Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Graduate Student Research Guide: Journal Articles

This research guide provides a brief introduction to Graduate Student Research

Introduction to Databases

Databases provide instant access to thousands of academic journals and scholarly articles. Here are a couple things to keep in mind: 

  • Start broad, then narrow:

As you begin your research, cast your net far-and-wide. Begin by searching interdisciplinary databases such as ProQuest Central or EBSCO QuickSearch. Use simple keywords and begin to explore what information is available.

  •  Choose discipline specific databases:

After conducting broad searches, move to discipline specific databases. Searching in topic or discipline specific databases will allow you to find more specific search results. When searching in our databases, select good keywords and search terms to conduct efficient research. 

  • Use scholarly, peer-reviewed resources:

At the graduate level, all resources used in academic writing should be scholarly or peer-reviewed.  This tutorial reviews how to find scholarly articles in journal databases. In addition to searching for articles in our databases, you can also look for a specific journal publication by using our Journal Finder Tool

  • Consult a research guide:

Your liaison librarian has created a research guide for your discipline. These guides have database suggestions and other discipline specific resources. 

Subject Specific Database Resources

Looking for primary resources for your research project? The Primary Sources Research Guide has a wealth of information about finding and using primary sources. 

A full list of primary source databases is available using the A-Z Databases: Primary Sources list. To access this list, visit the Jerry Falwell Library's website, and from the main home page, then click Browse All Databases. You will then be directed to the A-Z Database list. As the screenshot below shows, click on the All Database Types dropdown menu, and then select Primary Sources

Using the A-Z Database list to find primary resources.

The Jerry Falwell Library has both physical and E-book versions of Biblical Commentaries. This FAQ discusses how to find E-book commentaries. The Religion & Philosophy Research Guide has a wealth of information about conducting theological research.  Additionally, the webinar below outlines how to research a Scripture passage. 

The Jerry Falwell Library Archives & Special Collections contains institutionally significant documents, materials related to the Moral Majority, historic Baptist hymnals, among other items.  The Jerry Falwell Library's digital online collection offers students near and far access to a selection of the Archives' holdings. The Archives' finding aids are a great place to begin your research, and these video tutorials provide an introduction to archival research. If you have questions about archival materials, please email archives@liberty.edu

Looking for databases that have streaming video content? The A-Z Database list provides a listing of Streaming Audio or Streaming Video resources. To access these lists, visit the Jerry Falwell Library's website, and from the main home page, then click Browse All Databases. You will then be directed to the A-Z Database list. As the screenshot below shows, click on the All Database Types dropdown menu, and then select either Streaming Audio or Streaming Video

Using the A-Z Database list to access streaming audio and visual materials.