A to Zoo by
Whether used for thematic story times, program and curriculum planning, readers' advisory, or collection development, this updated edition of the well-known companion makes finding the right picture books for your library a breeze. Generations of savvy librarians and educators have relied on this detailed subject guide to children's picture books for all aspects of children's services, and this new edition does not disappoint. Covering more than 18,000 books published through 2017, it empowers users to identify current and classic titles on topics ranging from apples to zebras. Organized simply, with a subject guide that categorizes subjects by theme and topic and subject headings arranged alphabetically, this reference applies more than 1,200 intuitive (as opposed to formal catalog) subject terms to children's picture books, making it both a comprehensive and user-friendly resource that is accessible to parents and teachers as well as librarians. It can be used to identify titles to fill in gaps in library collections, to find books on particular topics for young readers, to help teachers locate titles to support lessons, or to design thematic programs and story times. Title and illustrator indexes, in addition to a bibliographic guide arranged alphabetically by author name, further extend access to titles. Offers easy subject access to children's picture books Features a user-friendly organization Provides in-depth indexing and full bibliographic detail
The BERA/SAGE Handbook of Educational Research by
Education has continued to grow in stature and significance as an academic discipline. In addition to world renowned research studies the growth of education has been seen in the methodology and methods underpinning its research. The BERA/SAGE Handbook of Educational Research provides a cutting edge account of the research and methodology that is creating new understandings for education research, policy and practice. Over two volumes, the handbook addresses educational research in six essential components: Section 1: Understanding Research Section 2: Planning Research Section 3: Approaches to Research Section 4: Acquiring Data Section 5: Analysing Data Section 6: Reporting, Disseminating and Evaluating Research Featuring contributions from more than 50 of the biggest names in the international field, The BERA/SAGE Handbook of Educational Research represents a very significant contribution to the development of education.
Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration by 
Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology by 
Encyclopedia of Educational Philosophy and Theory by
This encyclopedia is a dynamic reference and study place for students, teachers, researchers and professionals in the field of education, philosophy and social sciences, offering both short and long entries on topics of theoretical and practical interest in educational theory and philosophy by authoritative world scholars representing the full ambit of education as a rapidly expanding global field of knowledge and expertise. This is an encyclopaedia that is truly global and while focused mainly on the Western tradition is also respectful and representative of other knowledge traditions. It professes to understand the globalization of knowledge. It is unique in the sense that it is based on theoretical orientations and approaches to the main concepts and theories in education, drawing on the range of disciplines in the social sciences. The encyclopaedia privileges the "theory of practice", recognizing that education as a discipline and activity is mainly a set of professional practices that inherently involves questions of power and expertise for the transmission, socialization and critical debate of competing norms and values.
Encyclopedia of Educational Reform and Dissent by 
International Encyclopedia of Higher Education Systems and Institutions by
This authoritative reference source covers all higher education themes in a comprehensive, accessible and comparative way. It maps the field for the twenty first century reflecting the massive changes that have occurred and the challenges ahead for future research. It provides a rich diversity of scholarly perspectives and covers the entire spectrum of higher education from a geographical, a topical and disciplinary perspective. It is unrivaled in its capacity to go beyond national boundaries and provides indispensible comparative analyses. The major reference works available about higher education have been published more than two decades ago and since then higher education has undergone major changes that have resulted in a much larger, diverse, global, and multidimensional reality. One of the main trends has been relentless expansion on a worldwide scale. This has led to mass higher education becoming a reality across continents, substantial growth in the number of countries with universal access to higher education, and great diversification of the student body. The tremendous increase in the international links in higher education, through issues such as training, students' mobility, staff mobility, research activities, is another major change. The consequence is a global dimension that is strongly associated with the intensification of international networks in which institutions and researchers explore, create and share knowledge. As a result of the changes and trends, higher education has increasingly become part of debates that highlight its complexity as an institution that combines relevant political, social, economic, and cultural purposes and dimensions. Asked to play important and varied economic and social roles, higher education has had to reshape its priorities, and organizational and decision-making structures. The growth and increased complexity of the field have both led to more attention being paid to all aspects of higher education and to the expansion of research.
Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics by 
Encyclopedia of the Sciences of Learning by 
Encyclopedia of Special Education by 
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Research, Measurement, and Evaluation by
In an era of curricular changes and experiments and high-stakes testing, educational measurement and evaluation is more important than ever. In addition to expected entries covering the basics of traditional theories and methods, other entries discuss important sociopolitical issues and trends influencing the future of that research and practice. Textbooks, handbooks, monographs and other publications focus on various aspects of educational research, measurement and evaluation, but to date, there exists no major reference guide for students new to the field. This comprehensive work fills that gap, covering traditional areas while pointing the way to future developments. Features: Nearly 700 signed entries are contained in an authoritative work spanning four volumes and available in choice of electronic and/or print formats. Although organized A-to-Z, front matter includes a Reader′s Guide grouping entries thematically to help students interested in a specific aspect of education research, measurement, and evaluation to more easily locate directly related entries. (For instance, sample themes include Data, Evaluation, Measurement Concepts & Issues, Research, Sociopolitical Issues, Standards.) Back matter includes a Chronology of the development of the field; a Resource Guide to classic books, journals, and associations; and a detailed Index. Entries conclude with References/Further Readings and Cross References to related entries. The Index, Reader′s Guide themes, and Cross References will combine to provide robust search-and-browse in the e-version.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Online Education by
Online education, both by for-profit institutions and within traditional universities, has seen recent tremendous growth and appeal - but online education has many aspects that are not well understood. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Online Education provides a thorough and engaging reference on all aspects of this field, from the theoretical dimensions of teaching online to the technological aspects of implementing online courses--with a central focus on the effective education of students. Key topics explored through nearly 400 entries include: · Technology used in the online classroom · Institutions that have contributed to the growth of online education · Pedagogical basis and strategies of online education · Effectiveness and assessment · Different types of online education and best practices · The changing role of online education in the global education system
The BERA/SAGE handbook of educational research by
Education as a relatively young academic discipline has continued to grow in stature and significance. Part of the growth of education has been in understanding the methodology and methods of educational research, an area which has matured over the last two decades. The BERA/SAGE Handbook of Educational Research provides a cutting edge account of the methodology that is establishing and extending new understandings of education. Over two volumes, the handbook breaks the discipline down into six essential components: understanding research, planning research, approaches to research, acquiring data, analysing data and reporting, disseminating and evaluating research.
Collaborative Futures in Qualitative Inquiry by
Collaborative Futures in Qualitative Inquiry critically reflects on and explores the role of qualitative research amidst the global COVID-19 pandemic. Against this unprecedented backdrop, it asks what research means during a global pandemic and what it means to be an academic. Leading international scholars from the United States, Canada, Chile, New Zealand, Norway, and the United Kingdom wrestle with the changing dynamics of research in pandemic times. Collectively and collaboratively, contributors call for a critical, performative, social justice inquiry directed at the multiple crises of our historical present--a rethinking of where we have been, and, critically, where we are going. More specifically, contributors focus on such topics as: the emotional geographies of academic writing; assaults on science and truth; pedagogies of the imagination; indigenization and reconciliation; the search for our common humanity; and the relevance of qualitative inquiry in an era of big data and digital transformation. Collaborative Futures in Qualitative Inquiry is a must-read for faculty and students alike who are interested in imagining new ways to collaborate, to engage in research and activism, and represent and intervene into social life in pandemic times.
A Concise Guide to Writing a Thesis or Dissertation by
A Concise Guide to Writing a Thesis or Dissertation provides clear, succinct, and intentional guidelines about organizing and writing a thesis or dissertation. Part I provides an overview for writing a thesis or dissertation. It describes the big picture of planning and formatting a research study, from identifying a topic to focusing on writing quality. Part II describes the framework and substance of a research study. It models the pattern generally found in a formal, five-chapter research study. Each chapter of a thesis or dissertation has a specific purpose, and this book focuses on each in an easy-to-follow structure. Chapter One reviews the headings and contents expected in the introduction of a study. Chapter Two provides advice for writing a literature review. Chapter Three discusses what to include when describing the methodology. These first three chapters form the proposal section of a study. Two additional chapters present results (Chapter Four) and provide discussion and conclusions (Chapter Five). Appendices offer resources for instructors and students, including a rubric for evaluating writing, exercises to strengthen skills in APA format, sample purpose statements, a research planning organizer, and a guide for scholarly writing. The book is designed overall to be a practical guide and resource for students for their thesis or dissertation process. Note to readers: Due to publishing limitations, some of the titles within the book do not accurately conform with APA format. For precise APA format, please see the APA manual (2010, pp. 62-63), or refer to Table 1.1, (p. 8) or Table D.1 (p. 107) in this book.
