Biological Individuality by
Individuals are things that everybody knows--or thinks they do. Yet even scholars who practice or analyze the biological sciences often cannot agree on what an individual is and why. One reason for this disagreement is that the many important biological individuality concepts serve very different purposes--defining, classifying, or explaining living structure, function, interaction, persistence, or evolution. Indeed, as the contributors to Biological Individuality reveal, nature is too messy for simple definitions of this concept, organisms too quirky in the diverse ways they reproduce, function, and interact, and human ideas about individuality too fraught with philosophical and historical meaning. Bringing together biologists, historians, and philosophers, this book provides a multifaceted exploration of biological individuality that identifies leading and less familiar perceptions of individuality both past and present, what they are good for, and in what contexts. Biological practice and theory recognize individuals at myriad levels of organization, from genes to organisms to symbiotic systems. We depend on these notions of individuality to address theoretical questions about multilevel natural selection and Darwinian fitness; to illuminate empirical questions about development, function, and ecology; to ground philosophical questions about the nature of organisms and causation; and to probe historical and cultural circumstances that resonate with parallel questions about the nature of society. Charting an interdisciplinary research agenda that broadens the frameworks in which biological individuality is discussed, this book makes clear that in the realm of the individual, there is not and should not be a direct path from biological paradigms based on model organisms through to philosophical generalization and historical reification.
Manual of Environmental Microbiology by
The single most comprehensive resource for environmental microbiology Environmental microbiology, the study of the roles that microbes play in all planetary environments, is one of the most important areas of scientific research. The Manual of Environmental Microbiology, Fourth Edition, provides comprehensive coverage of this critical and growing field. Thoroughly updated and revised, the Manual is the definitive reference for information on microbes in air, water, and soil and their impact on human health and welfare. Written in accessible, clear prose, the manual covers four broad areas: general methodologies, environmental public health microbiology, microbial ecology, and biodegradation and biotransformation. This wealth of information is divided into 18 sections each containing chapters written by acknowledged topical experts from the international community. Specifically, this new edition of the Manual Contains completely new sections covering microbial risk assessment, quality control, and microbial source tracking Incorporates a summary of the latest methodologies used to study microorganisms in various environments Synthesizes the latest information on the assessment of microbial presence and microbial activity in natural and artificial environments The Manual of Environmental Microbiology is an essential reference for environmental microbiologists, microbial ecologists, and environmental engineers, as well as those interested in human diseases, water and wastewater treatment, and biotechnology.
Mechanistic Criminology by
The science of criminology is at a crossroads. Despite accumulating a dizzying array of facts about crime, the field has yet to identify a body of theories that allows for the adequate prediction, explanation, and control of phenomena of central interest to criminologists. Mechanistic Criminology locates this problem within the field's failure to conform to the expectations of scientific fields and reliance on antiquated methods of theory construction. The authors contend that this failure has resulted in an inability of criminologists to engage in theory falsification and competition--two central activities of science--that produce the forms of reliable knowledge that are unique to scientific fields. Mechanistic Criminology advocates for the adoption of a mechanistic mode of theorizing to allow criminologists to engage in theory falsification and competition and ignite rapid scientific discovery in the field. The proposed method is the same one employed within the biological sciences, which is responsible for their rapid scientific progress in the late twentieth and early twenty-first centuries. Should criminologists adopt this mechanistic approach, criminology could experience the same scientific revolution that is occurring in the biological sciences, and criminologists would generate the knowledge necessary for the prediction, explanation, and control of crime.
