Skip to main content

Curriculum Library Guide: Children's & Young Adult Literature

Special library within the Jerry Falwell Library

Children's & Young Adult Literature

The Biography Collection includes books about notable people. The books are in picture book and chapter book format. This collection is organized by the last name of the person who is featured in the biography. For example, a book about George Washington would have a spine label stating "B Was."

Check out limits: 25 items; 30 days; 1 renewal, Late fee: 20 cents per day

The Easy Collection includes picture books, bedtime story books, alphabet/counting books, and 32-page beginning readers. With over 3,000 titles to choose from, readers will recognize many national and international authors and illustrators in the collection. Many Caldecott winner and honor books are found in this collection.

Check out limits for Children's Literature: 25 items; 30 days; 1 renewal, Late fee: 20 cents per day

The Fiction Collection includes classic and modern chapter books and beginning readers over 32 pages in length. With over 3,000 titles to choose from, readers will recognize many national and international authors, such as C.S. Lewis, Laura Ingalls Wilder, and Katherine Applegate in the collection. Many Newbery and Belpre winner and honor books are found in this collection.

Check out limits for Children's Literature: 25 items; 30 days; 1 renewal, Late fee: 20 cents per day

The Nonfiction Collection includes factual informational books for ages 4 to 18 on a variety of topics. All books in this collection are arranged by Dewey number, meaning each book is located beside books on the same or similar topics. Examples include books on religion, technology, cooking, and history.

Fairy tales and folk tales from around the world are also found in this collection, under the Dewey number 398.2.

Check out limits for Children's Literature: 25 items; 30 days; 1 renewal, Late fee: 20 cents per day

 

The Young Adult Collection includes books geared for readers grade 7 and up and extends to age 24. The books in this collection deal with more teen and adult themes than the Fiction Collection. Books are are arranged by the author's last name and then Series Code when applicable.

Check out limits for Children's Literature: 25 items; 30 days; 1 renewal, Late fee: 20 cents per day

 

Audiobooks:

The Curriculum Library has a limited number of audiobooks available in CD format. While most audiobooks are for fiction books, several are for nonfiction, biography, and easy books. Those that represent award winning books will have a award sticker on the box spine.

 

 

Graphic Novels:

All Graphic Novels, regardless of whether considered an easy, fiction, young adult, or nonfiction book, are located in the Nonfiction Collection in the 741.5 section.

 

Pop-up Books:

The Curriculum Library has a collection of pop-up books. These books, regardless of whether considered an easy or nonfiction book, are displayed and located on the New Book Shelf.

Check out limits for Children's Literature: 25 items; 30 days; 1 renewal, Late fee: 20 cents per day

Loading ...