Research Guides: Education Research Guide: Home

Ask Us

Lyn Mathews

Email Me

Contact:

JFL Curriculum Library, JFL Terrace Level

434-592-6965

Subjects: Curriculum Resources (K-12), Education

Welcome to the Education Research Guide

Welcome! The Education Research Guide is an excellent tool for finding key library resources that support the curriculum of the School of Education.

For additional assistance, please contact liaison librarian to the School of Education, Lyn Mathews, using the contact information provided on this guide. You may also contact Online Research Consultants at 434-592-3362.

The guide is divided into five sections : Home page tab, Databases, Books & E-books, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, and Websites.

Resources are organized by their format under separate tabs above. To locate articles in journals, click on the Databases tab.

Home tab

Welcome
Citation Help
The Research Process
Curriculum Library

Databases

Listing of Jerry Falwell Library subscription databases available to students - Featured databases emphasizing educational topics and test prep

Books & e-books

A view of selected print and e-books focusing on educational topics

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Specialized educational encyclopedias and dictionaries

Websites

Helpful websites for student teaching, lesson plans, and other instructional materials

Need help? Please contact me via email or telephone. I am available to help you with effective search strategies and finding information to meet your research needs.

Citation Help

Academic Writer This link opens in a new window
User-friendly platform for writing papers in APA format that contains templates, reference-checking tools, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Academic Writer.

APA Quick Guide

The School of Education's standard citation style is APA.

Links to help you with APA citation:

The Research Process

Fundamentals of Research This page contains self-paced, interactive modules. These are designed by JFL librarians to introduce you to core concepts and skills related to research and information literacy.
Beginning the Research Process An introduction to searching for ebooks, scholarly journal articles, and scholarly websites from the Jerry Falwell library homepage.
Copyright help This guide provides a brief introduction to copyright.
General Search Tips An explanation of techniques for successfully searching the JFL catalog.
Graduate Student Research Guide This research guide provides a brief introduction to Graduate Student Research.
Off-campus search tips
Research Tutorials JFL tutorials to help you navigate the library databases and learn effective search strategies.
Writing Tutorials
Organizing Your Research Using Library Resources Several of the library databases, such as EBSCO and ProQuest offer the ability to save and organize your research. This tutorial shows how to use these tools.
Jerry Falwell Library video tutorials for Education Doctoral Students A series of 8 individual short videos to assist graduate level education students.
Education journals accessible to JFL patrons
Navigating qualitative, quantitative, and advanced research practices and approaches with Sage Research Methods
Saving and organizing your research using RefWorks
Introduction to data literacy

Curriculum Library

The Curriculum Library, located on the terrace level of the Jerry Falwell Library, supports the university's School of Education by providing access to a variety of instructional resources. The Curriculum Library’s collection includes children's literature such as awarding winning titles, classic children’s literature, and Christian children’s literature. The Curriculum Library uses the Dewey Decimal Classification system to organize its collection.