The Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution by
The Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution (DHBE) is an invaluable research and study tool for both professionals and students covering a broad range of subjects within human biology, physical anthropology, anatomy, auxology, primatology, physiology, genetics, paleontology and zoology. Packed with 13000 descriptions of terms, specimens, sites and names, DHBE also includes information on over 1000 word roots, taxonomies and reference tables for extinct, recent and extant primates, geological and oxygen isotope chronologies, illustrations of landmarks, bones and muscles and an illustration of current hominid phylogeny, making this a must-have volume for anyone with an interest in human biology or evolution. DHBE is especially complete in its inventory of archaeological sites and the best-known hominid specimens excavated from them, but also includes up-to-date information on terms such as in silico, and those relating to the rapidly developing fields of human genomics.
Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology by
This superb and highly-acclaimed dictionary includes over 4000 in-depth entries on scientific and technical terminology associated with environmental protection and resource management. In addition, it contains numerous illustrations, a wide range of international case studies and extensive cross-references to guide the reader. The new edition will be a major update with 30% new material, additional illustrations and a greatly expanded list of relevant web resources.
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry by
The 4-volume Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry, Second Edition, represents the current state of a dynamic and crucial field of study. The Encyclopedia pulls together over 500 articles that help define and explore contemporary biochemistry, with content experts carefully chosen by the Editorial Board to assure both breadth and depth in its coverage. Editors-In-Chief William J. Lennarz and M. Daniel Lane have crafted a work that proceeds from the acknowledgement that understanding every living process-from physiology, to immunology, and genetics-is impossible without a grasp on the basic chemistry that provides its underpinning. Each article in the work provides an up-to-date snapshot of a given topic, written by experts, as well as suggestions for further readings for students and researcher wishing to go into greater depth. Available on-line via SciVerse ScienceDirect, the functionality of the Encyclopedia will provide easy linking to referenced articles, electronic searching, as well an online index and glossary to aid comprehension and searchability. This 4-volume set, thoroughly up-to-date and comprehensive, expertly captures this fast-moving field Curated by two esteemed editors-in-chief and an illustrious team of editors and contributors, representing the state of the field Suggestions for further readings offer researchers and students avenues for deeper exploration; a wide-ranging glossary aids comprehension
Encyclopedia of Cell Biology by
The Encyclopedia of Cell Biology offers a broad overview of cell biology, offering reputable, foundational content for researchers and students across the biological and medical sciences. This important work includes 285 articles from domain experts covering every aspect of cell biology, with fully annotated figures, abundant illustrations, videos, and references for further reading. Each entry is built with a layered approach to the content, providing basic information for those new to the area and more detailed material for the more experienced researcher. With authored contributions by experts in the field, the Encyclopedia of Cell Biology provides a fully cross-referenced, one-stop resource for students, researchers, and teaching faculty across the biological and medical sciences.
Encyclopedia of Microbiology by
Encyclopedia of Microbiology, Fourth Edition gathers both basic and applied dimensions in this dynamic field that includes virtually all environments on Earth. This range attracts a growing number of cross-disciplinary studies, which the encyclopedia makes available to readers from diverse educational backgrounds. The new edition builds on the solid foundation established in earlier versions, adding new material that reflects recent advances in the field. New focus areas include `Animal and Plant Microbiomes' and 'Global Impact of Microbes`. The thematic organization of the work allows users to focus on specific areas, e.g., for didactical purposes, while also browsing for topics in different areas. Offers an up-to-date and authoritative resource that covers the entire field of microbiology, from basic principles, to applied technologies Provides an organic overview that is useful to academic teachers and scientists from different backgrounds Includes chapters that are enriched with figures and graphs, and that can be easily consulted in isolation to find fundamental definitions and concepts
Encyclopedia of Geochemistry by
The Encyclopedia is a complete and authoritative reference work for this rapidly evolving field. Over 300 international scientists, each experts in their specialties, have written over 330 separate topics on different aspects of geochemistry including geochemical thermodynamics and kinetics, isotope and organic geochemistry, meteorites and cosmochemistry, the carbon cycle and climate, trace elements, geochemistry of high and low temperature processes, and ore deposition, to name just a few. The geochemical behavior of the elements is described as is the state of the art in analytical geochemistry. Each topic incorporates cross-referencing to related articles, and also has its own reference list to lead the reader to the essential articles within the published literature. The entries are arranged alphabetically, for easy access, and the subject and author indices are comprehensive and extensive. Geochemistry applies chemical techniques and approaches to understanding the Earth and how it works. It touches upon almost every aspect of earth science, ranging from applied topics such as the search for energy and mineral resources, environmental pollution, and climate change to more basic questions such as the Earth's origin and composition, the origin and evolution of life, rock weathering and metamorphism, and the pattern of ocean and mantle circulation. Geochemistry allows us to assign absolute ages to events in Earth's history, to trace the flow of ocean water both now and in the past, trace sediments into subduction zones and arc volcanoes, and trace petroleum to its source rock and ultimately the environment in which it formed. The earliest of evidence of life is provided by chemical and isotopic traces, not fossils, preserved in rocks. Geochemistry has allowed us to unravel the history of the ice ages and thereby deduce their cause. Geochemistry allows us to determine the swings in Earth's surface temperatures during the ice ages, determine the temperatures and pressures at which rocks have been metamorphosed, and the rates at which ancient magma chambers cooled and crystallized. The field has grown rapidly more sophisticated, in both analytical techniques that can determine elemental concentrations or isotope ratios with exquisite precision and in computational modeling on scales ranging from atomic to planetary.
