Visit our Curriculum Library Guide for more information on JFL Curriculum Library materials, services and hours. This guide includes lists of Children's book award winners.
AIM-VA: Accessible Instructional MaterialsAIM-VA is a service of the Virginia Department of Education (VDOE) through a grant to The Kellar Institute for Human disAbilities at George Mason University. AIM-VA provides accessible instructional materials to Virginia K-12 students who have an Individualized Education Program (IEP).
American Archive of Public BroadcastingContains digitized over 100,000 historic programs and original materials from stations across the U.S. 47,000 of these programs are available for streaming in the Online Reading Room (ORR). Recently Sesame Street donated digital copies of its 50 years of episodes.
Education WorldIf it's of interest to teachers, it can be found through Education World. Included at this site are articles discussing educational issues as well as lesson plan ideas.
The Institute of Education Sciences (IES)The Institute of Education Sciences (IES) is the statistics, research, and evaluation arm of the U.S. Department of Education.
Library of Congress- TeachersThe Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching.
Find Library of Congress lesson plans and more that meet Common Core standards, state content standards, and the standards of national organizations. (LOC website)
Library of VirginiaA Guide to Online Educational Resources from the Library of Virginia
National Center for Education StatisticsThe primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. Includes elementary, secondary and post secondary levels. Selected indicators are considered the most significant national measures of the condition and progress of education.
National Center for Learning DisabilitiesThe mission of NCLD is to improve the lives of the 1 in 5 children and adults nationwide with learning and attention issues—by empowering parents and young adults, transforming schools and advocating for equal rights and opportunities.
Training and Technical Assistance Centers onlineA web-based community linking people and resources to help children and youth with disabilities (birth to 22). Available 24/7 to teachers, other professionals and families.
A place to search a wide range of resources by age level, category, disability area, or topic. Categorized into VA Projects, VA Assessments, Disability Info, Resources, Events and Online Training.
U.S. Department of EducationThis website presents facts about the U.S. education system, including reports and statistics.
American English For English Language Teachers Around the WorldFrom books and lesson plans to music and interactive videos, explore the collection of approximately 1,000 resources. The Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, U.S. Department of State, manages this site.
ArtsEdgeArtsEdge is an education program of The Kennedy Center.
Best of History WebsitesBest of History Web Sites, created by EdTechTeacher Inc, is an award-winning portal that contains annotated links to over 1200 history web sites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 history lesson plans, history teacher guides, history activities, history games, history quizzes, and more. (from website)
Bright Ideas: A Teacher’s Resource Manual (English Language teachers)Bright Ideas: A Teacher’s Resource Manual (ebook) offers twenty-six practical teaching strategies and techniques that originally appeared in Ideas Plus, a special series of publications produced by the National Council of Teachers of English. These contributions come from instructors of English in elementary, junior, and senior high schools and colleges throughout the United States of America. Instructional methods discussed in the book focus on techniques for teaching listening, speaking, reading, and writing.
The Classroom BookshelfA weekly blog published by School Library Journal which explores books that can be used in K-8 classrooms in a variety of ways.
Eagle Eye CitizenFree digital tool about primary sources eveloped by the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University. A website to help middle school and high school students develop their historical thinking skills with a goal of accessibility to raw materials of history.
EBSCO Connect lesson plansA curated list by product for easy reference to assist educators in integrating EBSCO resources into the curriculum EBSCO has created a number of lesson plans across school subject areas.
eMedia VAAccess more than one hundred thousand free, innovative, Virginia SOL-aligned learning objects and content for your classroom.
EDSITEment!The best of the humanities on the web, sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities. Features lesson plans and student resources for grades K-12 in the following: Art & Culture, Foreign Language, History & Social Studies, and Language Arts.
Fine Arts _ Virginia DOEVA Department of Education site containing instructional resources and lists of professional organizations as well as sample curriculum (pdfs) for music, theater, and visual arts.
Google's Applied Digital Skills Lesson PlansFree, online curriculum for learners of all ages includes the skills they need for success in the classroom, workplace, and everyday life. Instead of teaching digital skills in isolation, the videos guide learners through real-world project creations. With over 200 hours of lessons that can be done in as little as 30 minutes. Lessons for all ages and levels from K-adult.
GPS Educational ResourcesThe U.S. government has released a new curriculum that uses GPS concepts and activities to stimulate student interest in STEM. The curriculum is designed for the middle/high school level and tied to the NGSS.
Illuminations: Resources for Teaching MathResources for teaching and learning mathematics for grades PreK-12. Lessons and interactives searchable by NCTM's Principles and Standards and by the Common Core State Standards. Created by the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics.
K20 LearnFree, Easily-searchable Lesson Library from the University of Oklahoma
Find lessons by grade level, content area, keywords, state/national standards, and time frame. Browse our collection of vetted lessons compiled through years of curriculum development and outreach to K-12 public schools across the state of Oklahoma.
Kathy Schrock's Guide to EverythingThis resource provides a comprehensive list of web sites useful for enhancing curriculum and professional growth for K-12 teachers. It is updated weekly to include the best sites for teaching and learning across all strands of the pre-college curriculum. Resource types include lesson plans, activities and labs, historical information, videos, and simulations. Of special interest is the author's Assessment and Rubric guide, providing links to exemplary rubrics, organized by topic.
Library of Congress - TeachersThe Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching. Find Library of Congress lesson plans and more that meet Common Core standards, state content standards, and the standards of national organizations.
National Core ARTS StandardsNational Core Arts Standards are based on the artistic processes of Creating; Performing/ Producing/Presenting; Responding; and Connecting.
National Geographic: EducationA wealth of resources for educators teaching K-12. Teaching resources include specif topic collections, ideas, activities, lessons (by grade and subject), units, educator guides, programs, professional development, and national geography standards.
