Research Guides: GOVT 200 Constitutional Government and Free Enterprise: Databases

Ask Us

Robert Weaver

Email Me

Contact:

Jerry Falwell Library 2nd Floor

434-592-3358

Subjects: Government, Politics

Media

The library has access to many relevant media resources as well.

American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming video content, including a large volume of contemporaneous video from the 1890s to the 1980s, early newsreels, and full-length documentaries

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using American History in Video

Turabian Citation Help

Turabian Writing Guide
Having trouble with the Turabian citation style? We have a whole LibGuide for that.
Turabian help from CASAS
From the CASAS Academic Success Center
Public Documents in Turabian format
Presented by the University of Valley Forge
Turabian Footnote & Endnote style
Provided by the Georgetown University library
Chicago/Turabian style
Provided by EasyBib

Featured Resources for GOVT 200

Credo This link opens in a new window
Full-text reference resource with articles, images, audio files, and videos covering every major subject

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using CREDO
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals, reference books and conference papers covering political topics with a worldwide focus, including international relations, political theory and comparative politics

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database
RANE Worldview (formerly Stratfor Worldview) This link opens in a new window
Geopolitical intelligence data composed of comprehensive, independent, and unbiased analyses of global events
NexisUni This link opens in a new window
News, business, and legal information from local, regional, national, and international newspapers, journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, and blogs as well as legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using NexisUni

List of All Government Databases
Journal Finder
Search for specific journal titles or browse by category.

CQ Press Resources

This is only a selection of the large number of resources from CQ Press available at Liberty. Check out the A to Z list to see the complete list of CQ titles!

The Encyclopedia of Political Science by George Thomas Kurian (Editor); James E. Alt (Editor); Simone Chambers (Editor); Paula D. McClain (Editor); Geoffrey Garrett (Editor); Margaret Levi (Editor)
ISBN: 9781933116440
Publication Date: 2010-10-12
A 21st century approach to the study of politics Political science needs a resource that serves as a core reference to the central ideas, concepts, and frameworks underlying the study of politics and that highlights the intersections of politics with other disciplines. The Encyclopedia of Political Science (TEPS) is designed to fill that need. It is the encyclopedia for political science in the twenty-first century. Prepared with the assistance of the American Political Science Association (APSA), TEPS brings together a distinguished editorial board and over 600 distinguished and rising scholars to chronicle and assess the core issues that have long concerned students of politics. This comprehensive, multi-volume work traces the evolution of political theories, concepts, research frameworks, and political practices from across the world. As it examines the interplay of political ideas and processes, the encyclopedia also conveys the vitality and excitement of politics in practice. Cognizant of the global nature of political ideas and movements, TEPS reflects a wide range of concepts and frameworks, both Western and non-Western, national and international. An authoritative survey of the state of politics and political science, this five- volume work consists of more than 1,500 A to Z signed entries by contributors from over 30 countries, including 300 overview articles or interpretive essays. The encyclopedia supports all of the core undergraduate courses in political science: American government, comparative politics, international relations, public policy, public administration, political behavior, political theory, and political science methods. It will be an essential reference for all academic and public libraries. Quick Facts Thematic Table of Contents that maps major subfields and topics in politics Over 1,500 A to Z entries Contributing essays from scholars across the globe Prepared with the assistance of the American Political Science Association

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Full-length articles with in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day, including an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, and resources for additional research

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using CQ Researcher
CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis

CQ Congress A to Z
Full-text encyclopedia covering the U.S. Congress, its organization, processes, personalities, major legislation, and history.
CQ Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion
Full-text encyclopedia covering the topics of politics and religion.
CQ Guide to Political Campaigns in America
Full-text reference book examining and explaining every aspect of political campaigns in the United States.
CQ Guide to U.S. Elections
Full-text reference book covering every major aspect of federal and gubernatorial elections in the United States, including the electoral process and in-depth analysis on specific political eras and issues.
CQ Magazine
In-depth reports covering virtually every act of Congress, including full archives to 1983 (Updated weekly)
CQ The Presidency A to Z
Full-text encyclopedia covering the U.S. Executive branch, its organization, processes, personalities, major legislation, and history.

More Government Resources

Annual Review of Political Science
The Annual Review of Political Science covers significant developments in the field of Political Science including political theory and philosophy, international relations, political economy, political behavior, American and comparative politics, public administration and policy, and methodology.
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926
Full-text collection of Anglo-American legal treatises from the 19th and early 20th centuries. Contains over 21,000 works regarding British Commonwealth and American law. Includes casebooks, local practice manuals, books on legal form, pamphlets, letters, and speeches
Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978
Records and briefs brought before the nation's highest court by leading legal practitioners, including transcripts, applications for review, motions, petitions, supplements, and other official papers of the most-studied and talked-about cases
The Early Republic

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text working papers, policy briefs, current analysis and commentary, scholarly journal articles, e-books, and videos covering international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events, including their military, intelligence, diplomatic, and human rights dimensions, from 1945 to the present

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Digital National Security Archive
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text electronic access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using JSTOR
Military & Government Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Journals and periodicals, mostly in full text, pertaining to all branches of the military and government

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database

Global Data Resources

AtoZ Maps This link opens in a new window
Antique and modern maps from all over the world covering political, geographical, physical, and historical themes

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using AtoZ Maps
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world, including demographic, political, economic, business, cultural, and environmental information
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Country information including culture, history, language, travel and education

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Global Road Warrior

CIA World Factbook
Nations of the World
World Geography and Culture Online (Facts on File)
Articles, facts, maps, flags, statistics, videos, images, biographies of famous people, timeline, and current news related to the geography, history, society, and culture for each nation as well as U.S. states, Canadian provinces, and international territories