Research Guides: Nursing Research Guide: Databases

Nursing Databases

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and nursing dissertations covering various aspects of nursing, emergency medical technicians, occupational therapy, physical therapy, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using CINAHL Ultimate.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and some full text of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, PubMed Central, life science journals, author manuscripts, and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Bookshelf

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using PubMed.
MEDLINE Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles for medical professionals on a variety of topics in medicine
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed article abstracts for a variety of scientific fields such as engineering, technology, health, medicine, and more (Updated daily)

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Scopus.

Advanced Practice Nursing This link opens in a new window
Full-text nursing resources, such as the Bates' Guide to Physical Examination, as well as self-assessment tools and more
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Full-text reference books and journals, point-of-care monographs, drug information, videos, practice guidelines, and customized patient education handouts, supporting evidence-based practice across specialty areas

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using ClinicalKey.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based research used to inform decision-making for healthcare professionals

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Cochrane Library.
Global Index Medicus This link opens in a new window
The Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. The material is collated and aggregated by WHO Regional Office Libraries on a central search platform allowing retrieval of bibliographical and full text information.
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses This link opens in a new window
Full-text e-books covering safe medication administration, including generic and trade names as well as drug interactions
Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text surveys, questionnaires, and tests for a variety of topics in health (Updated quarterly)

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest).
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Lexi-PAL Drug Guide and full-text peer-reviewed articles on a variety of topics in nursing such as research funding, confidence intervals, mental health, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database.
JBI EBP This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based resources and analysis covering a wide range of medical, nursing, and health science specialties plus peer-reviewed articles on systematic review protocols and systematic reviews of healthcare research
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles on a variety of nursing topics such as dental hygiene, dietetics, geriatrics, orthopedics, physical therapy, radiology, rehabilitation, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest).
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal articles, quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, nursing cultural competencies, patient education handouts, and point-of-care drug information

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Nursing Reference Center.
PubMed Central (PMC) This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based recommendations for medical professionals for medical procedures and prescription drug use

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and nursing dissertations covering various aspects of nursing, emergency medical technicians, occupational therapy, physical therapy, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using CINAHL Ultimate.
Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text surveys, questionnaires, and tests for a variety of topics in health (Updated quarterly)

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest).
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Lexi-PAL Drug Guide and full-text peer-reviewed articles on a variety of topics in nursing such as research funding, confidence intervals, mental health, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database.
JAMA This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles from the Journal of the American Medical Association

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using JAMA.
Karger This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed medical journals and e-books for patients, their supporters, and healthcare professionals
MEDLINE Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles for medical professionals on a variety of topics in medicine
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles on a variety of nursing topics such as dental hygiene, dietetics, geriatrics, orthopedics, physical therapy, radiology, rehabilitation, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest).
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and some full text of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, PubMed Central, life science journals, author manuscripts, and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Bookshelf

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using PubMed.
PubMed Central (PMC) This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed articles on a wide variety of topics such as the behavioral sciences, computer science, education, humanities, literature, medicine, social sciences, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Taylor & Francis Online.

AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window
Physical therapy resources such as textbooks, exercise videos, self-assessment tools, cadaver dissection tool, and more
Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Videos of head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for a range of patient types

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination.
BioDigital This link opens in a new window
Scientifically accurate cloud-based virtual body in an interactive 3D format

PLEASE NOTE: All students will be required to create a BioDigital Human account in order to use the resource. They will be able to maintain free access with this individual account when they leave the university.
Thieme Atlas of Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Images from top educational anatomy texts that can be customized, edited, and exported in various file formats
Visible Body This link opens in a new window
3D interactive anatomy visualization and education tool to explore the human body

PLEASE NOTE: this resource requires you to create an account using your Liberty University email address.

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Visible Body.
F.A. Davis AT Collection on AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window
E-books, how-to videos, interactive case studies, medical calculators, and teaching tools for athletic training

Global Health This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexing with some full text of public health journals, reports, books, and conferences from 1973 to the present, covering international medical and health research not found in other databases
Global Index Medicus This link opens in a new window
The Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. The material is collated and aggregated by WHO Regional Office Libraries on a central search platform allowing retrieval of bibliographical and full text information.

Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses This link opens in a new window
Full-text e-books covering safe medication administration, including generic and trade names as well as drug interactions
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
Full-text of leading pharmacy reference books; multimedia collection; drug-therapy cases; NAPLEX review; and dosing information, indications, adverse reactions, and pricing for generic and brand-name drugs along with an herb/supplement database
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
Concise evidence-based summaries of current events in the medical field, updates on medical products and services, detailed drug descriptions, and recommendations for the clinical decision-making process (Updated daily)

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using DynaMed Plus.
LexiComp This link opens in a new window
Drug information on a wide variety of prescription drugs, including dosing and use guidelines for various age groups (pediatric, adult, and geriatric), side effects, warnings, precautions, IV compatibility, patient education, international data, infectious diseases, and pregnancy and lactation

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using LexiComp.
Lippincott Advisor This link opens in a new window
E-books, patient teaching handouts, and other materials for supporting nurses in making clinical decisions at the point of care

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Lippincott Advisor.
Merck Index Online This link opens in a new window
Breakdowns of molecular formulas for chemicals, drugs, and additives as well as reference tables for chemistry abbreviations, acronyms, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Merck Index Online.

APA PsycNET This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles and e-books published by APA covering a variety of topics in psychology

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using APA PsycNet.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles on child development covering developmental disorders, learning disorders, brain chemistry, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database.
Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology This link opens in a new window
Full-text reference e-book for psychology and behavioral science covering biological psychology, cognitive functions, human development, personality, social psychology, and more
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) This link opens in a new window
Full-text reference book for the diagnosis and classification of mental disorders for health professionals, social workers, forensic and legal specialists, and researchers
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Behavioral measurement instruments abstracted from leading journals covering health and psychosocial sciences (Updated quarterly)

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database.
PsycARTICLES (APA PsycNet) This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles on a variety of topics in psychology (Updated semi-weekly)
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles on a variety of topics in psychology such as anthropology, mental processes, psychiatry, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database.
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles on a variety of topics in psychology such as behavioral psychology, clinical psychology, developmental psychology, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Psychology Database (ProQuest).
PsycTests This link opens in a new window
Full-text test reports on a variety of psychological topics and issues

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using PsycTests.
Stahl Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text neuropsychopharmacology e-books on prescribing information and patient guidance materials

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Stahl Online.

Counseling Videos

Counseling & Therapy This link opens in a new window
Video footage from actual therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by renowned counseling professionals
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works This link opens in a new window
Transcripts of counseling and therapy sessions and first-person narratives of mental illness and treatment as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material
Structured Clinical Interviews for DSM-5 (SCID-5) This link opens in a new window
Video collection of Structured Clinical Interviews for DSM-5 (SCID-5) administered by a clinician or trained mental health professional who is familiar with the DSM-5 classification and diagnostic criteria, covering depressive, substance, anxiety, psychotic, and obsessive-compulsive and related disorders

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles on a variety of scientific topics such as medicine, engineering, chemistry, computer science, and more

By using this resource, you agree to follow the policies here: https://www.elsevier.com/legal/elsevier-website-terms-and-conditions

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using ScienceDirect.
Biological Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles on a variety of biological topics such as cell ecology, genetics, immunology, virology, zoology, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Biological Science Collection (ProQuest).
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed articles on a wide variety of topics such as the behavioral sciences, computer science, education, humanities, literature, medicine, social sciences, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Taylor & Francis Online.