Conducting Quantitative Research in Education by
This book provides a clear and straightforward guide for all those seeking to conduct quantitative research in the field of education, using primary research data samples. While positioned as less powerful and somehow inferior, non-parametric tests can be very useful where the research can only be designed to accommodate data structure which is ordinal, or scale but violates a normality assumption, which is required for parametric tests. Non-parametric data are a staple of educational research, and as such, it is essential that educational researchers learn how to work with these data with confidence and rigour.
Conducting your literature review by
This book is a step-by-step guide to writing a literature review, and includes tips for modifying the process as needed depending on your audience, purpose, and goals. The lessons in this book can be applied to writing the background section for a thesis or an original research publication. Literature reviews are now much more challenging to compile today than they used to be. You need a structured approach to handle the sheer volume of published research available. This book will help you formulate a strategy for making decisions about what to include and not include in your review, and produce a reliable and unbiased summary of the existing research. You will learn skills for defining research questions, using search tools and managing citations. This book is part of the American Psychological Association's Concise Guides to Conducting Behavioral, Health, and Social Science Research series. Aimed at undergraduate students in research methods courses or others with a lab or research project, each book describes a key stage in the research process. Collectively, these books provide a solid grounding in research from start to finish.
Foundations of Education Research by
Now in its second edition, Foundations of Education Research defines, discusses, and offers applications for the central components of educational research, providing both novice and experienced researchers with a common ground from which to work. Fully updated throughout, the second edition adds a glossary of terms, additional examples, and includes a discussion of similarities and differences in education research. Eight concise, accessible chapters cover conceptual framework, epistemology, paradigm, theory, theoretical framework, and methodology/method. This unique primer demystifies jargon and makes the theoretical components of research accessible, giving students the tools they need to understand existing education research literature and to produce theoretically-grounded work of their own. Each chapter begins with perspectives from both novice and experienced researchers, whose guiding questions assist researchers engaging with theory for the first time and those looking to improve their understanding of the fundamentals. Practice exercises, examples, and suggested reading lists at the end of each chapter offer students resources they can apply to their own research and thinking in concrete ways. A perfect accompaniment to standard research courses, this book is designed to help students achieve a deeper understanding of what is expected of them and ideas about how to achieve it.
Handbook of Quantitative Methods for Educational Research by
This handbook serves to act as a reference for educational researchers and practitioners who desire to acquire knowledge and skills in quantitative methods for data analysis or to obtain deeper insights from published works. Written by experienced researchers and educators, each chapter in this handbook covers a methodological topic with attention paid to the theory, procedures, and the challenges on the use of that particular methodology.
Handbook of Reading Disability Research by 
Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children by 
The Literature Review by
From daunting to doable in six steps The process of literature search and composing a formal literature review can be intimidating. But masters and doctoral candidates in Education and related fields have found academic argumentation to be seamlessly intuitive with the six-step process pioneered by this book. This updated third edition features a wealth of all-new content including: A flowchart that graphically illustrates Machi and McEvoy's process. Reflective Oversight boxes in each chapter, prompting readers to direct metacognitive activities. Links to online guides and resources. Expanded examples illustrating theoretical concepts.
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research by
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research, Second Edition presents a comprehensive, interdisciplinary overview of the field of qualitative research. Divided into eight parts, the forty chapters address key topics in the field such as approaches to qualitative research (philosophicalperspectives), narrative inquiry, field research, and interview methods, text, arts-based, and internet methods, analysis and interpretation of findings, and representation and evaluation. The handbook is intended for students of all levels, faculty, and researchers across the disciplines, and thecontributors represent some of the most influential and innovative researchers as well as emerging scholars.This handbook provides a broad introduction to the field of qualitative research to those with little to no background in the subject, while providing substantive contributions to the field that will be of interest to even the most experienced researchers. It serves as a user-friendly teaching toolsuitable for a range of undergraduate or graduate courses, as well as individuals working on their thesis or other research projects. With a focus on methodological instruction, the incorporation of real-world examples and practical applications, and ample coverage of writing and representation,this volume offers everything readers need to undertake their own qualitative studies.
