The music databases provided by the Jerry Falwell Library fall into various categories.
To find music databases
Journal articles covering every aspect of classical and popular music with coverage since 1970
Journal articles that are international in scope that cover all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms, and composition
Performing Arts Periodical Database
Indexing for international periodicals, covering a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry such as dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, and television
RILM Abstract of Music Literature
Indexing for music-related articles published in journals and conference proceedings, covering all levels from classical to popular music, from ethnomusicology to music therapy, from elementary music education to advanced music theory
Full-text journals, books, and other published humanities sources
Full-text electronic access to journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly books and journals in the humanities and social sciences from the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies
Journal articles, books, and reference resources covering a wide variety of disciplines including music
Peer-reviewed journals and e-books published by Cambridge University Press on wide variety of subjects including music
Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Ten-volume online encyclopedia along with associated audio tracks, musical illustrations, photographs, drawings, song texts, score examples, charts, and maps
Peer-reviewed reference resources, including Grove Music Online encyclopedia, with comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship
Atla Religion Database with Atla Plus
Journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays across all fields of religion and theology
Index of Christian magazines and journals with strong emphasis on evangelical perspectives, including a broad range of topics including music
Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCO)
Full-text journals and magazines, many peer-reviewed, covering theology and philosophy research, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy, and philosophy of language with coverage dating back to 1911
Journals and magazines, many full-text and scholarly articles covering diverse religious and spiritual topics
Classical and jazz music channel with live events and on-demand videos of concerts, operas, ballets, and more
Audio streams of sound recordings of songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys as well as songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, Anti-war protests, and more
Music Online: Classical Music Library
Audio streams of sound recordings of music from the earliest times to the present, featuring the world's great artists
Music Online: Contemporary World Music
Audio streams of music from all regions from every continent
Music Online: Jazz Music Library
Audio streams of sound recordings of jazz, including a variety of artists, ensembles, albums, and genres
Video of the most important opera performances, including staged productions, interviews, and documentaries that represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses
Audio streams of classical music along with background information of both standard and rare repertoire with representation of jazz, world, and pop/rock along
Streaming videos of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, and documentaries
Digital sheet music, including obscure and hard-to-find pieces, classics, vocal solos, opera solos, opera scores, orchestral parts, and more
Music Online: Classical Scores Library
Full, study, piano, and vocal scores of classical major and lesser known composers, including works from the Middle Ages to the 21st century
Downloadable and printable sheet music for all classical genres, spanning from Medieval times to the 21st century and including composers from Bach to Arvo Part
Recent Researches in Music Online (RRIMO)
Full content of the Recent Researches in Music series, including scores and partbooks, covering Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, 19th/20th centuries, American, and Oral Traditions plus the Collegium Musicum: Yale University series
Streaming video of human culture, behavior and society around the world, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films
Music Online: African American Music Reference
Full-text of reference works, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies chronicling the history and culture of the African American experience through music
Music Online: Contemporary World Music
Audio streams of sound recordings of music of all regions from every continent
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Audio streams of sound recordings of the world's musical and aural traditions in diverse musical forms
Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Full-text of the ten-volume print encyclopedia along with associated audio tracks, musical illustrations, photographs, drawings, song texts, score examples, charts, and maps
Reference works, handbooks, classic folk tales, contextual material, multimedia resources, images, and maps that address holidays, festivals, language, stories and fairy tales, proverbs, foodways, and folk remedies that define our society and our place within it
