Research Guides: LIFC 201: Journals and Articles

Academic and Professional Journals

Library Databases

Use the following databases to search for articles relating to life coaching. For a complete list of helpful Counseling & Psychology databases, visit the Counseling & Psychology Research Guide.

APA PsycNET This link opens in a new window
Full-text of APA journals, book chapters, and reference works; abstracts of peer-reviewed literature; psychotherapy videos; psychological tests, scales, and other measurement tools; conference papers, patient materials, brochures, and other gray literature related to behavioral and social science through a single search of multiple American Psychological Association databases

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using APA PsycNet
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles as well as abstracts and indexing for additional titles, covering behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, personality, psychobiology, and psychometrics

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using Psychology Database (ProQuest)
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals covering topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals and magazines, including many peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical sources covering a broad range of sociology studies, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies, and social work with coverage back to 1895

For more information, here is a brief tutorial on using SocINDEX

Sample of Suggested Articles

Diller, S. J., Mühlberger, C., & Jonas, E. (2023). The empathy factor: An important aspect of success in every coaching session. Consulting Psychology Journal. https://doi.org/10.1037/cpb0000259

Gavin, J., & Bernardi, N. F. (2023). Are Certain Types of Coaching More Beneficial within Different Organizational Cultures? The Coach’s Perspective. International Journal of Evidence Based Coaching & Mentoring, 21(1), 50–66. https://doi.org/10.24384/z52p-6042

Hardin, K., & Gehlert, K. M. (2019). Developing the ability to self-manage in coaching supervision. Coaching Psychologist, 15(2), 22-29. https://doi.org/10.53841/bpstcp.2019.15.2.22

Kazpoutzis, N., Whiley, L.A., Yarker, J., & Lewis, R. (2023). Coaching culture: an evidence review and framework for future research and practice. Coaching: An International Journal of Theory, Research and Practice. https://doi.org/10.1080/17521882.2023.2250458

LeBlanc, B. D. (2022). The Technique of Frame Coaching - A Brief Life Coaching Goal-Directed Method. Technium Social Sciences Journal, 32, 445–451. https://doi.org/10.47577/tssj.v32i1.6533

Lefdahl-Davis, E. M., Huffman, L., Stancil, J., & Alayan, A. J. (2018). The impact of life coaching on undergraduate students: A Multiyear analysis of coaching outcomes. International Journal of Evidence Based Coaching & Mentoring, 16(2), 69–83. https://doi.org/10.24384/000560

Molyn, J. de Haan, E., van der Veen, R., Gray, D.E. (2022). The impact of common factors on coaching outcomes. Coaching: An International Journal of Theory, Research and Practice, 15(2), 214-227. https://doi.org/10.1080/17521882.2021.1958889

Roche, C., & Passmore, J. (2023). Anti-racism in coaching: a global call to action. Coaching: An International Journal of Theory, Research and Practice, 16(1), 115-132. https://doi.org/10.1080/17521882.2022.2098789