If you want to browse the shelves, books about the management, marketing and administration of sports will be found within the Recreation and Leisure section (call numbers GV 1 to GV 1860).
Encyclopedia of Sports Management and Marketing by
This four-volume set introduces, on the management side, principles and procedures of economics, budgeting and finance; leadership; governance; communication; business law and ethics; and human resources practices; all in the sports context. On the marketing side this reference resource explores two broad streams: marketing of sport and of sport-related products (promoting a particular team or selling team- and sport-related merchandise, for example), and using sports as a platform for marketing non-sports products, such as celebrity endorsements of a particular brand of watch or the corporate sponsorship of a tennis tournament. Together, these four volumes offer a comprehensive and authoritative overview of the state of sports management and marketing today, providing an invaluable print or online resource for student researchers.
International encyclopedia of hospitality management by
The International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management is the definitive reference work for any individual studying or working in the hospitality industry. It covers all of the relevant issues in the field of hospitality management from a sectoral level (lodging, restaurants/food service, time-share, clubs and events) as well as a functional one (accounting and finance, marketing, strategic management, human resources, information technology and facilities management).
Dictionary of Leisure, Travel and Tourism by
Topics covered include travel, tourism, ticketing, hotels and staff, restaurants, kitchens, table settings, service and cooking, along with general business, accounting and personnel terms. Handy supplements include quick-reference lists of airline and airport codes, currencies, international dialling codes, time zones, balance sheets and international public holidays. Ideal for students, employers, or employees who work in any part of the hotel or tourism industry or who need to use specialist English vocabulary for their work or studies.
The SAGE dictionary of sports studies by
′...a welcome addition to the literature in the rapidly expanding field of sports studies. It is up to date, comprehensive, and well and clearly written. Though primarily sociological in its orientation, it will help students -postgraduate and undergraduate alike and their teachers as well - to establish connections between the various sub-disciplines and guide them to sources which will enable them to probe issues more deeply... It is a beautifully crafted book and is sure to be a hit with students and their teachers. It would not surprise me in the least, however, if it appealed to sports lovers more generally... It is a tour de force and I recommend it unreservedly′ - Eric Dunning, Professor in Sociology, The Centre for the Sociology of Sport, University of Leicester Sports studies is one of the fastest growing fields in higher education today. The SAGE Dictionary of Sports Studies brings a timely, much-needed and comprehensive tool for all students in this multi-disciplinary field. Each entry provides a basic definition, a guide to research themes and a clear account of the relevance of the concept in understanding sport. Not only indispensable for quick clarification of terms, it will give students a springboard for more in-depth research and critical analysis. It offers: " Cross referencing to assist critical thinking " A list of key readings for each entry " Expert definitions drawn from sociology, history, psychology, economics, management and business, politics and policy, physical education and health, and research methods. " Concise, student-friendly and authoritative entries. Covering sociology, history, psychology, politics, business, physical education, health and research methods, The SAGE Dictionary of Sports Studies provides the first one-stop reference guide for all students who study the social aspects of sport.
Handbook on the Economics of Sport by
This comprehensive Handbook provides a survey of all the major research areas in sports economics written by almost all of the active researchers in this field. It offers not only an accessible insight into the major findings of the literature but also presents some of the world's principal researchers' views on the unanswered questions that face us today.
International Handbook on the Economics of Mega Sporting Events by 
The Oxford Handbook of Sports Economics by 
Routledge Handbook of International Sport Business by
Contemporary sport business is international. From global sport competitions and events, sponsorship deals and broadcasting rights to labour markets and lucrative flows of tourists, anybody working in sport business today has to have an international perspective. This book offers the broadest and most in-depth guide to the key themes in international sport business today, covering every core area from strategy and marketing to finance, media and the law. Including authors from more than twenty countries spanning the Americas, Europe, Asia, Africa and Australia, this handbook addresses the most important issues in the world of sport business from a uniquely global perspective. Each chapter examines a particular cross-section of business and sport, encompassing all levels from grassroots to professional and elite. Divided into seven major subject areas, it offers insights from experts on: International Sport Business Strategy Sport Marketing Sport Economics and Finance International Sport Law Sport Media and Communication Sport Tourism Sport Development.
Routledge Handbook of Sport and the Environment by
The natural environment is a central issue in both academic and wider societal discourse. The global sport industry is not immune from this discussion and has to confront its responsibility to reduce its impact on the natural environment. This book goes further than any other in surveying both the challenges and the opportunities presented to the sports industry as it engages with the sustainability agenda, exploring the various ways in which sport scholars can integrate sustainability into their research. With a multidisciplinary sweep, including management, sociology, law, events, and ethics, this is a ground-breaking book in the study of sport. Drawing on cutting-edge research, it includes over thirty chapters covering all the most important themes in contemporary sport studies such as: climate change, sustainability, and corporate social responsibility ethics, governance, and the law event management, tourism, and pollution marketing, branding, and consumer behavior the Olympics, urban development, and mega-event legacies. With contributions from world-leading researchers and practitioners from around the globe, this is the most comprehensive book ever published on sport and the environment.
Routledge Handbook of Sports Event Management by
From the Olympic Games to community-level competitions, sports events can be complex and pose a particular set of managerial challenges. The Routledge Handbook of Sports Event Management surveys the management of sports events around the world of every size and scale, from small to mega-events, including one-off and recurring events, and single-sport and multi-sport events.
The book adopts a unique stakeholder perspective, structured around the groups and individuals who have an interest in and co-create sports events, including organising committees, promoters, sport organisations, spectators, community groups, sponsors, host governments, the media and NGOs. Each chapter addresses a specific stakeholder, defines that stakeholder and its relationships with sports events, describes the managerial requirements for a successful event, assesses current research and directions for future research, and outlines the normative dimensions of stakeholder engagement (such as sustainability and legacy).
Routledge Handbook of Sports Marketing by
Sports marketing has become a cornerstone of successful sports management and business, driving growth in sport organisations and widening fan-bases. Showcasing the latest thinking and research in sports marketing from around the world, the Routledge Handbook of Sports Marketing goes further than any other book in exploring the full range of this exciting discipline.
Featuring contributions from world-leading scholars and practitioners from across the globe, the book examines theories, concepts, issues and best practice across six thematic sections—brands, sponsorship, ambush marketing, fans and spectators, media, and ethics and development—and examines key topics such as:
consumer behaviour
marketing communications
strategic marketing
international marketing
experiential marketing
and marketing and digital media
