If you want to browse the shelves, books about the management, marketing and administration of sports will be found within the Recreation and Leisure section (call numbers GV 1 to GV 1860.) Books about travel and tourism will be found in the section with call numbers: G 149 to G 180. Books about the hospitality industry will be found in the section with call numbers: TX 901 to TX 946.5.
If you find any books while searching the library's catalog whose location is: Books in Robotic System, you may easily look at these, too. Just click on the "Request from Robotic System" option within each item's record. The books will be pulled from the automated storage and retrieval system (ASRS) by a library staff person and should be ready for pick-up and checkout at the library's Customer Service Center within about 5-10 minutes.
A career with meaning : recreation, parks, sport management, hospitality, and tourism by 
Entrepreneurship and Small Business Management in the Hospitality Industry by 
Marketing Communications in Tourism and Hospitality by 
Purchasing : selection and procurement for the hospitality industry by 
Sport, Recreation and Tourism Event Management by
"Sport, Recreation and Tourism Event Management provides a combination of the theoretical foundations and practical principles of event management. This text focuses specifically on the operational planning component of event management and the role of the event manager as the planner and facilitator."
Sustainable Customer Experience Design by 
Technology Strategies for the Hospitality Industry by **Some of these e-books may also be available as PRINT books in the Jerry Falwell Library. So be sure to check the library's catalog for availability and location if you prefer to use print format .**
Case Based Research in Tourism, Travel, Hospitality and Events by
This book consolidates international, contemporary and topical case study based research in tourism, travel, hospitality and events. Case studies can make learning more attractive and interesting as well as enable students to understand the theory better and develop their analytical and problem-solving skills. Using industry as an open living lab, case study based research infuses scholars into real-world industry challenges and inspires them to theorise and advance our knowledge frontiers. The book includes international case studies that can help tourism scholars build and advance (new) theories and enrich their educational practices. Case studies are accompanied with a teaching note guiding scholars to integrate case studies into instruction. Dr Kirsten Holmes, Chair, Council for Australasian Tourism and Hospitality Education (CAUTHE) There is a vital need for contemporary and well-structured case studies for use in tourism teaching. By including case studies from Australasia and key destination regions in Asia, Europe, and the Caribbean, the book is helpful for tertiary teachers globally. Professor Xander Lub, President, EuroCHRIE The book inspires educators and students. The cases provide context to students' learning and demonstrate the richness and variation of the industry. The book also clearly demonstrates how research can inform our teaching. Professor Brian King, Chair, THE-ICE Assessment Panel The book includes cases under five themes: experiences, operations, technologies, strategy and marketing, and destinations. The book provides subject lecturers with a structure to guide students of applying theory into practice. Dr Paul Whitelaw, Academic Director, Southern Cross University This book marks a significant contribution to hospitality, tourism and events pedagogy at undergraduate and postgraduate level. At a time when the industry is demanding that our graduates have a strong grasp of "real world issues", the case study approach provides an accessible, meaningful and relatable means by which students can engage in real world issues.
Customer Service for Hospitality and Tourism by
A fully revised and updated new edition of this bestselling and a unique text that explains not only the theory behind the importance of customer service but also acts as a guidebook for those wishing to put this theory into practice. In essence it is the 'whys' and 'hows'of customer service. Fully updated with current statistics, trends, and examples, it is full of references to all the latest research from both academic and practitioner literature. Chapters cover important topics such as the financial and behavioural consequences of customer service, consumer trends influencing service, developing and maintaining a service culture, managing service encounters, the importance of market research, building and maintaining customer relationships, providing customer service through the servicescape, the impact of technology on customer service, the importance of service recovery, and promoting customer service internally and externally.The third edition of this book - like the first and second - is easy to read, very current, and full of references to all the latest research. Chapters cover important topics such as the financial and behavioral consequences of customer service, consumer trends influencing service, developing and maintaining a service culture, managing service encounters, the importance of market research, building and maintaining customer relationships, providing customer service through the servicescape, the impact of technology on customer service, the importance of service recovery, and promoting customer service internally and externally. The third edition also pays special attention to the COVID-19 pandemic and how it has altered customer service in the tourism and hospitality sector - a sector that was impacted more than any other due to the crisis.In addition to fresh, up-to-date material, the third edition contains 10 new cases from around the world that focus on how individuals or organizations in the hospitality sector have adapted - and even thrived - during the COVID-19 pandemic.
