Listed below are samples of websites found outside of the Jerry Falwell Library site that are related to various aspects of music. These include art songs, diction, choral music, hymns, music education, opera, piano and other topics.
Art Song Central is an archive and directory of free, printable sheet music for singers and voice teachers. An emphasis is on standard and classical material.
Searches can be made by composer, title, genre, or lieder.
ClassicalNet: The Internet's Premier Classical Music Source
Links are given to composer information. Be sure to visit the Basic Repertoire and Composer Works Lists sections.
Ethnomusicology Musical Instrument Collection
The University of Washington houses over 400 musical instruments from all over the world. International artists are invited to campus to share their traditions by teacher and performance.
This is a database of Gregorian scores.
This is a classic free online jazz education resource.
Provides information on jazz music for listeners as well as performers and students.
This databases provides an introduction to music composition.
Music for the American Nation 1870-1885
Contains over 47,000 pieces of sheet music printed between 1870 and 1885.
Thousands of hymn scores
A Night at the Opera Exhibitions
Contains opera-related items from the Library of Congress Music Division.
A Guide to digital scores, libretti, and documents.
Provides in-depth video lessons on jazz piano chords, scales, and chord progressions.
Piano scores are available as well as a short background and practice and performance tips.