History Research Guide: Primary Sources and Archives

Full-text primary sources on a variety of topics consisting of archival newspapers, legal documents, government documents, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Gale Primary Sources.

Scans of documents providing firsthand accounts of history in the Americas

Extensive full-text collection of early English books, including titles by John Locke, Captain John Smith, William Shakespeare, and others

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using EEBO.

e-books, pamphlets, and other printed materials covering American history, literature, culture, and daily life from 1639-1820

Single-search of the full-text of The New York Times (1851-2014), The Washington Post (1877-2002), The Baltimore Sun (1837-1993), The Guardian ‎(1791-2003), The Observer‎ (1791-2003), and Chicago Defender (1909-2010), including full page and article images

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

Extensive collection of digitized works from leading research libraries worldwide, providing access to rare, out-of-print, and public domain materials

Full-text primary source articles, books, newspapers, and periodicals on 19th and 20th century American history

Full-text historical periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth on a variety of topics from a British perspective

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using British Periodicals.

Full-text peer-reviewed articles on a wide variety of subjects such as education, literature, political science, psychology, sociology, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using Periodicals Archive Online.

Newspapers, journals, books, archives, and government publications covering agriculture, economics, engineering, history, law, news, science, technology, and more

Full-text primary sources from the 15th to the 21st centuries covering area studies, cultural studies, empires, ethnic studies, history, politics, literature, theatre, war, and more

For more information, view this brief tutorial on using AM Explorer.

Video testimonies from survivors of the holocaust and other genocides