Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education Research Guide: EDUC 701

Ask Us

Profile Photo
Lyn Mathews
Contact:
JFL Curriculum Library, JFL Terrace Level
434-592-6965

EDUC 701 Theories & Research in Educational Learning Theory

APA Format Quick Guide

APA Sample Paper

 

Course Description:

Theories and research in educational learning theory will be examined, including recent theories and research about classroom management, learning, motivation, diversity, exceptionalities, assessment, and teaching. Discussion, analysis of cases, examination of personal experiences in schools, cooperative projects, and other activities will also be included.

Course Rationale:

In order to become an effective educational leader in a diversified society, the candidate must be able to understand current theories and research in the field of educational learning theory. This exploration will include an emphasis on child development, learning, teaching strategies, assessment, diversity, exceptionalities, motivation, at-risk students, and classroom management.

Finding Books

JFL Collection:

On the library web page:

  1. Hover over Collections
  2. Under Physical click on Books.
  3. On the Books page scroll down and click on JFL Library.

Physical books, E-books and video materials are found in the JFL catalog. Physical books can be borrowed through InterLibrary Loan. E-books and videos have links giving online access.

E-books:

There are a number of E-book databases that give access to E-book titles in addition to those found in the JFL catalog. To find these:

  1. Hover over Collections on the library web page
  2. Under the term Electronic choose E-books.
  3. On the E-books page you have a number of choices for searching.

Finding Article Databases

On the library web page:

  1. Hover over Collections
  2. Under Electronic choose Databases.

Specific databases can be found by the first letter of the title (A-Z) or by Subject.

General databases can be found under Featured Resources: "Top Databases" or "EBSCO Quick Search."

 Databases most applicable to this class:
Education Research Complete
Definitive resource for education research including 1,500+ journals, full text for 750+ journals, 100+ books/monographs, and conference papers.
ERIC
The world’s largest digital library of educational literature, including journal articles, books, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials.
 
Additional suggestions: (Education)
Proquest Education
Provides access to over 790 top educational publications, including more than 615 of the titles in full text
Taylor and Francis Online
Over 200 titles covering curriculum studies, early years education, education research, educational leadership and management, and more.
Teacher Reference Center
 
Additional suggestions: (Religion)
ATLA Religion Database
An index of major religious and theology journals, essays, and book reviews. Covers Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
 
Additional suggestions: (General)
Academic Search Complete
Full text journal articles covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. Updated on a daily basis.
JSTOR
Provides full text electronic access to back issues of over 1,000 core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences
 

Outcome A

Apply principles of effective instruction to improve instructional practices and curricular materials through class discussion, application of readings, and the analysis of journal literautre in educational learning theory.

Learning theory education. (2021).  In Wikipediahttps://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Learning_theory_(education)&oldid=1044345181

Sample Journal Artices

The following journal articles are related to Learning Theory.

Afifi, M. K., & Alamri, S. S. (2014). Effective principles in designing e-course in light of learning theories. The Turkish Online Journal of Distance Education TOJDE, 15(1), 128-142. https://doi.org/10.17718/tojde.43806

Barnhardt, B., & Ginns, P. (2014). An alienation-based framework for student experience in higher education: New interpretations of past observations in student learning theory. Higher Education, 68(6), 789-805. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10734-014-9744-y

Illeris, K. (2015). The development of a comprehensive and coherent theory of learning. European Journal of Education, 50(1), 29-40. https://doi.org/10.1111/ejed.12103 

Jarvis, P. (2015). Learning expertise in practice: Implications for learning theory. Studies in the Education of Adults, 47(1), 81-94. https://doi.org/10.1080/02660830.2015.11661676 

Sample E-books

Pagliaro, M. M. (2013). Academic success: applying learning theory in the classroom. Rowman & Littlefield Education. https://ebookcentral-proquest-com.ezproxy.liberty.edu/lib/liberty/detail.action?docID=1565257 

 

Outcome B

Use appropriate research strategies to promote an environment for improved student achievement by conducting an analysis of the affordances for and hindrances to student learning and motivation in a school.

Sample Journal Articles

Bahri, A., & Corebima, A. D. (2015). The contribution of learning motivation and metacognitive skill on cognitive learning outcome of students

within different learning strategies. Journal of Baltic Science Education, 14(4), 487. http://ezproxy.liberty.edu/login?qurl=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.proquest.com%2Fscholarly-journals%2Fcontribution-learning-motivation-metacognitive%2Fdocview%2F2343752530%2Fse-2%3Faccountid%3D12085

King, H. (2016). Learning spaces and collaborative work: Barriers or supports? Higher Education Research and Development, 35(1), 158-171.

https://doi.org/10.1080/07294360.2015.1131251

Liton, H. (2016). Harnessing the barriers that impact on students' English language learning (ELL). International Journal of Instruction, 9(2), 91-

106. 10.12973/iji.2016.927a

Outcome C

Design learning environments that fit students' developmental levels and capitalize on student diversity to improve learning.