Generation Z Marketing and Management in Tourism and Hospitality by
Generation Z (Gen Z) is the demographic cohort also known as Post-Millennials, the iGeneration or the Homeland Generation. Referring to individuals born roughly between the mid-1990s and the early 2000s, they are our youngest consumers, students, colleagues, and voters. Understanding them is a key aspect. In the context of the hospitality and tourism, Gen Z-ers represent the future in human resources, and service production and consumption. This book focuses on the aspirations, expectations, preferences and behaviours related to individuals within this demographic. It critically discusses their dynamism in driving the tourism sector and offers insights into the roles that Gen Z will inhabit as visitors, guests, consumers, employees, and entrepreneurs. This book is a valuable resource for managers, scholars and students interested in acquiring concrete knowledge on how Gen Z will shape the marketing and management of tourism-related services.
Humanistic Perspectives in Hospitality and Tourism, Volume 1 - Excellence and Professionalism in Care by
This book, the first of two volumes, uses a framework of philosophical anthropology, and the concepts of humanistic leadership and humanistic management, to explore the value of work in the hospitality and tourism industry. It presents robust theoretical and practical implications for professionalism and excellence at work. This volume addresses the hospitality professional, beginning with an exploration of the foundational literature, before moving on to discuss topics like the concept of human dignity at work, how one can find meaning within the hospitality industry, spirituality at work, philosophy in the world of work, and personal development. These volumes will be of use to academics and practitioners in the fields of hospitality and tourism management, humanistic and transformational leadership, corporate social responsibility, human resource management, customer service, and workplace spirituality. Kemi Ogunyemi is an Associate Professor teaching business ethics, managerial anthropology, self leadership and sustainability management at Lagos Business School, Pan-Atlantic University, Nigeria. She is also the Director of the Christopher Kolade Centre for Research in Leadership and Ethics as well as the Academic Director for the school's Senior Management Programme. Omowumi Ogunyemi lectures in the Institute of Humanities of the Pan-Atlantic University, Lagos, Nigeria. Her research interests include interdisciplinary studies between philosophy and the practical sciences, especially psychology and neuroscience. Ebele Okoye is the Director of Afara Leadership Centre, Lagos, Nigeria. She has extensive experience in the development sector and her research interests include NGO leadership, character growth, and virtuous cultures.
Humanistic Perspectives in Hospitality and Tourism, Volume II by
​This book, the second of two volumes, uses a framework of philosophical anthropology, and the concepts of humanistic leadership and humanistic management, to explore the value of work in the hospitality and tourism industry. It presents robust theoretical and practical implications for professionalism and excellence at work. Following on the first volume's focus on the personal dimension of hospitality, this volume explores hospitality from a viewpoint that goes beyond the individual, first situating hospitality within culture, then engaging its internal and external customers and finally integrating issues like vulnerability, sustainability, social responsibility, and industry resilience in the face of the pandemic. These volumes will be of use to academics and practitioners in the fields of hospitality and tourism management, humanistic and transformational leadership, corporate social responsibility, human resource management, customer service, and workplace spirituality.
