When looking for Creation Studies resources, consulting specific journals is a good way to find precise search results. The following journals found within the Christian Periodical Index are a great place to begin your Creation Studies research.
Creation Studies encompasses many academic disciplines, including theology, biology, chemistry, and earth science, among others. To find relevant resources, using science or multidisciplinary databases will yield the best results. The databases below are a suggested starting point for your research.
In addition to the JFL databases provided above, the Creation Education Resources Research Assistance Database also provides creationist literature, both popular and technical, generally reflecting a young-earth perspective. Indexes and abstracts more than 30,000 books, articles, book reviews, and other sources, pointing to full-text content where possible.
The JFL has a selection of print Creation Science books. These books are found on different levels of the library, so as you are searching for items, note the book's location, either on open shelving or in robotic storage. If a book tower location is not noted, then it will need to be retrieved from the robotic system.
Call numbers and location in the book tower:
When conducting research, you can use the subject headings below as search terms. Using subject headings as search terms makes your results more specific and precise.
Adam and the Genome by
Genomic science indicates that humans descend not from an individual pair but from a large population. What does this mean for the basic claim of many Christians: that humans descend from Adam and Eve? Leading evangelical geneticist Dennis Venema and popular New Testament scholar Scot McKnight combine their expertise to offer informed guidance and answers to questions pertaining to evolution, genomic science, and the historical Adam. Some of the questions they explore include: - Is there credible evidence for evolution? - Do we descend from a population or are we the offspring of Adam and Eve? - Does taking the Bible seriously mean rejecting recent genomic science? - How do Genesis's creation stories reflect their ancient Near Eastern context, and how did Judaism understand the Adam and Eve of Genesis? - Doesn't Paul's use of Adam in the New Testament prove that Adam was a historical individual? The authors address up-to-date genomics data with expert commentary from both genetic and theological perspectives, showing that genome research and Scripture are not irreconcilable. Foreword by Tremper Longman III and afterword by Daniel Harrell.
After the Monkey Trial by 
Among the Creationists by 
The Battle for the Beginning by 
Creation and Evolution by 
Evolution and the Fall by 
For the Love of All Creatures by 
Media Perspectives on Intelligent Design and Evolution by 
Creation and the World of Science by 
Evolution, Creationism, and Intelligent Design by 
Intelligently Designed: how creationists built the campaign against evolution by 
Science and Faith Within Reason by 
The Seven Pillars of Creation by 
The Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution by
The Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution (DHBE) is an invaluable research and study tool for both professionals and students covering a broad range of subjects within human biology, physical anthropology, anatomy, auxology, primatology, physiology, genetics, paleontology and zoology. Packed with 13000 descriptions of terms, specimens, sites and names, DHBE also includes information on over 1000 word roots, taxonomies and reference tables for extinct, recent and extant primates, geological and oxygen isotope chronologies, illustrations of landmarks, bones and muscles and an illustration of current hominid phylogeny, making this a must-have volume for anyone with an interest in human biology or evolution. DHBE is especially complete in its inventory of archaeological sites and the best-known hominid specimens excavated from them, but also includes up-to-date information on terms such as in silico, and those relating to the rapidly developing fields of human genomics.
Dictionary of Science and Creationism by
Adherents of science and religion have clashed on many issues. One of the more passionate and bitter conflicts has been over the idea of creationism versus evolution. The origin of the human species is a hotly contested issue. Much has been written about the controversy, about which side is right and why, but the basic elements of the conflict have never been so clearly defined, and there is a vital need for a definitive reference book on the subject. The Dictionary of Science and Creationism was written to explain the creationism/evolution controversy in an easy-to-understand manner. Using a dictionary format, Ronald L. Ecker outlines both sides in concise, non-technical language, presenting all major scientific concepts that relate to evolutionary theory and using that information to show the pseudoscientific nature of "scientific" creationism. Under each entry, the pertinent evidence for evolution is succinctly presented, as are the reasons creationist arguments in that area have no scientific validity. The articles are cross-referenced and indexed to improve accessibility. Intended for general readers as well as educators and professionals, this authoritative volume provides all the scientific facts needed to refute the claims of creationism.
Evolution in the Courtroom by
This unique reference offers a discussion of the social and legal history behind the ongoing evolution versus creationism controversy. Evolution in the Courtroom: A Reference Guide chronicles the legal history of the evolution/creation debate sparked by Charles Darwin's publication On the Origin of Species by Means of Natural Selection in 1859. The first seven chapters provide a detailed historical overview of the debate, reviewing all of the major court cases with particular emphasis on the infamous Scopes "Monkey Trial" which pitted fundamentalist William Jennings Bryan against ACLU defense attorney Clarence Darrow, and became the standard to which all subsequent evolution trails have been compared. Ensuing discussions of the rise and fall of creationism as a science and the failure of "balanced treatment" in public schools culminate in a summary of skirmishes over the last decade. Profiles of scientists, politicians, clergy, and other influential people from Galileo to Frank White, the Arkansas governor who signed the equal time law without ever reading it, reveal fascinating facts and perspectives on both sides of the controversy. Detailed chronology of the history of the debate from Aristotle in 310 B.C. to the U.S. Senate's adoption of "Sense of the Senate" in June 2002 Biographies of 172 key individuals on both sides of the controversy, including Leona Wilson, who initiated the first lawsuit by creationists An edited collection of the eight principal court decisions, including Mclean v. Arkansas and Segraves v. State of California Photographs and illustrations of influential people like Herbert Spencer, who coined the terms "evolution" and "survival of the fittest"
The Timetree of Life by
The evolutionary history of life includes two primary components: phylogeny and timescale. Phylogeny refers to the branching order (relationships) of species or other taxa within a group and is crucial for understanding the inheritance of traits and for erecting classifications. However, atimescale is equally important because it provides a way to compare phylogeny directly with the evolution of other organisms and with planetary history such as geology, climate, extraterrestrial impacts, and other features.The Timetree of Life is the first reference book to synthesize the wealth of information relating to the temporal component of phylogenetic trees. In the past, biologists have relied exclusively upon the fossil record to infer an evolutionary timescale. However, recent revolutionary advances inmolecular biology have made it possible to not only estimate the relationships of many groups of organisms, but also to estimate their times of divergence with molecular clocks. The routine estimation and utilization of these so-called 'time-trees' could add exciting new dimensions to biologyincluding enhanced opportunities to integrate large molecular data sets with fossil and biogeographic evidence (and thereby foster greater communication between molecular and traditional systematists). They could help estimate not only ancestral character states but also evolutionary rates innumerous categories of organismal phenotype; establish more reliable associations between causal historical processes and biological outcomes; develop a universally standardized scheme for biological classifications; and generally promote novel avenues of thought in many arenas of comparativeevolutionary biology.This authoritative reference work brings together, for the first time, experts on all major groups of organisms to assemble a timetree of life. The result is a comprehensive resource on evolutionary history which will be an indispensable reference for scientists, educators, and students in the lifesciences, earth sciences, and molecular biology. For each major group of organism, a representative is illustrated and a timetree of families and higher taxonomic groups is shown. Basic aspects of the evolutionary history of the group, the fossil record, and competing hypotheses of relationships arediscussed. Details of the divergence times are presented for each node in the timetree, and primary literature references are included. The book is complemented by an online database (www.timetree.net) which allows researchers to both deposit and retrieve data.
Answers in Genesis is an apologetics (i.e., Christianity-defending) ministry, dedicated to enabling Christians to defend their faith and to proclaim the gospel of Jesus Christ effectively. We focus particularly on providing answers to questions surrounding the book of Genesis, as it is the most attacked book of the Bible.
Creation Ministries International's role is to support the church in proclaiming the truth of the Bible and thus its Gospel message. They provide real-world answers to the most-asked questions in the vital area of creation/evolution, where the Bible is most under attack today—Genesis.
For over four decades, the Institute for Creation Research has equipped believers with evidence of the Bible's accuracy and authority through scientific research, educational programs, and media presentations, all conducted within a thoroughly biblical framework.
That's a fact is an online show, produced by the Institute for Creation Research, to showcase one truth at a time about the Bible, creation, and science in a fun, visual, and engaging format—and in 2 minutes or less.
Your Origins Matter exists to encourage and facilitate conversation about design, creation, and our origins. It’s a safe place to explore topics that matter and cut through the clutter with open discussion, articles, videos, and social media.