Click Chemistry by
Click chemistry, which is also referred to as linkage chemistry, dynamic, combinatorial chemistry or quick linking combinatorial chemistry describes the reaction that joins molecular fragments as simply, efficient and versatile as clicking a mouse. The two units with specific click structures can be linked by a click reaction no matter what is attached to the structure, and only the specific click structures can be joined. It emphasises the development of new combinatorial chemistries on the basis of the synthesis of efficient and highly selective carbon-heteroatom bonds (C-X-C), and effectively prepares molecules with high diversity via these simple reactions. It significantly simplified and promoted the development of synthesis chemistry. Click chemistry has become one of the most useful and attractive synthetic strategies in many fields. In this book, the definition of click chemistry is explained, the characteristics and types of click chemistry are introduced, and some specific reaction types are focused on. The progress for using click chemistry for the synthesis and functionalisation of hydrogels, elastomers, surface modifications, membrane preparations, assemble polyaromatic structures, biomedical fields and optical sensing in biological analyses are described in detail. The problems and challenges for using click chemistry in different fields are analysed.
Mendeleev to Oganesson by
Since 1969, the international chemistry community has only held conferences on the topic of the Periodic Table three times, and the 2012 conference in Cusco, Peru was the first in almost a decade. The conference was highly interdisciplinary, featuring papers on geology, physics, mathematicaland theoretical chemistry, the history and philosophy of chemistry, and chemical education, from the most reputable Periodic Table scholars across the world. Eric Scerri and Guillermo Restrepo have collected fifteen of the strongest papers presented at this conference, from the most notable PeriodicTable scholars. The collected volume will contain pieces on chemistry, philosophy of science, applied mathematics, and science education.
Organic Chemistry by
Organic chemistry is the chemistry of compounds of carbon. The ability of carbon to link together to form long chain molecules and ring compounds as well as bonding with many other elements has led to a vast array of organic compounds. These compounds are central to life, forming the basis fororganic molecules such as nucleic acids, proteins, carbohydrates, and lipids.In this Very Short Introduction Graham Patrick covers the whole range of organic compounds and their roles. Beginning with the structures and properties of the basic groups of organic compounds, he goes on to consider organic compounds in the areas of pharmaceuticals, polymers, food and drink,petrochemicals, and nanotechnology. He looks at how new materials, in particular the single layer form of carbon called graphene, are opening up exciting new possibilities for applications, and discusses the particular challenges of working with carbon compounds, many of which are colourless.Patrick also discusses techniques used in the field.ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, andenthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Organic Chemistry as a Second Language by
Readers continue to turn to Klein's Organic Chemistry as a Second Language: First Semester Topics, 3rd Edition because it enables them to better understand fundamental principles, solve problems, and focus on what they need to know to succeed. This edition explores the major principles in the field and explains why they are relevant. It is written in a way that clearly shows the patterns in organic chemistry so that readers can gain a deeper conceptual understanding of the material. Topics are presented clearly in an accessible writing style along with numerous of hands-on problem solving exercises.
Molecular Ecology by
Molecular Ecology, 2nd Edition provides an accessible introduction to the many diverse aspects of this subject. The book takes a logical and progressive approach to uniting examples from a wide range of taxonomic groups. The straightforward writing style offers in depth analysis whilst making often challenging subjects such as population genetics and phylogenetics highly comprehensible to the reader. The first part of the book introduces the essential underpinnings of molecular ecology and gives a review of genetics and discussion of the molecular markers that are most frequently used in ecological research, and a chapter devoted to the newly emerging field of ecological genomics. The second half of the book covers specific applications of molecular ecology, covering phylogeography, behavioural ecology and conservation genetics. The new edition provides a thoroughly up-to-date introduction to the field, emphasising new types of analyses and including current examples and techniques whilst also retaining the information-rich, highly readable style which set the first edition apart. Incorporates both theoretical and applied perspectives Highly accessible, user-friendly approach and presentation Includes self-assessment activities with hypothetical cases based on actual species and realistic data sets Uses case studies to place the theory in context Provides coverage of population genetics, genomics, phylogeography, behavioural ecology and conservation genetics.
