Computer Science: Books and Ebooks

This book is primarily for students who are taking a course on the C++ language, for those who wish to self-study the C++ language, and for programmers who have experience with C and want to advance to C++. It could also prove useful to instructors of the C++ course who are looking for explanatory programming examples to add in their lectures. The focus of this book is to provide a solid introduction to the C++ language and programming knowledge through a large number of practical examples and meaningful advice. It includes more than 500 exercises and examples of progressive difficulty to aid the reader in understanding the C++ principles and to see how concepts can materialize in code. The examples are designed to be short, concrete, and substantial, quickly giving the reader the ability to understand how to apply correctly and efficiently the features of the C++ language and to get a solid programming know-how. Rest assured that if you are able to understand this book's examples and solve the exercises, you can safely go on to edit larger programs, you will be able to develop your own applications, and you will have certainly established a solid fundamental conceptual and practical background to expand your knowledge and skills.

This practically-focused study guide introduces the fundamentals of discrete mathematics through an extensive set of classroom-tested problems. Each chapter presents a concise introduction to the relevant theory, followed by a detailed account of common challenges and methods for overcoming these. The reader is then encouraged to practice solving such problems for themselves, by tackling a varied selection of questions and assignments of different levels of complexity. This updated second edition now covers the design and analysis of algorithms using Python, and features more than 50 new problems, complete with solutions. Topics and features: provides a substantial collection of problems and examples of varying levels of difficulty, suitable for both laboratory practical training and self-study; offers detailed solutions to each problem, applying commonly-used methods and computational schemes; introduces the fundamentals of mathematical logic, the theory of algorithms, Boolean algebra, graph theory, sets, relations, functions, and combinatorics; presents more advanced material on the design and analysis of algorithms, including Turing machines, asymptotic analysis, and parallel algorithms; includes reference lists of trigonometric and finite summation formulae in an appendix, together with basic rules for differential and integral calculus. This hands-on workbook is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of computer science, informatics, and electronic engineering. Suitable for use in a one- or two-semester course on discrete mathematics, the text emphasizes the skills required to develop and implement an algorithm in a specific programming language.

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The Definitive Java Programming Guide Supplement for key JDK 10 new features available from book's Downloads & Resources page at OraclePressBooks.com. Fully updated for Java SE 9, Java: The Complete Reference, Tenth Edition explains how to develop, compile, debug, and run Java programs. Bestselling programming author Herb Schildt covers the entire Java language, including its syntax, keywords, and fundamental programming principles. You'll also find information on key portions of the Java API library, such as I/O, the Collections Framework, the stream library, and the concurrency utilities. Swing, JavaFX, JavaBeans, and servlets are examined and numerous examples demonstrate Java in action. Of course, the new module system added by Java SE 9 is discussed in detail. This Oracle Press resource also offers an introduction to JShell, Java's new interactive programming tool. Coverage includes: *Data types, variables, arrays, and operators *Control statements *Classes, objects, and methods *Method overloading and overriding *Inheritance *Interfaces and packages *Exception handling *Multithreaded programming *Enumerations, autoboxing, and annotations *The I/O classes *Generics *Lambda expressions *Modules *String handling *The Collections Framework *Networking *Event handling *AWT *Swing and JavaFX *The Concurrent API *The Stream API *Regular expressions *JavaBeans *Servlets *Much, much more Code examples in the book are available for download at www.OraclePressBooks.com. TAG:  For a complete list of Oracle Press titles, visit www.OraclePressBooks.com.

This textbook offers an accessible introduction to the topic of cybersecurity ethics. The second edition has been revised and updated, and contains new chapters on social justice, AI and big data. The book is split into three parts. Part I provides an introduction to the field of ethics, philosophy and philosophy of science, three ethical frameworks - virtue ethics, utilitarian ethics and communitarian ethics - and the notion of ethical hacking. Part II applies these frameworks to particular issues within the field of cybersecurity, including privacy rights, surveillance and intellectual property. The third part concludes by exploring current codes of ethics used in cybersecurity, with chapters on artificial intelligence, social diversity, big data and cyberwarfare. The overall aims of the book are to: provide ethical frameworks to aid decision making; present the key ethical issues in relation to computer security; highlight the connection between values and beliefs and the professional code of ethics. The textbook also includes three different features to aid students: 'Going Deeper' features provide background on individuals, events, and institutions in cybersecurity; 'Critical Issues' features contemporary case studies; and 'Tech Talks', which contain features that assume some familiarity with technological developments. The book will be of much interest to students of cybersecurity, cyberethics, hacking, surveillance studies, ethics and information science.

How the computer became universal. Over the past fifty years, the computer has been transformed from a hulking scientific supertool and data processing workhorse, remote from the experiences of ordinary people, to a diverse family of devices that billions rely on to play games, shop, stream music and movies, communicate, and count their steps. In A New History of Modern Computing, Thomas Haigh and Paul Ceruzzi trace these changes. A comprehensive reimagining of Ceruzzi's A History of Modern Computing, this new volume uses each chapter to recount one such transformation, describing how a particular community of users and producers remade the computer into something new. Haigh and Ceruzzi ground their accounts of these computing revolutions in the longer and deeper history of computing technology. They begin with the story of the 1945 ENIAC computer, which introduced the vocabulary of "programs" and "programming," and proceed through email, pocket calculators, personal computers, the World Wide Web, videogames, smart phones, and our current world of computers everywhere--in phones, cars, appliances, watches, and more. Finally, they consider the Tesla Model S as an object that simultaneously embodies many strands of computing.