Skip to main content

Education Research Guide: EDUC 200 Principles of Education

Books

JFL Collection:

On the library web page hover over Collections and under Physical click on Books. On the Books page scroll down and click on JFL Library. Both physical books and E-books are found in the JFL catalog. Physical books can be borrowed through InterLibrary Loan. E-books have a link to the actual online book.

E-books:

There are a number of E-book databases in addition to the JFL catalog. On the library web page hover over Collections and under Electronic choose E-books. On the E-books page you have a number of choices for searching.

Databases

Databases most applicable to this class:

Education Research Complete

Definitive resource for education research including 1,500+ journals, full text for 750+ journals, 100+ books/monographs, and conference papers.

ERIC

The world’s largest digital library of educational literature, including journal articles, books, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials.

Additional suggestions:

Proquest Education

Provides access to over 790 top educational publications, including more than 615 of the titles in full text

Academic Search Complete

 Full text journal articles covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. Updated on a daily basis.

JSTOR

Provides full text electronic access to back issues of over 1,000 core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences

Emerald Insight

A full-text journal database in the broad discipline of management (includes Education).

Taylor and Francis Online

Over 200 titles covering curriculum studies, early years education, education research, educational leadership and management, and more.

Teacher Reference Center  

Reference resource databases:

Gale Virtual Reference Library

 A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, magazines, trade publications, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and almanacs. Covers over 5,000 titles, of which almost 4,000 are in full text

Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education, 2009

Provides an introduction to the social and cultural foundations of education. This area of education reflects many of the conflicts, tensions, and forces in American society, focusing on issues such as race, gender, socioeconomic class, the impact of technology on learning, what it means to be educated, and the role of teaching and learning in a societal context. It has chapters related to:

                                  Impact of societal change                                 
                                  Issues involving religion in America today
                                  Cultural diversity
                                  Schools responding to challenges students face

 Oxford Bibliographies

Research guides in the areas of Biblical Studies, Education, Management, and Psychology. Useful for: Philosophies of Education and  History of Education

Search Tips

Sample Selections

Below are sample book titles and articles that may be useful in addressing the Outcomes listed in your syllabus. Samples are presented in APA format. Suggested search terms are included with some topics.

 

Outcome A

Analyze essential characteristics of professionalism and teaching skills.

Suggested search terms
          
  Education- Moral and ethical aspects
            Teaching- Moral and ethical aspects
            Teaching- Philosophy
            Education- Philosophy


 

Sample Books

Higgins, C. (2011). The good life of teaching: An ethics of professional practice.Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell.

Mitchell, D.E. & Ream, R.K. (2015).Professional responsibility: The fundamental issue in education and health care reform. Retrieved from site. springer.com.

 

Sample Articles

Sparks, D. (2007).Becoming a skillful teacher leader. Journal of Staff Development, 28(1), 4. Retrieved from http://ezproxy.liberty.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/211508403?accountid=12085

Jones, S., Bailey, R., & Jacob, R. (2014). Social-emotional learning is essential to classroom management. The Phi Delta Kappan, 96(2), 19024. Retrieved from http://www.jstor.org/stable/24376155

Sample Dissertation

Fortner, D. (2011) Assessing teaching skills linked to student achievement in candidate teachers during the teacher hiring process (Doctoral dissertation). Retrieved from Proquest Dissertations and Theses database (UMI No. 3481330)

 

 

Outcome B

Evaluate some of the rewards and challenges in the teaching profession.

Suggested search terms
          
  Elementary Secondary Education
            Higher Education
            Incentives
            Job Satisfaction

           
Rewards
            Teacher Motivation

            Teaching (Occupation)

Sample Books

Jackson, R. (2014). You can do this: Hope and help for new teachers. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass & Pfeiffer Imprints.

Belmonte, D. (2009). Teaching from the deep end: Succeeding with today's classroom challenges. Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin Press.

Sample Articles

Xiaofeng, S.L. & Ramsey, J. (2008). Teachers' job satisfaction: Analyses of the teacher follow-up survey in the United States for 2000-2001. Teaching and Teacher Education, 24(5). 1173-1184. dol:10.1016/j.tate.2006.11.010.3.

