What is the difference between an article, a journal, and a database? Articles are published in journals; journals are aggregated by databases. Using a database allows you to search across thousands of journals simultaneously, thus allowing you to find articles relevant to your research. Some additional terms that may help you in your research include:
Abstract: A brief summary that classifies, evaluates or describes the important points in the content of a journal article or library resource to help the reader quickly ascertain the resource's purpose. See also Full text.
Article: A brief work—generally between 1 and 35 pages in length—on a topic. Often published as part of a journal, magazine, or newspaper.
Bibliography: A list containing citations to the resources used in writing a research paper or other document. See also Reference.
Citation: A reference to a book, magazine or journal article, or other work containing all the information necessary to identify and locate that work. A citation to a book includes its author's name, title, publisher and place of publication, and date of publication.
Database: A collection of information stored in an electronic format that can be searched by a computer.
Full-text: The complete contents of a text-based resource, as opposed to an abstract or bibliographic record. See also Abstract.
Index: An...electronic publication that provides references to periodical articles or books by their subject, author, or other search terms.
Journal: A publication, issued on a regular basis, which contains scholarly research published as articles, papers, research reports, or technical reports.
Magazine: A publication, issued on a regular basis, containing popular articles, written and illustrated in a less technical manner than the articles found in a journal.
Peer-reviewed journal: Peer review is a process by which editors have experts in a field review books or articles submitted for publication by the experts’ peers. Peer review helps to ensure the quality of an information source. A peer-reviewed journal is also called a refereed journal or scholarly journal.
Permalink: A link that will return you to the same page every time you click the link.
Reference: 1. A service that helps people find needed information. 2. Sometimes "reference" refers to reference collections, such as encyclopedias, indexes, handbooks, directories, etc. 3. A citation to a work is also known as a reference.
Search statement/Search Query: Words entered into the search box of a database or search engine when looking for information. Words relating to an information source's author, editor, title, subject heading or keyword serve as search terms. Search terms can be combined by using Boolean operators and can also be used with limits/limiters.
Definitions courtesy of ACRL and OCLC (Abstract and Full-text)
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |