Research Guides: Music Research Guide: Worship

Book Resources

SEARCHING THE JFL WEBSITE FOR BOOKS:

Item results may be available either in physical, ebook, or audiobook format

From the MAIN LIBRARY PAGE:

click on BOOKS.
Choose PRINT, E-BOOK, or AUDIOBOOK.

From ADVANCED SEARCH:

Define your search using KEYWORDS, setting FIELDS, and DATES.
Make sure that you indicate the format you desire in the CONTENT TYPE box. EX: Book / eBook

On the page of your RESULTS :

Set limits such as DISCIPLINE (ex: Music) or LANGUAGE.
You can add other limits and exclusions.

E-BOOKS

An E-book is denoted on the website by these words: eBook Full Text Online . To download an electronic resource from the catalog, click on that link.

PHYSICAL BOOKS

Physical books will be housed on the shelves of the book tower or in our robotic system. Their shelf location is determined by a Library of Congress call number corresponding their subject matter. EX: HA35.15 .P79 1999

Items housed in the robotic system will say: JFL Books in Robotic System

Online students may request items that Liberty owns through the Interlibrary Loan system.

Residential students may use the catalog to request an item from the robot. Your item will be ready for pick-up at the Customer Service Center within ten minutes of your request. If you are looking for an item that Liberty does not own, you may request the item through InterLibrary Loan.

Databases

Atla Religion Database with Atla Plus

Journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays across all fields of religion and theology

Christian Periodical Index

Index of Christian magazines and journals with strong emphasis on evangelical perspectives, including a broad range of topics including music

Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCO)

Full-text journals and magazines, many peer-reviewed, covering theology and philosophy research, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy, and philosophy of language with coverage dating back to 1911

Religion Database (Proquest)

Journals and magazines, many full-text and scholarly articles covering diverse religious and spiritual topics

Theological Journal Library

Full-text collection of major, primarily conservative, evangelical theological journals covering all aspects of theology

Sample Book Titles

Biblical Worship by Benjamin K. Forrest; Walter C. Kaiser; Vernon M. Whaley
ISBN: 9780825445569
Publication Date: 2021-02-23
A biblical theology of worship spanning both the Old and New Testaments. Testament feasts and celebrations Worship in the Psalms of Lament and Thanksgiving The New Testament concept of worship Worship in the Gospels Worship in Acts Worship in the Pastoral Epistles, and much more. Pastors, worship leaders, instructors, and anyone who wants to grow in their knowledge of the Bible's full teaching on worship and how it applies today will benefit from this volume, part of the Biblical Theology for the Church series.
Transforming Worship by Rory Noland; Ruth Haley Barton (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9780830841738
Publication Date: 2021-07-20
Spiritual formation is the key to the survival of our faith. There is an urgent need today for church services that are substantive and purposeful. . Rory Noland is a worship leader who has led in contexts ranging from megachurches to small retreat settings such as the Transforming Center with Ruth Haley Barton. Combining discipleship and worship--what Noland calls transforming worship--he offers a vision for worship as spiritual formation. We need to reclaim our worship services as a formative space, and through that we will become the light of Christ in a dark world.
Recorded Solo Concert Spirituals 1916-2022
ISBN: 9781476648453
This work catalogs commercially produced recordings of Negro spirituals composed for solo concert vocalists. More than 5,000 tracks are listed, with entries sourced from a variety of recording formats. The featured recordings enhance the study of concert spiritual performance in studio, concert, worship service or competition settings.
Worship Matters by Bob Kauflin; Paul Baloche (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781433504105
Publication Date: 2008-03-26
Nothing is more essential than knowing how to worship the God who created us. This book focuses readers on the essentials of God-honoring worship, combining biblical foundations with practical application in a way that works in the real world.