Criminal Justice Research Guide: Databases

Historic American newspapers providing primary sources for exploring American history, culture, and daily life from 1690 to the early 20th century

Reference resource for every major subject with authoritative definitions for a wide variety of terms

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using CREDO.

Full-text peer-reviewed articles covering criminal investigations, criminal law, forensic sciences, history of crime, policing, prisons, probations, substance abuse, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database.

Full-text peer-reviewed articles covering addiction, corrections administration, criminology, criminal law, law enforcement, rehabilitation, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest).

Full-text legal articles and case laws at the federal, state, and international level

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Law Journal Library (HeinOnline).

Major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, covering federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law

News, business, and legal information such as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using NexisUni.

Data application with mapping capabilities that provides localized information on demographics, real estate, health, employment, economics, education, federal guidelines, and other significant information for communities across the U.S. Data is available in interactive maps, tables, charts, and reports. The data is downloadable as comma-separated value (.csv) files, and the maps can be printed, emailed, or saved as image files.

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using PolicyMap.

Public laws, legislative reports, executive data, press releases, and historical news articles that connect U.S. criminal justice policies with trending outcomes through timelines, contextual topic pages, concepts, and statistics

Full-text articles on history, humanities, and social sciences

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using JSTOR.

Full-text reports on issues in North American cities such as community development, housing, taxation, and more

Videos of tutorials, interviews, and documentaries on business, counseling, education, international relations, management, social work, and more

Detailed Information on every country for understanding country-specific cultural norms such as business culture, communication styles, significant historical events, religious views, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Global Road Warrior.

Current news and information on many countries, including demographic, political, economic, business, cultural, and environmental information

Detailed breakdowns of countries on a country's geography, culture, weather, history, government, and more

Extensive collection of various types of maps such as country maps, city maps, climate maps, geology maps, ecology maps, topographic maps, and other types of maps

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using AtoZ Maps.