When citing articles, include as much information about the article as possible, such as the author's name, year and location of publication, the title of the article, volume and/or issue number.
Many of the JFL databases have tools to generate citations for you. However, these are computer generated and need to be evaluated against the APA 7 style manual.
Many databases will include the database and the proxy link to the article. When citing articles found in database, do not include the database link to the database or the database name. Instead follow the examples below regarding DOI and URL usage in citations. The APA Style site has helpful information on this.
DOI and URL Usage:
Use a DOI (digital object identifier) whenever it is provided. For example, in APA PsycNet, the DOI for each article is included, as highlighted in the screenshot below.
Use a URL for open-access, online resources with no DOI. Instead, include the URL for the journal article.
Example:
Ahmann, E., Tuttle, L. J., Saviet, M., & Wright, S. D. (2018). A descriptive review of ADHD coaching research: Implications for college students. Journal of Postsecondary Education and Disability, 31(1), 17-39. https://www.ahead.org/professional-resources/publications/jped/archived-jped/jped-volume-31
When citing an article from the JFL databases, use the DOI whenever one is provided. If a DOI is not provided, do not include a link to the article.
Present DOIs and URLs as hyperlinks: https://doi.org/10.1037/0000092-001 or https://www.website.com. Do not use “Retrieved from” or “Accessed from” before the DOI or URL in the citation. You can use a shortened doi link such as https://doi.org/fg6rf9.
It is acceptable to include the DOI in blue font and underlined, as hyperlinked text. The DOI can also be listed as plain text and not hyperlinked. However if preparing a paper for publication or if the paper will be read online, it is expected that the reader be able to select the link and be taken to the referenced article.
Example:
Levin, M. (2021) Bioelectric signaling: Reprogrammable circuits underlying embryogenesis, regeneration, and cancer. Cell, 184(8), 1971-1989. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.cell.2021.02.034
Multiple Authors
Example:
Kalnay, E., Kanimitsu, M., Kistler, R., Collins, W., Deaven, D., Gandin, L., Iredell, M., Saha, S., White, G., Whollen, J., Zhu, Y., Chelliah, M.,
Ebisuzaki W., Higgins, W., Janowiak, J., Mo, K. C., Ropelewski, C., Wang, J., Leetmaa, A., … Joseph, D. (1996). The NCEP/NCAR 40-year
reanalysis project. Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society, 77(3), 437-471. https://doi.org/fg6rf9
When citing journal articles, database journals are cited exactly as print journals. No distinction is made in the citation if the article is in print or in a database.
Article with a DOI:
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal,
volume number, page range. https://dx.doi.org/10.0000/0000
Example:
McCauley, S. M., & Christiansen, M. H. (2019). Language learning as language use: A cross-linguistic model of child language development.
Psychological Review, 126(1), 1-51. https://doi.org.10.1037/rev0000126
Article without a DOI:
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal,
volume number, page range.
Example:
Anderson, M. (2018). Getting consistent with consequences. Educational Leadership, 76(1), 26-33.