Principles of Environmental Science by
Rather than the 25 to 30 chapters found in most environmental science textbooks, the authors have limited Principles of Environmental Science: Inquiry and Applications to 16 chapters--perfect for the one-semester, non-majors environmental science course. True to its title, the goal of this concise text is to provide an up-to-date, introductory view of essential themes in environmental science along with offering students numerous opportunities to practice scientific thinking and active learning.
Tidal Wetlands Primer by
At a time when more than half of the U.S. population lives within fifty miles of the coast, tidal wetlands are a critical and threatened natural resource. The purpose of this book is to introduce the world of tidal wetlands to students and professionals in the environmental fields and others with an interest in the subject. Illustrated with maps, photographs, and diagrams, this volume provides a clear account of the factors that make these habitats unique and vulnerable. It discusses their formation, the conditions affecting their plant and animal life, and the diversity of types across North America, as well as their history, use by wildlife and humans, current status, conservation, restoration, and likely future. The emphasis is on vegetated wetlands?marshes and swamps?with additional discussion of eelgrass meadows, rocky shores, beaches, and tidal flats. Ralph Tiner?s previous field guides to coastal wetland plants in the Northeast and Southeast have been widely praised. Tidal Wetlands Primer joins Tiner?s earlier publications as an authoritative and user-friendly guide that should appeal to anyone with a serious interest in coastal habitats.
Biology by
An Interactive, Easy-to-Use Introductory Guide to Major Biology Concepts For students looking for a solid introduction to Biology, the new 3rd Edition of Biology: A Teaching Guide is the perfect learning tool. The latest edition has been updated to include the most up-to-date information on everything from photosynthesis to physiology. For students preparing for exams or individuals who want to review material from years past, the step-by-step format is designed to help students and teachers alike easily understand complex concepts, key terms, and frequently asked questions. The guide includes a comprehensive glossary and self-test questions in each chapter, allowing students to reinforce their knowledge and better understand the concepts. In A Teaching Guide, learn about the foundational aspects of biology, including: ● How photosynthesis occurs ● Whether viruses are living or dead ● The reproductive sexual terms behind cloning ● Comprehensive treatment of all aspects of life science Thoroughly updated with self-teaching practice exams and questions, this comprehensive guide is designed to give students the tools they need to master the fundamental concepts and critical definitions behind biology.
Concepts and Applications of Stem Cell Biology by
This textbook will support graduate students with learning materials rich in the basic concepts of stem cell biology, in its most widespread and updated perspective. The chapters are conceived in a way for students to understand the meaning of pluripotency, the definition of embryonic stem cells and the formation of multicellular structures such as organoids together with the underlying principles of their epigenetic. This textbook also discusses adult stem cells and the potential use of these cells, in particular neural, mesenchymal, and several types of muscular cells, in biomedical research and clinical applications. This textbook represents a vital complement to the text on Essential Current Concepts of Stem Cell Biology, also published in the Learning Materials in Biosciences textbook series.
Methods in Cell Biology by
Methods in Cell Biology, Volume 158, the latest release in this series, highlights new advances in the field, with this release covering How to orient cells in micro-cavities for high resolution imaging of cytokinesis and lumen formation, A body-on-a-chip (BOC) system for studying gut-liver interaction, Manipulating cultured mammalian cells for mitosis research, Live-cell FLIM-FRET using a commercially available system, A comparative analysis of methods to measure kinetochore-microtubule attachment stability, A workflow for visualizing human cancer biopsies using large-format electron microscopy, Isolation of stage-specific germ cells using facs in drosophila germarium, Computational analysis of filament polymerization dynamics in cytoskeletal networks, and more. Provides the authority and expertise of leading contributors from an international board of authors Presents the latest release in the Methods in Cell Biology series Updated release includes the latest information in this area of study
Quantum Concepts in the Social, Ecological and Biological Sciences by
Quantum mechanics is traditionally associated with microscopic systems; however, quantum concepts have also been successfully applied to a diverse range of macroscopic systems both within and outside of physics. This book describes how complex systems from a variety of fields can be modelled using quantum mechanical principles; from biology and ecology, to sociology and decision-making. The mathematical basis of these models is covered in detail, furnishing a self-contained and consistent approach. This book provides unique insight into the dynamics of these macroscopic systems and opens new interdisciplinary research frontiers. It will be an essential resource for students and researchers in applied mathematics or theoretical physics who are interested in applying quantum mechanics to dynamical systems in the social, biological or ecological sciences.
