Conducting Research Literature Reviews by
"In Conducting Research Literature Reviews, author Arlene Fink providing readers with an accessible, in-depth look at how to synthesize research literature. She shows readers how to explain the need for and significance of research, as well as how to explain a study's findings. Offering a step-by-step approach to conducting literature reviews, this edition has been completely updated to address the online nature of most literature searches."-
The Literature Review by
Graduate students who turn in exceptional literature reviews are recognized as excellent critical thinkers as well as masters of academic argumentation, research writing, and academic writing. This six-step process pioneered by this book has made the task fluid and seamless.
Qualitative Methods in Sports Studies by
This book makes a timely contribution to a broader methodological project as the first systematic examination and explication of qualitative research methods within sports studies. Qualitative Methods in Sports Studies assesses a variety of approaches, ranging from social historical, media text, and personal narrative to ethnographic and interview-based qualitative research methodologies. Drawing on the diversity of sport studies literature, contributors outline the major issues and strategies associated with each method. This practical research guide is an essential reference tool for students and scholars of sport and leisure studies.
Research Methods and Design in Sport Management by 
Research Methods in Sport Management by 
Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review by 
Analytics in Smart Tourism Design by
This book presents cutting edge research on the development of analytics in travel and tourism. It introduces new conceptual frameworks and measurement tools, as well as applications and case studies for destination marketing and management. It is divided into five parts: Part one on travel demand analytics focuses on conceptualizing and implementing travel demand modeling using big data. It illustrates new ways to identify, generate and utilize large quantities of data in tourism demand forecasting and modeling. Part two focuses on analytics in travel and everyday life, presenting recent developments in wearable computers and physiological measurement devices, and the implications for our understanding of on-the-go travelers and tourism design. Part three embraces tourism geoanalytics, correlating social media and geo-based data with tourism statistics. Part four discusses web-based and social media analytics and presents the latest developments in utilizing user-generated content on the Internet to understand a number of managerial problems. The final part is a collection of case studies using web-based and social media analytics, with examples from the Sochi Olympics on Twitter, leveraging online reviews in the hotel industry, and evaluating destination communications and market intelligence with online hotel reviews. The chapters in this section collectively describe a range of different approaches to understanding market dynamics in tourism and hospitality.
Doing a Research Project in Sport Performance Analysis by
The research project or dissertation is a core component of any degree programme in the rapidly developing discipline of sport performance analysis. This highly practical and accessible book provides a complete step-by-step guide to doing a research project. Showcasing the very latest research methods, it covers the whole research process, from identifying a research question and system development to data collection, data analysis and writing up the results.
Introducing the fundamentals of project planning and management, this book highlights the importance of research ethics and explains the differences between successful undergraduate and postgraduate projects. Full of expert advice and original insights that can be applied to theoretical and empirical research projects, it covers all the key aspects of conducting a degree-level research project, including:
selecting a research topic and writing a research proposal
working with a supervisor
understanding research ethics
implementing best practices for project management
collecting, interpreting and presenting results.
Qualitative Research in Sport Management by
Qualitative Research in Sport Management is the first book of its kind to bring together valuable research designs based on extensive research in qualitative research methods across a number of different fields. Research designs from the fields of business, education, cultural studies, media studies, queer studies, sociology and psychology are applied specifically to sport management, taking into account the special features and nuances of this field.
In each research design the text provides a concise guide to how each model can first be applied to sport management issues and problems, second, strengthen the research design, and finally, enhance the research process.
Each chapter is carefully structured to ensure that key information is easy to locate and remember and includes: Introduction, Objectives, Key Concepts and Terms, and Review and research questions. International case studies, "In Profile" sections with leading sport management researchers and research briefs are used to illustrate how theory is put into practice
Researching Leisure, Sport and Tourism by
This is a comprehensive and informative book written especially for new and inexperienced researchers in the fields of leisure, sport and tourism, both full-time students and people in employment having to conduct their own research or make use of other people's research. Unlike generic research texts that do not ‘speak’ to people in this field, this richly flavoured book immediately engages the reader by using subject-specific examples and explaining the central methodological issues in straightforward terms. By showing students what they can do to assess, manage and reduce the time they spend on research Researching in Leisure, Sport and Tourism: The Essential Guide will help them achieve a better balance in their course work. It will quickly establish itself as the key methods guide in the field.
