Research Guides: Live Healthy Liberty: Databases & Websites

Christian life Databases

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays across all fields of religion and theology including Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues from 1949 to the present

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus.
World Christian Database This link opens in a new window
Statistical information on world religions, Christian denominations, and people groups as well as population and evangelism data on cities, provinces, and countries and a chronology of world Christianity from the 1st to 21st centuries
RightNow Media This link opens in a new window
Video streams of Bible studies as well as topics such as marriage, finances, parenting, youth, recovery, and leadership along with wholesome, educational, and entertaining videos for kids.

PLEASE NOTE: First-time users will need to select the link above to create an account to access this resource.

Click Here if you have an existing account

Diet & Exercise Databases

Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals, magazines, health reference books and encyclopedias, evidence-based health reports, and more covering all key areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to complementary and holistic medicine
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Full-text consumer health magazines and reference books as well as reports and current health pamphlets

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database.

Natural Medicines
Information about complementary and alternative therapies. Grades reflect the level of available scientific data for or against the use of each therapy for a specific medical condition.

Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window
Journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Consumer Health Database.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals with coverage back to 1930 plus abstracts for additional journals, sports-related video, and articles coverings sports and sports medicine research, including nutrition, physical therapy, occupational health, exercise physiology and kinesiology

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using SPORT Discus Database.

Psychology & Sociology Databases

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals covering topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database.

Recommended Websites

LaHaye Student Union
The LaHaye Student Union, comprised of a variety of recreational facilities, serves to enhance the overall well-being of Liberty University students, faculty, and staff. We provide outstanding equipment and amenities, and also host dozens of programs and events through the school year. We serve as the hub for wellness on campus, as we strive to meet the needs of our growing community.
6 seconds
Six Seconds is a nonprofit network of change makers committed to support 1 billion people to practice emotional intelligence.
Dr. Axe: Food is Medicine
Dr. Josh Axe is a certified doctor of natural medicine and clinical nutritionist with a passion to help people get healthy by using food as medicine. Dr Axe also has a doctorate in chiropractic. His website provides many helpful hints and guidelines for good health, fitness, and provides natural remedies.
Live Healthy Lynchburg
The Live Healthy Lynchburg movement encompasses every area of our lives; it encourages us to: Eat healthy, Play healthy, Work healthy, Learn healthy, and Pray healthy.
Let's Move
Let’s Move! is a comprehensive initiative, launched by the First Lady, dedicated to solving the challenge of childhood obesity within a generation, so that children born today will grow up healthier and able to pursue their dreams. Combining comprehensive strategies with common sense, Let's Move! is about putting children on the path to a healthy future during their earliest months and years. Giving parents helpful information and fostering environments that support healthy choices. Providing healthier foods in our schools.
Lynchburg Parks and Recreation
Lynchburg Parks and Recreation offers parks, trails, and recreational programs for families, children, and adults.