Research Guides: Primary Sources: Finding Primary Sources in Religion

Finding Primary Religion Resources on the Jerry Falwell Website

Digital Karl Barth Library This link opens in a new window
Definitive collection of Barth's works in German, including sermons, letters, lectures, conversations, and academic writings as well as a full-text English translation of Barth's The Church Dogmatics and other works
Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts This link opens in a new window
Full-text searchable database of early writing concerning Protestantism

Gale Primary Resources
Full-text, multidisciplinary primary source materials available through a single search of Gale’s digital archives, including archival newspapers, magazines, journals, and other serials; rare documents; books; legal documents; and government documents

Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date texts and accurate English translations of all important aspects of Greek and Latin Classical heritage, including epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; and Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture
Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Christianity This link opens in a new window
Printed works and primary sources from the Christian tradition from the early 1900s until the turn of the 21st century

BIBLE MUSEUM AT LIBERTY UNIVERSITY

Rawlings Scriptorium Museum

The Scriptorium features a number of rare books and Bibles made available by the Rawlings Foundation. The exhibit’s sacred texts are valued at over $1 million. Interactive multimedia screens help students research particular sections of the books and ancient texts.

A digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books maintained at Calvin College

This site offers a brief introduction and guide to resources on the Dead Sea Scrolls, starting with a short essay on the Dead Sea Scrolls discovery and associated controversies, intended to help orient readers new to the subject, which is augmented by a descriptive catalog of the best currently available Dead Sea Scrolls Internet Resources.

Digital Scriptorium (DS) is a growing consortium of American institutions with collections of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts.

Includes public domain texts of the Scriptures, Gnosticism, Early Christian, Eastern Churches, Medieval, Renaissance and Reformation, as well as miscellaneous texts from the modern era.

The Theological Commons is a digital library of over 130,000 resources on theology and religion. Developed in partnership with the Internet Archive it contains books, journals, audio recordings, photographs, manuscripts, and other formats dating from 975 C.E. to the present.

A collection of historical and scholarly resources about the Wesleyan Tradition, theology, Christianity, and the Church of the Nazarene. Content provider: Northwest Nazarene University.