Many nursing books, encyclopedias, and dictionaries are available online. We recommend that you first consult our many databases and e-books, prior to our print collection, simply because our online resources are more current. Finding online books, encyclopedias, and dictionaries is outlined on this page.
Additional mainstays in nursing reference are Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Mosby's Guide to Nursing Diagnosis, and Mosby's 2021 Nursing Drug Reference.
Nursing and medical e-books are available in the following E-book databases.
Further instruction on FInding E-books is located at the bottom of this page.
If you are interested in physical, print resources, you will find resources under the "R" Library of Congress Subject Heading. The Jerry Falwell Library uses the Library of Congress system to organize physical books, and nursing books will have a call number that begins with RT, for example: RT81.5 G768 2019
All nursing and medical science books are found on the third floor of the library, book tower level three.
Whether in Lynchburg or across the globe, the Jerry Falwell Library's E-book collection is a click away. You can use the Find Resources search bar to look for book materials. As the screenshot below displays, click the Books tab, and then enter your search terms. You have the option to refine your search by using the E-book checkbox.
The Jerry Falwell Library has a E-book Research Guide to aid you in your research, and you can review this FAQ on finding e-books. While the Jerry Falwell Library catalog will provide E-book results, you also have the option to consult E-book specific databases. A full list of E-Book databases is available using the A-Z Databases: E-Books list. To access to this E-Book list, visit the Jerry Falwell Library's website, and from the main home page, then click Browse All Databases. You will then be directed to the A-Z Database list. As the screenshot below shows, click on the All Database Types dropdown menu, and then select E-Books.