National Science Digital LibraryThis collection provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines—both formal and informal, institutional and individual, in local, state, national, and international educational settings. The NSDL collection contains structured descriptive information (metadata) about web-based educational resources held on other sites by their providers.
NEA Lesson PlansNational Education Association lesson plan database which is browsable by month, grade or subject.
Newseum's EDCollectionsNewseum offers interactive learning tools, multimedia archival materials, primary sources, original content and standards-aligned lesson plans.
PBS Learning MediaContains classroom-ready, and curriculum-targeted digital resources. Resources are aligned to Common Core and national standards and include videos and interactives, as well as audio, documents, and in-depth lesson plans. Browsable by standards, grade level, subject area, and special collections.
The Physics FrontA free resource collection provided by the American Association of Physics Teachers in partnership with the National Science Foundation and the National Science Digital Library. It supports secondary physics and physical science teachers seeking to integrate high quality materials into their lessons.
readwritethinkProvides educators with classroom resources and professional development in reading and language arts for grades K-12. Classroom resources include lesson plans, student interactives, mobile apps, calendar activities, and printouts. Lesson plans have been aligned to the IRA/NCTE Standards for the English Language Arts as well as to individual state standards and Common Core State Standards.
Rich Mathematical Tasks - VA DOEVDOE Mathematical Resources
Additional VDOE rich mathematical tasks, templates, anchor papers, and scoring rationales have been added to the VDOE website!! Teachers are highly encouraged to utilize these resources as they implement the 2016 Mathematics Standards of Learning and develop deeper learning in their classrooms.
ScienceNetLinksProduced by the American Association for the Advancement of Science, this site includes science lesson plans and teaching tools, interacitves, podcasts, and hands-on activities. Materials are for grades K-12.
Statistics in Schools - US Census DataEducate your students about the value and everyday use of statistics. The Statistics in Schools program provides resources for teaching and learning with real life data. Explore the site for standards-aligned, classroom-ready activities.
TeachingHistory.orgTeachinghistory.org is designed to help K–12 history teachers access resources and materials to improve U.S. history education in the classroom. With funding from the U.S. Department of Education, the Center for History and New Media (CHNM) has created Teachinghistory.org with the goal of making history content, teaching strategies, resources, and research accessible.
Technology in EducationExplores commonly available technology, software and gadgets and how these might be used in school settings
Websites for help with identifying the reading levels of books
CLCD databaseOne stop search access to important and relevant information about Pre K-12 media of all types, including reading levels, themes, and reviews from respected publications.
Lexile AnalyzerThe Lexile Analyzer® in the Lexile® & Quantile® Hub allows educators to paste or type in text to receive a Lexile range and view text characteristics along with challenging words and their definitions. The Lexile Analyzer measures the complexity of the text by analyzing characteristics such as sentence length and word frequency. Generally, longer sentences and words of lower frequency lead to higher Lexile measures; shorter sentences and words of higher frequency lead to lower Lexile measures. Texts such as lists, recipes, poetry and song lyrics are not analyzed because they lack conventional punctuation.
American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL)A blog which provides critical perspectives and analysis of indigenous peoples in children's and young adult books, the school curriculum, popular culture, and society.
BJU Publishing resourcesPublisher of Biblical Worldview educational materials, which offers a library of free teacher resources for high school, middle school, and elementary curriculums. Browse archives of articles and publications on Christian education, teaching techniques, and classroom activity ideas for teachers. It provides links to informative and educational websites to supplement and expand your curriculum for any subject. PDF guides and strategies for implementing BJU Press educational resources are also available to download.Includes information about their K-12 TEXTBOOKS as well as online sample materials.
The Best Children's booksA teacher-created website which contains lists of books by academic area, reading level and topic which is updated daily.
Capital Classroom (VA legislative information for kids)The Capitol Classroom web site provides legislative information about Virginia in an educational and entertaining setting for K-12 students and adults. Learn about Virginia's symbols and emblems, history, Members of the General Assembly, the Virginia State Capitol, and How a Bill Becomes a Law!
Code.orgCode.org is a nonprofit organization dedicated to expanding access to computer science in schools. The site offers free courses for students in grades K-12 and professional learning for teachers.
Colorín ColoradoA website of bilingual, research-based information, activities, and advice for educators and families of English language learners (ELLs). Colorín Colorado is an educational service of WETA, (from website)
Edutopia English-Language LearnersA blog with articles focused on instruction to address the needs of students who are learning English. Edutopia is a nonprofit website sponsored by the George Lucas Educational Foundation.
Foreign Language Teaching Methods - UT AustinForeign Language Teaching Methods focuses on 12 different aspects of language teaching, each taught by a different expert instructor. The site contains video footage from an actual methods course held at the University of Texas at Austin. This flexible resource is designed to be used by foreign language teachers as a component of a classroom methods course or as a stand-alone course for independent learners. Includes sample lesson plans and classroom assessments.
NASA For EducatorsNational Aeronautics and Space Administration offers hundreds of resources by subject, grade level, type and keyword. These lesson plans and teaching materials support STEM curriculum.
Resources for French Teachers from the Embassy of FranceThe Embassy of France has created a French Language K-12 website with many resources including: professional development workshops for teachers, pedagogical resources, assistance with French school partnerships, and support for French immersion programs.
Teachers TEST PrepThe complimentary prep services(PRAXIS, CSET, etc.) include free Overview Study Guides and free Full-Length Practice Tests, which also include an individualized diagnostic breakdown of your likelihood of passing and your strengths and weaknesses by domain. These tools allow test-takers to evaluate whether they need additional preparation, and if so, which areas to target.
