This guide will serve as a starting point for your research in the field of literature and writing. When using this guide, you can click on the tabs across the top of the page for specific areas of interest.
Databases - Use this tab when you are looking for journal articles relevant to the study of literature or writing.
Books & E-books -Examples of books specific to the study of English are found under this tab.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries - Use this tab when you are looking for general, broad information on your topic or you need to define terms.
Academic Writing - Subpages on this tab offer guides to important aspects of academic writing. Topics include: creative writing, choosing a topic, types of sources available, finding book reviews, evaluating sources, creating annotated bibliographies, and writing literature reviews.
Websites - Use this tab for links to freely accessible content on the web.
Specific/Additional Resources - Subpages on this tab provide resources for English 102 and English 307
Key words help you find the materials you need for literary research. Instead of using random words chosen from an article or a book, the Library of Congress uses a controlled vocabulary. Knowing the terms they use can give you greater success in finding the information you need. Listed below is a sample list of some of the official terms assigned to literary topics. From this list you can see a general pattern that is followed in assigning these terms.
African American Authors
American Drama—19th Century--History and Criticism
American Fiction—Film Adaptations
American Literature—20th Century—Bio-bibliography
American Literature—Southern States
American Poetry—20th Century—History and Criticism, Theory, Etc.
English Literature—18th Century—Bibliography
Harlem Renaissance--Dictionaries
Indians in Literature
Irish Poetry—20th Century
Modernism Literature
Mythology - Celtic
Romanticism—England
Theater—United States—Biography—Dictionaries
Women Authors, English—19th Century—Biography
Academic Success Center provides a range of programs and assistance including: Subject-Based Tutoring, Writing Coaching, Foreign Language Tutoring, Testing Services, Academic Coaching, and Success Studies
P – General Linguistics
(201-299) Comparative Grammar
(301) Style, Composition, Rhetoric
PA- Classical languages and literature
(3051-4500) Greek Literature: (Classic)
PN – Literary History & Collections
(980-990) Criticism
(442-1009) Literary history
(1010-1551) Poetry
(1600-3307) Drama
(4500) Essays
(6010-6790) General Collections
(6080-6095) Quotations
PQ – Romance Literature
(1-3999) French Literature
(6001-8929) Spanish Literature
PR – English Literature
PS – American Literature
PT – Germanic Literature
Help is available in a number of ways.
Email for assistance: research@liberty.edu
Call for assistance: (434) 582-2220