New Technologies for the Tourism and Hospitality Industry by 
Researching Tourism, Leisure and Hospitality for Dissertations and Theses by
Writing a dissertation can be a daunting topic - Researching Tourism, Leisure and Hospitality for Dissertations and Theses 2nd edn is a unique text that takes away the stress, worry and confusion by providing a step-by-step, user friendly guide to all you need to know to successfully research and compile your dissertation or thesis. Now in its second edition, this bestselling text has been fully revised and updated, and now includes two new chapters looking at conducting mixed methods research, as well as analysing mixed methods research.* Clearly links research processes with the presentation of these in the writing of dissertations and theses.* Draws on the work of undergraduate, postgraduate and PhD students the author has supervised, over 30 years to provide examples of dissertation/theses material.* Uses case studies/examples based on the author's own peer reviewed research.* Written in an accessible style. * Presents tried and tested student activities.It provides a discussion of research approaches, looking at key differences and similarities. A critical evaluation of these different approaches is provided and, importantly, a discussion on selecting the appropriate approach(es) for your dissertation. It takes the reader from the initial idea and topics, through the literature review, methodology, presenting and analysing results and successfully making conclusions.Unlike other texts available, this book includes case studies based on the author's own research, as well as students' work, to demonstrate different research approaches and techniques, providing an opportunity for criticism and a discussion on 'learning from mistakes.' A must-have text for all students on how best to conduct research, compile your findings and to present them in the resulting dissertation.
Service Encounters in Tourism, Events and Hospitality by
This book offers insights into the demands made on staff in service encounters in tourism, events and hospitality roles. Using data from research completed in these industries, it hinges upon storied incidents offered by workers about which the reader can reflect and apply theoretical knowledge. A key feature of this volume is that it focuses on staff perspectives and perceptions of service encounters and delivery rather than on customer or management perspectives. This will provide students, lecturers, management and customers with fresh and clear understandings of the demands made on staff, but also the perspectives from which the demands are seen. The chapters clarify to students how to apply academic knowledge within customer service contexts and include learning objectives, questions and summaries.
Service Excellence in Tourism and Hospitality by
Service operations management in the tourism and hospitality industry requires a high level of coordination, communication and facilitation to satisfy visitors. In all of these activities, service excellence means a lot to visitors in terms of their experience, and to the business it means repeat customers and word-of-mouth marketing. Based on fresh empirical evidence from the field, this book captures the different approaches and challenges to service excellence in the Asian tourism and hospitality industry. Focusing on hotels, attractions, transport providers and other segments in tourism and hospitality, this book presents new case studies underlining and detailing global and local travel industry practices. The book is meant as a reference and supplementary reading for students, researchers and industry practitioners.
Strategic Management for the Hospitality and Tourism Industry by
This vital volume clearly explains cutting-edge theories and views on strategic management in applied management fundamentals in the hospitality and tourism industry. The author discusses the latest in strategic thinking and provides information on implementing models within specific contexts, such as culture and profit and nonprofit organizations. He also looks at the political, economic, social, and technological changes that significantly affect tourism and hospitality. The volume is distinguished by its thoughtful analysis and review of related hospitality case studies and the management approaches employed and sheds light on ever-the emerging management and operation issues in the tourism and hospitality sector. The book employs an abundance of case studies that illustrate the concepts and models discussed, with examples from such heavyweights in the industry as Disney and Euro Disney, Aer Lingus, British Airways, Four Seasons, Holiday Inn, Marriot, Sofitel, Starwood Hotels, and more. Key features of the book include: Cutting-edge approach: Applies advanced and recent strategic management views to the tourism and hospitality field. Critical treatment: Provides critical discussions about whether and how strategic models/theories can be applied in the hospitality and tourism field. Sensitive to specific contexts: As the tourism and hospitality industry has become one of the largest industries worldwide, discusses how strategic management concepts can be applied in different cultures and profit and nonprofit tourism organizations. Extensive case studies: Provides supporting case studies related to the strategy content, context, and process from international industries such as Aer Lingus, Accor, Marriott and Ryanair. Organization of the book: Each of the chapters within the case study sections employs a thorough pedagogic structure consisting of a concise introduction, examples and case analysis, discussion points, exercises, and further reading. This book is designed to provoke thought and debate about strategic management and myriad other issues. It will be valuable for students, academics, universities offering hospitality and tourism, and hospitality and tourism professionals.
