It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATIONS FOR LITERATURE
The Jerry Falwell Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system to organize the collection and create call numbers. Library of Congress designations for literature begin with the letter P. Physical books in the field of literature are housed in the Caudell Reading Room on the second and third floors.
The Curriculum Library, which houses literature for children and young adults, uses the Dewey Decimal System of Classification.
Resources listed on this page are a mix of print and electronic resources.
These encyclopedias are a sample of the materials available in the Jerry Falwell Library collection which can be used to support research in American and English literature.
The unique, three-volume Encyclopedia of Themes in Literature offers both a survey of literary themes and a collection of in-depth analyses of how these themes operate in individual literary works. Part I of this comprehensive new set contains essays on 50 prominent literary themes, with each essay describing how the theme has evolved over time, how it relates to other important themes, and why this theme is powerful enough to recur so often in great literature. Part II contains essays on specific themes in more than 300 individual classic works of literature. Each section on a particular work contains a brief introduction to the work as well as three essays on different literary themes within the work. Themes covered include alienation, coming of age, heroism, innocence and experience, race, science and technology, and more.
The Encyclopedia of Romantic Literature by Frederick Burwick; Nancy Moore Goslee (Associate Editor); Diane Long Hoeveler (Associate Editor)
The Encyclopedia of Romantic Literature is anauthoritative three-volume reference work that covers Britishartistic, literary, and intellectual movements between 1780 and1830, within the context of European, transatlantic and colonialhistorical and cultural interaction.
The Encyclopedia of American Literature gathers together 350 essays from over 190 leading scholars on the whole of American literature, from European discovery to the present. At the core of the Encyclopedia lie 250 essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists. Figures such as Whitman, Melville, Faulkner, Frost, and Morrison are discussed in detail with each examined in the context of his or her times, an assessment of the writer's current reputation, a bibliography of major works, and a list of major critical and biographical works about the writer. Fifty entries on major works such as Moby Dick, Song of Myself, Walden, The Great Gatsby, The Waste Land, Their Eyes Were Watching God, Death of a Salesman, and Beloved place the work in its historical context and offer a range of possibilities with regard to critical approach. The Encyclopedia also contains essays on literary movements, periods, and themes, pulling together a broad range of information and making connections between them. Each entry has its own primary and annotated secondary bibliography, and a system of cross-references helps readers locate information with ease. The Encyclopedia of American Literature is an outstanding reference source for students studying authors, or particular pieces of literature; libraries looking for one comprehensive source; and readers interested in American literature, its authors, and its connection with various areas of study.
These dictionaries are a sample of the materials available in the Jerry Falwell Library collection to support research in American and English literature.
Gale's digitization of this major literary reference work comprises the Dictionary of Literary Biography (vols 1‐348), the Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series (50 vols) and the Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook (23 vols). With over 420 volumes and 164,000 pages of more than 16,000 articles, even the statistics give an impressive overview of the scope of this important reference work.
Grammar is integral to teaching English as a second language, and yet there is often a disconnect between theory and practice. This book bridges that gap by introducing key theories of English grammar and showing how they can be applied in teaching. By drawing on an eclectic range of sources, and using a multidisciplinary approach, Berry links advances in our knowledge of grammar, from theoretical and descriptive viewpoints, with developments in pedagogical practices, to provide a comprehensive overview of the whole process of grammar. The second part of the book contains four case studies of key areas of English grammar in which the insights of the earlier chapters are applied, illustrating how grammar theory is used in practice.
An Introduction to English Grammar provides a comprehensive overview of all aspects of English grammar. The first part of the book ('The Grammar') provides a step-by-step introduction to the key topics in English grammar. The second part ('The Applications') shows how a grasp of these topics can be helpful in resolving usage problems, in developing a clear writing style, and in mastering punctuation and spelling. A whole chapter, 'English in Use', is devoted to illustrating the grammatical features of a wide range of modern text types, including emails, Facebook pages, and 'tweets'. It also looks at the special grammatical features of English in everyday conversation. Each chapter is followed by two sets of exercises. The first set can be used in self-study or in the classroom. The second set deals with more advanced topics, and can be used for classroom discussion or essay writing. This fourth edition has been fully revised and updated and includes: clearer descriptions and improved presentation new material on word structure and word formation new exercises, examples and extracts updated further reading Assuming no prior knowledge of English grammar, this book is ideal for beginning students on a one-semester course and provides everything a student needs on the theory and practice of English usage. A comprehensive Glossary of grammatical terms is included and a website provides invaluable additional exercises.
English: An Essential Grammar is written specifically for native speakers, beginning with the basics and going on to deal with phrase, clause and sentence structure, word formation and spelling. This fully revised third edition features new material on: the structure of phrases and clauses light verbs nominal adjectives the Operator preposition to and infinitival to the four thats determiners, prepositions, and common errors With new exercises and answers for all new sections, this Essential Grammar continues to be the ideal reference for anyone who would like to improve their knowledge of English grammar.