeSH includes the subject headings appearing in MEDLINE, PubMed, the NLM Catalog, and other NLM databases."

MeSH Browser

MeSH Tutorials
Here you can find a number of videos and tutorials that will help you identify the best practices of searching with MeSH terms.
MeSH Browser Overview
This guide provides helpful tips on using the MeSH browser to search for terms, viewing records, and navigating the MeSH hierarchy.

Recommended Databases

PubMed
Citations, abstracts, and some full text of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, PubMed Central, life science journals, author manuscripts, and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Bookshelf

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using PubMed.
MEDLINE Ultimate (EBSCO)
Full-text articles for medical professionals on a variety of topics in medicine

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using MEDLINE Ultimate.
AccessMedicine
Collection of medical e-books, cases, multimedia content, self-assessment tools, drug database, safety modules, and infographics

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Access Medicine.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest)
Full-text peer-reviewed articles on a variety of nursing topics such as dental hygiene, dietetics, geriatrics, orthopedics, physical therapy, radiology, rehabilitation, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest).

RefWorks

RefWorks
Refworks allows you to organize your research and generate reference lists in various styles including Respiratory Care Journal (CSL).