Sample Journal Article

Denson, C. D., Hailey, C., Stallworth, C. A., & Householder, D. L. (2015). Benefits of informal learning environments: A focused examination of STEM-based program environments. Journal of STEM Education, 16(1), 11. http://ezproxy.liberty.edu/login?qurl=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.proquest.com%2Fscholarly-journals%2Fbenefits-informal-learning-environments-focused%2Fdocview%2F1689879030%2Fse-2%3Faccountid%3D12085  

Ellerbock, C. R., & Kiefer, S. M. (2014). Fostering an adolescent-centered community responsive to student needs: Lessons learned and suggestions for middle level educators. The Clearing House, 87(6), 229-235. https://doi.org/10.1080/00098655.2014.933157

 

Jechura, J., Wooldridge, D. G., Bertelsen, C., & Mayers, G. (2016). Exploration of early-childhood learning environments. The Delta Kappa Gamma Bulletin, 82(3), 9. http://ezproxy.liberty.edu/login?qurl=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.proquest.com%2Fscholarly-journals%2Fexploration-early-childhood-learning-environments%2Fdocview%2F1770514343%2Fse-2%3Faccountid%3D12085

 

Asivai, R. (2014). Students perception of the condition of their classroom physical learning environment and its impact on their learning and motivation. College Student Journal, 48(4), 716-726.doi: 10.1007/s10984-012-9122-6

Sample Dissertation

Monahan, K. D. (2009) Influence of technology on adolescent development and spiritual formation (Doctoral dissertation). Liberty University Digital Commons. https://digitalcommons.liberty.edu/doctoral/261/ 

Sample E-Books

Reid, G. (2005). Learning styles and inclusion. Paul Chapman Pub. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781446212523

Ambrose, S. A. (2010). How learning works: Seven research-based principles for smart teaching (1st ed.). Jossey-Bass. https://ebookcentral-proquest-com.ezproxy.liberty.edu/lib/liberty/detail.action?docID=529947 

         

Outcome D

Promote the best practices for student learning through the knowledge of theory and research on learning, cognition, and memory, including information processing, cognitive, and constructivist perspectives.

 
Sample Articles

Ali, R., Bakar, Z. A., & Akhtar, N. (2014). the demarcation of cognitive and learning style: Myth or reality as an impediment in educational research. Journal of Psychological and Educational Research, 22(2), 76. http://ezproxy.liberty.edu/login?qurl=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.proquest.com%2Fscholarly-journals%2Fdemarcation-cognitive-learning-style-myth-reality%2Fdocview%2F1664462090%2Fse-2%3Faccountid%3D12085  

Gürlen, E. (2012). Meaningful learning and educational environment. Journal of Education and Future, (1), 21.   http://ezproxy.liberty.edu/login?qurl=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.proquest.com%2Fscholarly-journals%2Fmeaningful-learning-educational-environment%2Fdocview%2F1504180201%2Fse-2%3Faccountid%3D12085

Carpenter, A. D. (2015). Sanctification as a human process: Reading calvin alongside child development theory. Journal of the Society of Christian Ethics, 35(1), 103-119. https://doi.org/10.1353/sce.2015.0012 

Sample E-books

Pritchard, A. (2009). Ways of Learning. London, GBR: DAvid Fulton Publishers. Retrieved from http://www.ebrary.com

Carr-Chellman, A. (2014). Instructional Design for Teachers. Florence, US: Routledge. Retrieved from http://www.ebrary.com

Outcome E

Apply knowledge, dispositions, and performances necessary for assessing learning environments, and implementing context-appropriate strategies.

Sample Articles

Baron, H.B., Crespo, R.G., Espada, J.P., & Martinez, O.S. (2014). Assessment of learning in environments interactive through fuzzy cognitive maps. Soft Computing 19(4) 1037-1050. https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s00500-014-1313-x 

Koopman, M., Bakx, A. W. E. A., & Beijaard, D. (2014). Students’ goal orientations and learning strategies in a powerful learning environment : A case study. Studies in Educational Evaluation, 43, 186-196. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.stueduc.2014.07.003

Reimann, P., Kickmeier-Rust, M., and Albert, D. (2013). Problem solving learning environments and assessment: A knowledge space theory approach. Computers & Education 64(5) 183-193.  doi:10.1016/s.compedu.2012.11.024

Sample E-books

Pritchard, A. (2009). Ways of Learning. London, GBR: DAvid Fulton Publishers. Retrieved from http://www.ebrary.com

Carr-Chellman, A. (2014). Instructional Design for Teachers. Florence, US: Routledge. Retrieved from http://www.ebrary.com

Outcomes F and G

 Outcome F 

Apply a biblical worldview to the analysis of the literature reviews, readings, and research in educational learning theory.

 

Sample Article

Jones, T. P. (2013). Editorial: How a biblical worldview shapes the way we teach our children. Journal of Discipleship and Family Ministry, 4(1) https://www.galaxie.com/article/jdfm04-1-01

Sample Books

Phillips, W.G., (2008). Making sense of your world: A biblical world view. Salem, WI: Sheffield Publishing Co.

Huffman, D, S, (ed).) (2011). Christian contours: How  biblical worldview shapes the nind and heart. Grand Rapids, MI: Kregel Publications.

Lee, H. (ed.) 2010. Faith-based education that consturcts: A creative dialogue between constructivism and faith-based education. Eugene, OR: Wipf & Stock.

 

Outcome G

Design a theoretical framework supporting an approved research question.