Dilworth, M.E. (1998) Motivation, rewards, and incentives. Trends and Issues Paper No. 3. Retrieved from ERIC database. (ED330692)

Mertler, C.A. (2002) Job satisfaction and perception of motivation among middle and high school teachers. American Secondary Education. 31(1) 43.

 

 

Outcome C

Interpret cultural diversity and its influence on student learning.

Suggested databases
          
  Academic Search Complete
            ERIC

Suggested search terms
          
  Multicultural education
            "cultural diversity" and "student learning"
            Learning- Socioeconomic factors
            Learning- Inequality

           
Learning- Multiculturalism & pluralism
          

Sample Books

Hollins, E. (2015) Culture in school learning: Revealing the deep meaning. New York, NY: Routledge.

Lewis-McCoy, R. (2014) Inequality in the promised land: Race, resources, and suburban schooling. Retrieved from site. ebrary.com

Boykin, A.W. & Noguera, P. Creating the opportunity to learn: Moving from research to practice to close the achievement gap. Retrieved from site. ebrary.com

Sample Articles

Ainscow, M., & Sandill, A. (2010). Developing inclusive education systems: The role of organizational cultures and leadership. International Journal of Inclusive Education, 14(4), 401-416.

Kozleski, E. B., & Waitoller, F. (2010). Teacher learning for inclusive education: Understanding teaching as a cultural and political practice. International Journal of Inclusive Education, 14(7), 655-666.

Dack, H. & Tomlinson, C. A. Inviting all students to learn. Educational Leadership, 72(6) 10-15.

Iwai, Y. Multicultural children's literature and teacher candidates' awareness and attitudes toward cultural diversity. Retrieved from ERIC database. (ED EJ1070461)

 

 

Outcome D

Appraise ways in which schools respond to challenges students face

Suggested search terms
          
  Challenges or difficulties
            Students
           
School respon* (The star will allow retrieval of any of the variations of endings for the word “respond.”
            Student difficulties could be physical limitations, learning disabilities, or social/emotional issues. Choose a specific challenge or difficulty
             – then add School respon*
 

Sample Book

Myers, J. J., McCaw, D. S., & Hemphill, L. S. (2011). Responding to cyperbullying: An action tool for school leaders. Thousand Oaks, US: Corwin. Retrieved from http://www.ProQuestebrary.com

Sample Articles

Wang, M. C. (1992) Effective school responses to student diversity: Challenges and prospects. Retrieved from ERIC database. (ED360446)

DeMatthews, D. E. & Mashinney, H. (2013). Addressing the inclusion imperative: An urban school district's responses. Retrieved from ERIC database. (EJ1018834)

 

 

Outcome E

Trace the historic roots of education while describing issues involving religion in America today.

Suggested databases
          
  JSTOR
            Gale Virtual Reference Library
            Academic Search Complete

Suggested search terms
          
  Religion and culture
            Religious education

       

Sample Books

Bates, D., Durka, G., Schweitzer, F., & Hull, J.M. (2006) Education, religion and society: Essays in honour of John M. Hull. Retrieved from site: http:www.ebookcollection(EBSCOHOST)

Sample Articles

Depaepe, M. (2004). How should the history of education be written? Some reflections about the nature of the discipline from the perspective of the reception of our work. Studies in Philosophy and Education, 23(5-6), 333-345. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.1007/s11217-004-4447-y

Beyer, K. (2010). Setting the record straight: Education of the mind and hands existed in the United States before 1800s. American Educational History Journal, 37(1), 149-167. Retrieved from: http://ezproxy.liberty.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/867849480?accountid=12085

Warren, D. (2005). The wonderful worlds of the education of history. American Educational History Journal, 32(1), 108-115. Retrieved from: http://ezproxy.liberty.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/230079407?accountid=12085

 

 

Outcome F

Compare philosophies of Education

Suggested databases
          
  Gale Virtual Reference Library
            Oxford Bibliographies
            Proquest Education
            JSTOR

          

Suggested search terms
          
  Elementary- Philosophy
            Teaching- Religious Aspects- Christianity
 

Sample Books

McCullough, M. E. (2013). By design: developing a philosophy of education informed by a Christian worldview. Langhorne, PA: Cairn University.

Knight, G. R. (2006). Philosophy & education: an introduction in Christian perspective. Berrien Springs, MI: Andrews University Press.

