Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Graduate Student Research Guide: Citations & LU Writing Center

This research guide provides a brief introduction to Graduate Student Research

Where to Find Writing Assistance

Librarians at the Jerry Falwell Library specialize in helping you narrow down your topic, finding scholarly resources, and conducting research within the library catalog and databases.  If you need need research assistance, please contact the team at the Jerry Falwell Library. 

The Liberty University Writing Center specializes in the writing, formatting, and editing process. If you need assistance with a particular citation style, or if you want someone to review your essay, please reach out to the Writing Center.  The Writing Center provides services for both residential and online students. 

Writing Center Helpful Links

Consult resources from the Liberty Writing Center during the brainstorming, research, writing, and editing process. Suggested resources are provided below: 

Using RefWorks for Citation Help

Keeping track of your citations does not have to be difficult. The Jerry Falwell Library offers RefWorks (log in here) to help you keep track of the references that you are using and to assist you with citing your sources. 

RefWorks can output your paper's reference list in many citation styles, including APA. It is important to verify that your reference list is in the correct format, so be sure to make sure the citation is correct in RefWorks. The short video tutorial below can help you get started using RefWorks. 

Writing Style Guides

The American Medical Association has its own formatting and citation guide for the medical sciences. 

The Liberty Writing Center has a AMA Format Quick Guide to aid you in the writing process.

The Jerry Falwell LIbrary has both a physical copy and an e-book edition of the AMA Manual of Style: a Guide for Authors and Editors available. 

The American Psychological Association has its own style and formatting guide.  

The Liberty University Writing Center has a Guide for APA Format Quick Guide to aid you in your studies.  And the Jerry Falwell Library has a APA Style Research Guide which outlines the writing and citation process. 

Need help with APA formatting? The Jerry Falwell Library subscribes to the APA's Academic Writer database. This database provides example essays and writing advice. The Jerry Falwell Library has tutorials on using the APA's Academic Writer. 

If you would like to consult a physical copy of the Publication manual of the American Psychological Association: the official guide to APA style, the Jerry Falwell Library has a physical copy. 

The webinar below outlines basic APA formatting principles: 

Law students are expected to write in Bluebook style. The Liberty University Writing Center has a Bluebook Quick Guide and other Bluebook Resources

The Law Library has several physical copies of The Bluebook: a Uniform System of Citation on reserve. 

In addition to the Bluebook, those in the legal profession can benefit from consulting Garner's Modern English Usage during the writing process. 

The Modern Language Association has its own style guide for writing research papers.  

The Liberty University Writing Center has a MLA Formatting Quick Guide to aid you in your research. The Jerry Falwell Library also has a MLA Style Guide that discusses MLA style requirements. 

The Jerry Falwell Library has a physical copy of the MLA Handbook, 8th edition available. 

The Chicago Manual of Style was first developed by Kate Larimore Turabian for the University of Chicago Press. "Turabian" style formatting is an adapted version of the more formal "Chicago" style formatting. Both Turabian and Chicago have many similarities. 

The Liberty University Writing Center has a Turabian Format Quick Guide to aid you in your research. The Jerry Falwell Library also has a Turabian Style 9th Edition Research Guide. 

The Jerry Falwell Library has a selection of Chicago and Turabian handbooks. 

Plagiarism & Copyright

Concerned about plagiarism and copyright? See these copyright guidelines for detailed information on what constitutes plagiarism and how to determine copyright.