Due Process: Understanding the US Criminal Justice SystemThis is not all of our videos! Search the Catalog under the Audio/Visual tab for more content.
Forensic Science by 
Making Sense of Criminal Justice by 
The New Criminal Justice Thinking by 
Policing White-Collar Crime by Your two best places for finding books will be from our library catalog and from worldcat.
LU Online Students -- Please take note of our delivery services found here.
** Worth Noting **
Some students mention that they can't find enough books on their topic.
Academic Writing: an Introduction, Third Edition by
Academic Writinghas been widely acclaimed in all its editions as a superb textbook--and an important contribution to the pedagogy of introducing students to the conventions of academic writing. The book seeks to introduce student readers to the lively community of research and writing beyond the classroom, with its complex interactions, values, and goals. It presents writing from a range of disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, cultivating students' awareness of the subtle differences in genre. This new edition has been revised throughout and contains many new exercises, updated examples, a new section on research proposals, and wider disciplinary coverage. The organization of the book has also been revised to better fit with the timeline of most teaching terms.
Becoming an Academic Writer by
Becoming an Academic Writer helps you gain control over writing and publishing, master specific aspects of academic writing, and improve your productivity. Patricia Goodson′s book offers weekly exercises and tools to achieve these goals. The exercises are grounded in a theoretically-sound and empirically-based mode comprising a set of behavioural principles (e.g., writing regularly, separating generating from editing) and specific practices (weekly exercises) which ensure success. Based on the work of writing theoretician Peter Elbow, the empirical research done by Robert Boice (and others) on writing productivity of college professors, and the research into the practice patterns of elite performers (such as Olympic athletes), the principles and practices have been developed and tested over time. Inside you′ll find: Exercises tailored to specific segments of academic papers and reports Tips for ESL Writers boxes, providing additional support. This book uniquely combines these successful principles with a set of original exercises applicable to the writing needs of academics as well as students.
The Bedford Handbook by
Writing well in college requires time and lots of practice. The Bedford Handbook is a practical tool, worth holding onto, that will help your writing suceed no matter the class.
A Concise Guide to Writing a Thesis or Dissertation by 
Student's Guide to Writing College Papers, Fifth Edition by
Students of all levels need to know how to write a well-reasoned, coherent research paper--and for decades Kate L. Turabian's Student's Guide to Writing College Papers has helped them to develop this critical skill. For its fifth edition, Chicago has reconceived and renewed this classic work for today's generation. Addressing the same range of topics as Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations but for beginning writers and researchers, this guide introduces students to the art of formulating an effective argument, conducting high-quality research with limited resources, and writing an engaging class paper. This new edition includes fresh examples of research topics, clarified terminology, more illustrations, and new information about using online sources and citation software. It features updated citation guidelines for Chicago, MLA, and APA styles, aligning with the latest editions of these popular style manuals. It emphasizes argument, research, and writing as extensions of activities that students already do in their everyday lives. It also includes a more expansive view of what the end product of research might be, showing that knowledge can be presented in more ways than on a printed page. Friendly and authoritative, the fifth edition of Student's Guide to Writing College Papers combines decades of expert advice with new revisions based on feedback from students and teachers. Time-tested and teacher-approved, this book will prepare students to be better critical thinkers and help them develop a sense of inquiry that will serve them well beyond the classroom.
Writing the Research Paper by
Get simple, specific guidance on writing a research paper with WRITING THE RESEARCH PAPER: A HANDBOOK, Eighth Edition. With its easy-to-digest steps that demystify the writing process, this accessible handbook gives you the tools you need to work independently to create well-constructed research papers-throughout your college career and beyond. Within the text, you�ll discover comprehensive, up-to-date information conveyed in a calm and reassuring manner that encourages you to turn to any section of the text at any time for immediate, expert assistance. Each self-contained section is as brief as possible so you won�t need to wade through extraneous material-and can be effectively used in any order, depending on your needs.