AAFP Conditions A-Z This link opens in a new window
Patient information from the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) covering common conditions, medical diseases, treatments, and health tips
Advanced Practice Nursing This link opens in a new window
Full-text nursing resources, such as the Bates' Guide to Physical Examination, as well as self-assessment tools and more
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses This link opens in a new window
Full-text e-books covering safe medication administration, including generic and trade names as well as drug interactions
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
Concise evidence-based summaries of current events in the medical field, updates on medical products and services, detailed drug descriptions, and recommendations for the clinical decision-making process (Updated daily)

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using DynaMed Plus.
Health Policy Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text peer-reviewed articles on a variety of topics in healthcare policy such as healthcare administration, healthcare financing, healthcare planning, healthcare quality, health insurance, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database.
Lippincott Advisor This link opens in a new window
E-books, patient teaching handouts, and other materials for supporting nurses in making clinical decisions at the point of care

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Lippincott Advisor.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Full-text e-books and articles on research methods for a wide range of subjects

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using SAGE Research Methods.
Thieme MedOne Education This link opens in a new window
Downloadable medical textbooks for dentistry, dermatology, immunology, internal medicine, microbiology, neurology, neurosurgery, nutrition, obstetrics, ophthalmology, orthopedics, osteopathic medicine, otolaryngology, pathology, pediatrics, pharmacology, radiology, surgery, and more
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based recommendations for medical professionals for medical procedures and prescription drug use

Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Videos of head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for a range of patient types

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination.
Nursing Education in Video This link opens in a new window
OSHA and CMS-compliant videos for training nurses, and other healthcare workers

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Nursing Education in Video.
Symptom Media Film Library This link opens in a new window
DSM-5-TR, ICD-10, and accredited continuing education courses for mental health training
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Full-text reference books and journals, point-of-care monographs, drug information, videos, practice guidelines, and customized patient education handouts, supporting evidence-based practice across specialty areas

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using ClinicalKey.
Counseling & Therapy This link opens in a new window
Video footage from actual therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by renowned counseling professionals
PsycTherapy (APA PsycNet) This link opens in a new window
Streaming psychotherapy videos featuring expert psychotherapists demonstrating the approaches for which they are known in unscripted, spontaneous sessions
Structured Clinical Interviews for DSM-5 (SCID-5) This link opens in a new window
Video collection of Structured Clinical Interviews for DSM-5 (SCID-5) administered by a clinician or trained mental health professional who is familiar with the DSM-5 classification and diagnostic criteria, covering depressive, substance, anxiety, psychotic, and obsessive-compulsive and related disorders
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Documentaries and educational videos on a variety of topics such as anthropology, history, sociology, technology, religion, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Films on Demand.

MedlinePlus
Watch health videos on topics such as anatomy, body systems, and surgical procedures.

Evidence Based Resources

These resources have significant sub-sections of evidence-based research.

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window Full-text articles and nursing dissertations covering various aspects of nursing, emergency medical technicians, occupational therapy, physical therapy, and more For more information, view this brief tutorial on using CINAHL Ultimate.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Evidence-based research used to inform decision-making for healthcare professionals For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Cochrane Library.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window Concise evidence-based summaries of current events in the medical field, updates on medical products and services, detailed drug descriptions, and recommendations for the clinical decision-making process (Updated daily) For more information, view this brief tutorial on using DynaMed Plus.
JBI EBP This link opens in a new window Evidence-based resources and analysis covering a wide range of medical, nursing, and health science specialties plus peer-reviewed articles on systematic review protocols and systematic reviews of healthcare research
MEDLINE Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Full-text articles for medical professionals on a variety of topics in medicine
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window Full-text journal articles, quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, nursing cultural competencies, patient education handouts, and point-of-care drug information For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Nursing Reference Center.
PubMed Central (PMC) This link opens in a new window Full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)
Sociometrics This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based behavioral and social science curricula, professional development courses, and datasets for health professionals, educators, and patients including coverage of sexual and reproductive health, HIV awareness, mental hygiene, intimate partner violence, and substance abuse
UpToDate This link opens in a new window Evidence-based recommendations for medical professionals for medical procedures and prescription drug use

Nursing Research Guide: Databases

Introduction to Nursing Databases

Nursing Databases

Evidence Based Resources