Databases provided by the Jerry Falwell Library can assist you in conducting literary research.
Databases in the left column are specific to literature. Databases in the right column are general databases but have a strong literature component.
Databases focused on specific literatures or literary time periods are listed under the Specialized Databases tab
The databases listed here are focused on many types of literature
Gale’s literature includes: Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, and more. It covers authors and their works, literary movements, genres, book reviews, full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and more
Language & Literature (Formerly Lives of Literature - JSTOR)
Features academic journals covering writers and core literary movements
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Scholarly books and articles related to global literatures and languages, including the MLA Thesaurus and the Directory of Periodicals
Bio-critical essays on the lives and works of important authors from around the world
Critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers of the world, including close analysis of key work
Peer-reviewed journals and e-books published by Cambridge University Press including Shakespeare studies, literature and classics.
Encyclopedia of refereed reference articles related to literary and cultural history
Up-to-date texts and accurate English translations of all important aspects of Greek and Latin Classical heritage.
Full text articles on authors important to the areas of fiction, poetry, drama, and philosophy. Also contains critical analyses and brief plot summaries.
Articles on current books and issues by world-renowned literary and thought leaders with coverage back to 1963 (Updated biweekly)
Oxford Scholarship Online - Literature
Focuses on works of literary criticism.
These resources contain information on a broad range of subjects but also have a strong literature component.
Contains full-text journal articles in social sciences, humanities, multicultural studies, education, and more
Provides full-text access to back issues of journals in the humanities, including over 3,000 language and literature titles.
Full-text scholarly journals covering all major subject areas, including the humanities
Full-text e-books on topics in the humanities
Full-text, academic e-books, including reference materials, covering a wide range of topics
Extensive collection of multidisciplinary e-books
Scholarly e-books covering many different subjects
Full-text biographies, including articles, videos, audio selections, images, and primary sources, of people from all time periods and areas of study
Index of papers presented at conferences worldwide
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly books and journals in the humanities and social sciences
Critical Insights for various authors, literary themes, specific works, and full access to Magill Literary Annuals from 1977 to 2021