Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education Research Guide: EDUC 782

Ask Us

Profile Photo
Lyn Mathews
Contact:
JFL Curriculum Library, JFL Terrace Level
434-592-6965

EDUC 782: Historical Perspectives Higher Education

APA Format Quick Guide

APA Sample Paper

 

Course Description:

This course provides a historical foundation of how ideas and practices from the past influence current trends in higher education.

 

Course Rationale:

This foundational course provides candidates a brief historical overview of higher education in the United States with an emphasis on diversity, organizational structure, and individual roles. This course will also examine contemporary issues in higher education which have historical significance and implications for future leaders in higher education.
 

Finding Books

JFL Collection:

On the library web page:

  1. In the Find Resources box, click on Books.
  2. Enter the title, author, OR keyword and select Search.

Physical books, E-books and video materials are found in the JFL catalog. Physical books can be borrowed through InterLibrary Loan also. E-books and videos have links giving online access.

E-books:

There are a number of E-book databases that give access to E-book titles in addition to those found in the JFL catalog. This guide provides information for locating and accessing E-books in the JFL collection

Finding Article Databases

On the library web page:

  1. In the Find Resources box, click on Articles.
  2. Enter the title, author, OR keyword and select Search.

Specific databases can be found by the first letter of the title (A-Z) or by Subject.

General databases can be found under Featured Resources: "Top Databases" or "EBSCO Quick Search."

 

 Databases most applicable to education:
Education Research Complete
Definitive resource for education research including 1,500+ journals, full text for 750+ journals, 100+ books/monographs, and conference papers.
ERIC
The world’s largest digital library of educational literature, including journal articles, books, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials.
Proquest Education
Provides access to over 790 top educational publications, including more than 615 of the titles in full text
Taylor and Francis Online
Over 200 titles covering curriculum studies, early years education, education research, educational leadership and management, and more.
Teacher Reference Center
      Indexing and abstracts for peer-reviewed education journals
 
Additional suggestions: (General)
Academic Search Complete
Full text journal articles covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. Updated on a daily basis.
JSTOR
Provides full text electronic access to back issues of over 1,000 core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences
 

Outcome G

Produce a piece of research related to an identified issue or program in higher education. [Student Affairs Issue Project]

 

Sample Journal Articles

The following journal articles are related to current issues in student affairs.

Kelchen, R. (2019). An empirical examination of the Bennett hypothesis in law school prices. Economics of Education Review, 73,
        101915. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.econedurev.2019.101915

Verge, T. (2021). Gender equality policy and universities: Feminist strategic alliances to re-gender the curriculum. Journal of Women,
        Politics & Policy, 
42(3), 191-206. 10.1080/1554477X.2021.1904763. https://doi.org/10.1080/1554477X.2021.1904763

Webber, K. L., & Burns, R. (2021). Increases in graduate student debt in the US: 2000 to 2016. Research in Higher Education, 62(5),       
       709-732. 10.1007/s11162-020-09611-x. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11162-020-09611-x

 

Sample E-book

Hurley, T. A. (2020). In Hurley T. A. (Ed.), Inclusive access and open educational resources e-text programs in higher education. Springer. 10.1007/978-3-030-45730-3. https://dx.doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-45730-3