Research Methods for Sports Studies by
Research Methods for Sports Studies is a comprehensive, engaging and practical textbook that provides a complete grounding in both qualitative and quantitative research methods for the sports studies student. Leading the reader step-by-step through the entire research process, from identifying a research question and collecting and analyzing data to writing the research report, it is richly illustrated throughout with sport-related case-studies and examples from around the world. Now in a fully revised, updated and expanded third edition, the book includes completely new chapters on using social media and conducting on-line research, as well as expanded coverage of key topics such as conducting a literature review, making the most of statistics, research ethics and presenting research. Research Methods for Sports Studies is designed to be a complete and self-contained companion to any research methods course and contains a wealth of useful features, such as highlighted definitions of key terms, revision questions and practical research exercises. An expanded companion website offers additional material for students and instructors, including web links, multiple choice revision questions, an interactive glossary, PowerPoint slides and additional learning activities for use in and out of class. This is an essential read for any student undertaking a dissertation or research project as part of their studies in sport, exercise and related fields.
The Routledge Handbook of Tourism Research by
The Routledge Handbook of Tourism Research is a compendium of some of the most relevant issues affecting tourism development today. The topics addressed in this book provide some new thinking for those involved in tourism research. This book takes the reader from the beginnings of tourism research to a discussion of emerging forms of tourism and selected examples of tourism development. The underlying theoretical dimensions are reviewed, analysed and discussed from a number of perspectives. This book brings together leading researchers, many of whom are members of the International Academy for the Study of Tourism, to discuss tourism today and its future.
The works included in this volume are diverse, in terms of geographical context, research methodology, root discipline, and perspective. This book represents studies based in Europe, North America, Oceania, and Asia. Research methodologies include both quantitative and qualitative. Both macro and micro issues are discussed from the economic, psychological, sociological, political science, marketing, and other perspectives, which reflect the interdisciplinary nature of tourism studies.
This book is divided into 6 sections. Section 1 considers the foundations for tourism research. Section 2 discusses the implications for destination management and section 3 discusses planning for tourism development. Section 4 covers human capital for tourism development. And finally, section 5 evaluates emerging forms of tourism and then section 6 offers insights into tourism evolution.
It offers the reader a comprehensive synthesis of this field, conveying the latest thinking and research. The text will provide an invaluable resource for all those with an interest in tourism research. This is essential reading for students, researchers & academics of Tourism as well as those of related studies in particular Leisure, Hospitality & Development Studies.
Sports Coaching Research by
This book raises critical questions about the explanatory framework guiding sports coaching research and presents a new conceptualization for research in the field. Through mapping and contextualizing sports coaching research within a corporatized higher education, the dominant or legitimate forms of sports coaching knowledge are problematized and a new vision of the field, which is socially and culturally responsive, communitarian and justice-oriented emerges.
Student's Guide to Writing Dissertations and Theses in Tourism Studies and Related Disciplines by
Around the world every year very many students have to complete dissertations or theses as part of their undergraduate or masters studies in tourism and related subjects. Often this substantial piece of self-directed work is the culmination of their programmes. More than just a means to consolidate their final grades, it is also an exciting chance to research a topic of their choosing and a potential gateway to more advanced study as well as job offers and future career paths.
Yet for all these reasons, many students view the dissertation as a tricky challenge. This comprehensive book intends to take the stress and anxiety out of doing a dissertation in tourism studies and related disciplines. The process is examined from the germination of an idea to the submission and assessment of the final document. Written primarily for students conducting independent research for the first time, this book offers simple advice and a clear framework which students can adopt even in more advanced studies at masters and doctoral level. This book debunks popular myths, and aims to overcome common pitfalls. It focuses on the aims and objectives as the DNA of every dissertation. Rather than view it as a single, overwhelming project, the dissertation is presented as a series of more modest, manageable yet crucially inter-linked tasks that all students can successfully complete through careful preparation and effective time management.
Dissertations are not to be underestimated and they demand great care and attention, but they can also be immensely rewarding and enriching experiences academically and personally. This ‘jargon free’ book is also written with overseas students specifically in mind, drawing directly on our overseas students’ experiences. This valuable resource contains start of chapter learning objectives and end of chapter checklists, as well as numerous boxed case studies, to further help assist students through their dissertation.
Using Mixed Methods Research Synthesis for Literature Reviews by
KEY FEATURES: Theoretical guidelines and practical strategies show readers how to conduct each step of an MMRS literature review process. Several worked examples of MMRS literature reviews published in diverse research fields showcase how to put the theory on the MMRS process into practice. Each chapter sets the stage with an outline and ends with summary points, challenges, questions for thought, and suggestions for further reading to enhance reader mastery. Numerous boxes contain concrete research examples and illustrations to further clarify important points. Practical Tip boxes in every chapter include “how-to” guidelines that demonstrate how information can be utilized in a manner beyond the theoretical discussion of the MMRS process. Exercises provide concrete activities related to conducting each step of the MMRS process for hands-on practice.