Applied Pharmaceutical Science and Microbiology by
This volume on applied pharmaceutical science and microbiology looks at the latest research on the applications of natural products for drug uses. It focuses on understanding how to apply the principles of novel green chemistry methods in the vital area of pharmaceuticals and covers the important aspects of green microbial technology in the pharmaceutical industry. Chapters include studies on the applications of natural products used in folk and regional medicines, such as for digestive problems, dermatological infections, respiratory diseases, vessel diseases, diarrhea and dysentery, ringworms, boils, fevers (antipyretic), skin and blood diseases, mouth sores, channel discharges, and even cancer. The volume also looks at medical benefit of microbial fermentation for the conservation of nutrients.
Chemistry by
THE QUICK AND PAINLESS WAY TO TEACH YOURSELF BASIC CHEMISTRY CONCEPTS AND TERMS Chemistry: A Self-Teaching Guide is the easy way to gain a solid understanding of the essential science of chemistry. Assuming no background knowledge of the subject, this clear and accessible guide covers the central concepts and key definitions of this fundamental science, from the basic structure of the atom to chemical equations. An innovative self-guided approach enables you to move through the material at your own pace--gradually building upon your knowledge while you strengthen your critical thinking and problem-solving skills. This edition features new and revised content throughout, including a new chapter on organic chemistry, designed to dramatically increase how fast you learn and how much you retain. This powerful learning resource features: An interactive, step-by-step method proven to increase your understanding of the fundamental concepts of chemistry Learning objectives, practice questions, study problems, and a self-review test in every chapter to reinforce your learning An emphasis on practical concepts and clear explanations to ensure that you comprehend the material quickly Engaging end-of-chapter stories connecting the material to a relevant topic in chemistry to bring important concepts to life Concise, student-friendly chapters describing major chemistry concepts and terms, including the periodic table, atomic weights, chemical bonding, solutions, gases, solids, and liquids Chemistry: A Self-Teaching Guide is an ideal resource for high school or college students taking introductory chemistry courses, for students taking higher level courses needing to refresh their knowledge, and for those preparing for standardized chemistry and medical career admission tests.
Noble Gas Chemistry by
Authored by one of the world's leading experts in the chemistry of lighter noble gases, this comprehensive monograph fills the need for an up-to-date review of the diverse experimental techniques and theoretical methods currently in practice. After reviewing the experiments breaking the paradigm of "non-reactive" noble gases, the physico-chemical background is introduced. Besides the emphasis on gas phase reactions, the author presents other relevant systems, such as chemistry in the bulk phase, under high pressure, and cold matrices. The discussion of gas-phase chemistry of the noble gases covers neutral and ionic compounds, diatomic molecules, complexes with small molecules and metal compounds, up to large clusters.
Ecology of Marine Sediments by
Marine sediments are the second largest habitat on earth and yet are poorly understood. This book gives a broad coverage of the central topics in the ecology of soft sediments. -;Marine sediments provide the largest habitat on planet earth, yet knowledge of the structure and function of their flora and fauna continues to be poorly described in current textbooks. This concise, readable introduction to benthic ecology builds upon the strengths of the previous edition but has been thoroughly revised throughout to incorporate the new technologies and methods that have allowed a rapid and ongoing development of the field. It explores the relationship between community structure and function, and the selection of global examples ensures an international appeal and relevance. The economic value of marine sediments increases daily, reflected in the text with a new emphasis on pollution, climate change, conservation, and management.
