Book reviews vs. Literary Criticism
Book reviews can be a starting point when evaluating a written work. Reviews are shorter than literary criticism and are generally written near the time of publication of the original work.
Works of literary criticism can be written years after the publication of a work and are more extensive in coverage.
Databases can be a good source of these reviews. Liberty's databases which contain book reviews are given below.
Search for author of titles of work. Under "Document Type" choose Book Review.
Contains full-text electronic access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. On the Advanced Search page enter book title. Under Narrow Results choose Reviews.
Search the title of interest and on the left side of the result page - under Content type - choose Reviews. If a resource in Project Muse is unavailable, the item can be requested for you through Interlibrary Loan.
Contains articles on current books and issues by world-renowned literary and thought leaders with coverage back to 1963. This database can be searched by author name or title of work.
Full-text back files of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Search by author's name of titles of work.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Single-search of the full-text of The New York Times (1851-2014), The Washington Post (1877-2002), The Baltimore Sun (1837-1993), The Guardian (1791-2003), The Observer (1791-2003), and Chicago Defender (1909-2010), including full page and article images.
Search by the name of an author or title of a work. Then add the term "book review." Or -search for the name of an author and on the result page - under Document type - choose Reviews.