Skip to Main Content

Music Research Guide: Scores

This research guide features resources and strategies for finding information and conducting research related to Music.

FINDING AND PRINTING SCORES

In the boxes below are instructions for finding and printing musical scores from the Jerry Falwell Library collection. If you have difficulty in finding what you need, feel free to ask for help.

  • Call or email Mrs. Schwedt: reschwed@liberty.edu
    • Phone: 434-592-3357
  • Call or email Mark Hamilton: mhamilton75@liberty.edu
    • Phone: 434-592-7749

Finding Scores in Print and E-Book Format

The library has a collection scores in both print and Ebook format. All print sheet music is stored in the Automated Storage and Retrieval System. 

For physical scores go to Advanced Search on the main page.

Enter search term. You can use the title of a piece of music, or you can start with a broader search and then narrow it down.

      Ex: Mozart AND arias [soprano OR bass, etc.]

      Ex: Brahms AND songs

      Under CONTENT choose format: Music score

      Possible key word add-ons: criticism OR analysis OR study

If item is in the robotic system – Click link given - Sign in - Request to pickup at the Customer Service Center and click Send Request. 

For e-scores

Follow the same steps used for finding physical scores.

Click on the link given to open the e-score. 

Printing Scores from Naxos on a MAC

Scores in Databases

Art Song Transpositions

Art Song contains digital sheet music that can be downloaded to different keys from a wide variety of composers.

Library Music Source

This database contains digital sheet music, including obscure and hard-to-find pieces, classics, vocal solos, opera solos, opera scores, orchestral parts, and more. Choices can be made for vocal scores or various instrumental scores.

Music Online: Classical Scores Library

Music Online offers full, study, piano, and vocal scores of classical major and lesser known composers, including works from the Middle Ages to the 21st century.

Naxos Sheet Music

Naxos includes downloadable and printable sheet music for all classical genres and some early popular music, spanning from Medieval times to the 21st century and including composers from Bach to Arvo Part.

Printing Scores from Naxos on a PC

At the top of the main page, there is a search box for entering the title of a particular score.

From the page of sheet music, you are able to play a preview of the piece or download a PDF. After downloading the PDF, the piece is ready to be printed.


If you wish to listen to the piece, click on Get Digitized MP3.

If you wish to transpose the piece and then listen to it, click on Transpose Music.  Tell the database whether you are transposing up or down and then indicate the desired key. After the piece is transposed, you will be able to choose whether you wish to open and print the PDF, or listen to it.