Estuarine Ecology by
Estuaries are among the most biologically productive ecosystems on the planet--critical to the life cycles of fish, other aquatic animals, and the creatures which feed on them. Estuarine Ecology, Second Edition, covers the physical and chemical aspects of estuaries, the biology and ecology of key organisms, the flow of organic matter through estuaries, and human interactions, such as the environmental impact of fisheries on estuaries and the effects of global climate change on these important ecosystems. Authored by a team of world experts from the estuarine science community, this long-awaited, full-color edition includes new chapters covering phytoplankton, seagrasses, coastal marshes, mangroves, benthic algae, Integrated Coastal Zone Management techniques, and the effects of global climate change. It also features an entriely new section on estuarine ecosystem processes, trophic webs, ecosystem metabolism, and the interactions between estuaries and other ecosystems such as wetlands and marshes
Global Vegetation by
This up-to-date textbook of global vegetation ecology, which comprises the current state of knowledge, is long overdue and much-needed. It is a translation of the textbook "Vegetation der Erde" (Springer-Spektrum, Heidelberg). A short introductory chapter deals with the fundamentals of vegetation ecology that are of importance for the delimitation and characterization of the global vegetation presented in this book (chorology, evolution of plants, physiognomic and structural characteristics, phytodiversity and the human impact on it as well as general terminology concerning both plant growth forms and on vegetation structure types). In the following chapters the zonal and azonal vegetation from the tropics to the polar regions including high mountains is described and discussed. The main focus is on the characterization of interactions between the spatial location of plants and plant communities on the one hand and site conditions, historic and genetic processes, spatial and temporal patterns, ecophysiology and anthropogenic influences on the other hand. Additional information on specific topics is provided in 51 boxes.
A New Ecology by
A New Ecology: Systems Perspective, Second Edition, gives an overview of the commonalities of all ecosystems from a variety of properties, including physical openness, ontic openness, directionality, connectivity, a complex dynamic for growth and development, and a complex dynamic response to disturbances. Each chapter details basic and characteristic properties that help the reader understand how they can be applied to explain a wide spectrum of current ecological research and environmental management applications. Contains revised, updated or redeveloped chapters that include the most current research and technology Reviews universal traits of ecosystems from multiple perspectives, giving the reader a complete overview of the systems perspective of ecology Offers broad examples of ecology as a systems science, from the history of science, to philosophy and the arts Brings together the systems perspective in a framework of four columns for greater understanding, including thermodynamics, network theory, hierarchy theory and biochemistry Contains new chapter on the application of the theory to environmental management
Theoretical Ecology by
Robert May's seminal book has played a central role in the development of ecological science. Originally published in 1976, this influential text has overseen the transition of ecology from an observational and descriptive subject to one with a solid conceptual core. Indeed, it is a testament to its influence that a great deal of the novel material presented in the earlier editions has now been incorporated into standard undergraduate textbooks. It is now a quarterof a century since the publication of the second edition, and a thorough revision is timely.Theoretical Ecology provides a succinct, up-to-date overview of the field set in the context of applications, thereby bridging the traditional division of theory and practice. It describes the recent advances in our understanding of how interacting populations of plants and animals change over time and space, in response to natural or human-created disturbance. In an integrated way, initial chapters give an account of the basic principles governing the structure, function, and temporal andspatial dynamics of populations and communities of plants and animals. Later chapters outline applications of these ideas to practical issues including fisheries, infectious diseases, tomorrow's food supplies, climate change, and conservation biology. Throughout the book, emphasis is placed on questionswhich as yet remain unanswered.The editors have invited the top scientists in the field to collaborate with the next generation of theoretical ecologists. The result is an accessible, advanced textbook suitable for senior undergraduate and graduate level students as well as researchers in the fields of ecology, mathematical biology, environment and resources management. It will also be of interest to the general reader seeking a better understanding of a range of global environmental problems.
