Research Guides: English Research Guide: Books & E-books

Finding the Right Book

Use the JFL catalog to find the right book for you! Item results may be available either in physical or ebook format.

Physical books may be housed on the shelves of the book tower, the Caudill Reading Room, or in our robotic system. Books on literature and languages are found largely in the Caudill Reading Room
- If you are a residential student you may request an item from the robot. Your item will be ready for pick-up at the Customer Service Center within ten minutes of your request.
- If you are a residential student looking for an item that Liberty does not hold, you may request the item through InterLibrary Loan.
- If you are an online student and would like to borrow a physical book from the JFL library, you may request the item through Interlibrary Loan.
EBooks are listed as an "electronic resource." To download an electronic resource listed in the catalog as an eBook, click on "Electronic book - click for access.

The following are select titles written by present or former members of the Liberty University faculty.

The eBook databases listed here contain information on a broad range of subjects but also have a strong literature component.

Cambridge Core
This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed journals and e-books published by Cambridge University Press on wide variety of subjects including Shakespeare and other literatures.

Ebook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Extensive collection of e-books on a wide variety of topics
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Extensive collection of e-books on a wide variety of topics

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Ebook Central (ProQuest).

Gale Ebooks
Full-text, academic e-books, including reference materials, covering a wide range of topics
JSTOR
Full-text electronic access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences
Oxford Scholarship Online
Full-text academic e-books from Oxford University Press, with a variety of subjects across the humanities, literature, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law (Updated monthly)

Titles listed below present an overview of literary works in various genres.

The following titles present a mix of Ebooks and physical books focused on the works of a single author or a single work.

Jane Austen's Heroines (RLE Jane Austen) by John Philips Hardy
John Hardy's interpretation of Jane Austen's heroines breaks through the accepted tradition of viewing the author as merely a rational comedienne of manners.
Matters of Fact in Jane Austen by Janine Barchas
Call Number: PR4038.H5 B37 2012
Discover the links between characters in Jane Austen novels and real-life celebrities of the time.
Monstrous Progeny by Lester D. Friedman; Allison B. Kavey
Mary Shelley's 1818 novel Frankenstein is its own type of monster mythos that will not die.
The New Ezra Pound Studies by Mark Byron (Editor)
This book develops key advances in Pound studies.

The links below give access to collections found outside of the Jerry Falwell Collection.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan is a service provided by Liberty University to access materials from other libraries which are not currently a part of the Jerry Falwell Library collection.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
A catalog of millions of items held by thousands of libraries worldwide. Items in the catalog include books, articles, audio and video, archival materials, maps, musical scores, and more.