Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers.
Full-text of newspaper articles from USA Today, The Washington Post, Star Tribune, The Philadelphia Inquirer, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, Honolulu Star-Advertiser, St. Louis Post-Dispatch, and more (Updated Daily)
For more information, view this brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database.
Single-search of the full-text of The New York Times (1851-2014), The Washington Post (1877-2002), The Baltimore Sun (1837-1993), The Guardian (1791-2003), The Observer (1791-2003), and Chicago Defender (1909-2010), including full page and article images
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and other trusted news sources for regional business in the United States and Canadian provinces with coverage since 1990
For more information, view this brief tutorial on using this EBSCO database.
From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
This collection is a mixture of issues and papers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865. These newspapers "recorded the real and true history of public opinion during the war. In their columns is to be found the only really correct and indicative ’map of busy life, its fluctuations and its vast concerns’ in the South, during her days of darkness and of trial."
This is the first of three collections. The others are available on the right side of the page under:
America & World War I – Part II
America & World War I – Part III
Launched in 1855 as an affordable newspaper (it quickly cut its price to a penny), by 1876 The Telegraph was the largest-selling newspaper in the world, with a circulation of 300,000.
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage.
Single-search of the full-text of The New York Times (1851-2014), The Washington Post (1877-2002), The Baltimore Sun (1837-1993), The Guardian (1791-2003), The Observer (1791-2003), and Chicago Defender (1909-2010), including full page and article images
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers.
Launched in 1855 as an affordable newspaper (it quickly cut its price to a penny), by 1876 The Telegraph was the largest-selling newspaper in the world, with a circulation of 300,000.
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage.
This collection is a mixture of issues and papers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865. These newspapers "recorded the real and true history of public opinion during the war. In their columns is to be found the only really correct and indicative ’map of busy life, its fluctuations and its vast concerns’ in the South, during her days of darkness and of trial."
Virginia Chronicle is a historical archive of Virginia newspapers, providing free access to full text searching and digitized images of over a million newspaper pages.
This collection contains 295,106 issues comprising 2,595,293 pages.