Encyclopedia of Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry by
The Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry has merged with the Handbook of Metalloproteins to form the Encyclopedia of Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry (EIBC). EIBC incorporates all existing articles from both the Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry and the Handbook of Metalloproteins, and will be updated.
Encyclopedia of Interfacial Chemistry by
Encyclopedia of Interfacial Chemistry: Surface Science and Electrochemistry summarizes current, fundamental knowledge of interfacial chemistry, bringing readers the latest developments in the field. As the chemical and physical properties and processes at solid and liquid interfaces are the scientific basis of so many technologies which enhance our lives and create new opportunities, its important to highlight how these technologies enable the design and optimization of functional materials for heterogeneous and electro-catalysts in food production, pollution control, energy conversion and storage, medical applications requiring biocompatibility, drug delivery, and more. This book provides an interdisciplinary view that lies at the intersection of these fields. Presents fundamental knowledge of interfacial chemistry, surface science and electrochemistry and provides cutting-edge research from academics and practitioners across various fields and global regions
Encyclopedia of Ecology by
Encyclopedia of Ecology, Second Edition continues the acclaimed work of the previous edition published in 2008. It covers all scales of biological organization, from organisms, to populations, to communities and ecosystems. Laboratory, field, simulation modelling, and theoretical approaches are presented to show how living systems sustain structure and function in space and time. New areas of focus include micro- and macro scales, molecular and genetic ecology, and global ecology (e.g., climate change, earth transformations, ecosystem services, and the food-water-energy nexus) are included. In addition, new, international experts in ecology contribute on a variety of topics.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Science Vol1 by
Ecological Concepts and Environmental Science examines various aspects of environmental science including an extensiveoverview of ecology and related concepts. It includes definitionsof influential environmentalists, environmental attitudes,multidisciplinary nature of environmental science environmentalimpacts on water, air and land environmental disasters andhazards. It also comprises famous environmental disasters formation of the solar systemand planet earth. Provides the reader with insights into the development of its history,so as to understand the ecology of earth and environmental science as well as the ecologicalsuccession, disturbance and recovery and food webs and trophic relationships.
Biology
QH 45- QH 97 Natural History
QH 81- QH 95 Seashore Biology
QH 84.8 Soil Biology
QH 88 Desert Biology
QH 90 Aquatic Biology
QH 91 Coral Reef Biology
QH 96- 100 Freshwater Biology
QH 308- QH 442 Genetics
QH 352 Population Biology
QH 361- 371 Evolution
QH 491 Developmental Biology
QH 573- 671 Cytology
QH 581- 671 Cells
QK Botany
QL 1 Marine Biology
QL 75 Parasitology
QL 951- 973 Embryology
QM 23 Anatomy
QM 23- Human Biology
QP 31- 33 Physiology
QR Microbiology
Chemistry
QD 7 Chemistry-Nomenclature
QD 11-28 Chemistry-History
QD 40-45 Chemistry- Study & Teaching
QD 45 Chemistry- Laboratory Manuals
QD 71-142 Chemistry, Analytical
QD 81-95 Chemistry, Analytical- Qualitative
QD 101-142 Chemistry, Analytical-Quantitative
QD 133 Chemistry, Metallurgic
QD 151-199 Chemistry, Inorganic
QD 248-449 Chemistry, Organic
QD 261 Chemistry, Organic- Laboratory Manuals
QD 262 Chemistry, Organic- Synthesis
QD 291 Chemistry, Organic- Nomenclature
QD 453-651 Chemistry, Physical and Theoretical
QD 467 Chemistry- Classification
QD 476 Chemistry, Physical Organic
RA 1057 Chemistry, Forensic