The Oxford Handbook of School Psychology by 
Qualitative Research by
The bestselling guide to qualitative research, updated and expanded Qualitative Research is the essential guide to understanding, designing, conducting, and presenting a qualitative research study. This fourth edition features new material covering mixed methods, action research, arts-based research, online data sources, and the latest in data analysis, including data analysis software packages as well as narrative and poetic analysis strategies. A new section offers multiple ways of presenting qualitative research findings. The reader-friendly, jargon-free style makes this book accessible to both novice and experienced researchers, emphasizing the role of a theoretical framework in designing a study while providing practical guidance. Qualitative research reaches beyond the what, where, and when of quantitative analysis to investigate the why and how behind human behavior and the reasons that govern such behavior, but this presents a number of significant challenges. This guide is an invaluable reference for students and practitioners alike, providing the deep understanding that this sometimes difficult area of research requires to produce accurate results. The book contains a step-by-step guide to analyzing qualitative data and an addendum for graduate students with a template for a thesis, dissertation, or grant application. Build a strong foundation in qualitative research theory and application Design and implement effective qualitative research studies Communicate findings more successfully with clear presentation Explore data sources, data analysis tools, and the different types of research
The SAGE Handbook of Applied Social Research Methods by 
The SAGE Handbook of e-Learning Research by
The new edition of The SAGE Handbook of E-Learning Research retains the original effort of the first edition by focusing on research while capturing the leading edge of e-learning development and practice. Chapters focus on areas of development in e-learning technology, theory, practice, pedagogy and method of analysis. Covering the full extent of e-learning can be a challenge as developments and new features appear daily. The editors of this book meet this challenge by including contributions from leading researchers in areas that have gained a sufficient critical mass to provide reliable results and practices.The 25 chapters are organised into six key areas: 1. THEORY 2. LITERACY & LEARNING 3. METHODS & PERSPECTIVES 4. PEDAGOGY & PRACTICE 5. BEYOND THE CLASSROOM 6. FUTURES
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Data Collection by 
Successful Dissertations by
Whether looking for guidance on the whole process, needing help with conducting a literature review or interpreting your quantitative and qualitative data, this accessible and empowering guide will take you through the dissertation process and provide all the information you need to make the most of your research project.This edition includes:- new discussions on critical analysis and the use of internet and social media research data- an expanded chapter on quantitative method and a new section on mixed methods research- case studies from a broader range of education and early childhood settings, both formal and informal- an extended range of types of data analysis discussed- updated references and recommended reading suggestions throughout, reflecting changes in legislation- a glossary of key terms- new end-of-chapter reflective tasks- a new companion website providing all checklists and templates in the book as downloadable resources as well as new mind mapping templates, a supervisor record form, sample ethics form, sample letters to research settings, a pre-submission final checklist, research proposal examples and guidance on setting out tables, figures, appendices and managing your endnotes and reference listSuccessful Dissertations is the essential guide for all undergraduate researchers starting a dissertation project in an Education department.
Writing a Proposal for Your Dissertation by
This user-friendly guide helps students get started on--and complete--a successful doctoral dissertation proposal by accessibly explaining the process and breaking it down into manageable steps. Steven R. Terrell demonstrates how to write each chapter of the proposal, including the problem statement, purpose statement, and research questions and hypotheses; literature review; and detailed plan for data collection and analysis. Of special utility, end-of-chapter exercises serve as building blocks for developing a full draft of an original proposal. Numerous case study examples are drawn from across the social, behavioral, and health science disciplines. Appendices present an exemplary proposal written three ways to encompass quantitative, qualitative, and mixed-methods designs. User-Friendly Features *"Let's Start Writing" exercises leading up to a complete proposal draft. *"Do You Understand?" checklists of key terms plus an end-of-book glossary. *End-of-chapter quizzes with answers. *Case study examples from education, psychology, health sciences, business, and information systems. *Sample proposal with three variants of the methods chapter: quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods.
The Greenwood Dictionary of Education by 