Sample Articles

Black-Hawkins, K. (2014). Inclusive education and the philosophy of education: what can inclusive education learn from philosophy?. Cambridge Journal of Education, 44(4), 445-450. doi:10.1080/0305764X.2014.960258.


 

 

Outcome G

Evaluate some of the rewards and challenges in the teaching profession.

Suggested databases
          
  Emerald Insight
            Taylor and Francis Online


Suggested search terms
          
  Ethics and teaching
            Look up specific issue and add ethics or law or legal aspects
           
           

Sample Books

Fossey, R., & DeMitchell, T. A. (2014). Student dress codes and the First Amendment: Legal challenges and policy issues. Retrieved from: http://www.ProQuestebrary.com

Infantino, R. & Willke, R. (2009). Tough choices for teachers: Ethical challenges in today's schools and classrooms. Landham, MD: Rowan & Littlefield Education.

Keith-Spiegel, P. (2002).The Ethics of teaching: A casebook. Retrieved from: http:www.ebookcollection (EBSCOHOST)

Sample Articles

Kienzler, D. S. (2004). Teaching ethics isn't enought: The challenge of being ethical teachers. The Journal of Business Communication, 41(3), 292-301. Retrieved from http://sagepub.com

Campbell, E. (2008). The ethics of teaching as a moral profession. Curriculum Inquiry. 38(4), 357-385. doi/10.1111/j.1467-873X.2008.00414.x

Matthews, J. R. The teaching of ethics and the ethics of teaching. Teaching of Psychology, 18(2) 80-85. doi.10.1207/s15328023top1802_3

 

 

Outcome H

Determine the relationship among curricula, instruction, measurable standards, and assessments

Suggested databases
          
  Teacher Reference Center
            Education Research Complete
            ERIC
            Academic Search Complete
         

Suggested search terms
          
  "Standards based Curriculum" and put the phrase in quotation marks
            
 

Sample Books

Ainsworth. L. (2010). Rigorous curriculum design: How to create curricular unites of study that align standards, instruction, and assessment. Englewood, CA: Lead Learn Press.

Hollweg, K. S., & Hill, D. (Eds.). (2003). What is the influence of the national science education standards?. Washington, US: National Academies Press. Retrieved from http://www.ebrary.com

Sample Articles

Rakow, S. R. (2008). Standards-based v. standards-embedded curriculum: Not just semantics!. Gifted Child Today, 31(1), 43-49. Retrieved from http://gct.sagepub.com

Hider, G. R. (2005). What's the big issue? Creating standards-based curriculum. Technology Teacher, 65(4), 30-35. Retrieved from http://ezproxy.liberty.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/235289691?accountid=12085

 

 

Outcome I

Critique the impact that societal changes make on the education profession.

Sample Books

Popkewitz, T. S. (2000). Educational knowledge: Changing relationships between the state, civil society, and the educational community. Retrieved from site. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

Reitman, S. W. (1981). Education, society and change. Boston: Allyn and Bacon.

McAdams, R. P. (2010). Exploring the myths and realities of today's schools: A candid review of the challenges educators face. Retrieved from http://www.ebrary.com     (-----McAdams' book addresses a number of issues facing school systems. The following link connects to a list of the chapter headings: http://site.ebrary.com/lib/liberty/detail.action?docID=10435078

Sample Articles

Nixon, G. (2009). Postmodernity, secularism and democratic approaches to education; The impact on religious education in Scotland: An analysis of the ‘philosophication’ of Scottish religious education in light of social and educational change. Journal of Empirical Theology, 22(2), 162-194. doi:10.1163/092229309X12512584571661

Cornbleth, C. (2008). Echo effects and curriculum change. Teachers College Record, 110(10), 2148-2171.

Long, S. M. (1982). An American profile: Trends and issues in the 80s. Educational Leadership, 39(6), 460.

McDade, D.F. (1982).  The things that interest mankind: A commentary of thirty years of comparative education. Journal of Educational Studies, 30(1), 72-84.

Understanding societal forces driving school change leads to more effective school reform (2008). ERS e-Bulletin, 36(3), 6.

 

 

Subject Guide

Lyn Mathews's picture
Lyn Mathews
Contact:
434-592-6965