Skip to main content

Education Research Guide: EDUC 500 Advanced Educational Learning Theories

Books

JFL Collection:

On the library web page:

  1. Hover over Collections
  2. Under Physical click on Books.
  3. On the Books page scroll down and click on JFL Library.

Physical books, E-books and video materials are found in the JFL catalog. Physical books can be borrowed through InterLibrary Loan. E-books and videos have links giving online access.

E-books:

There are a number of E-book databases that give access to E-book titles in addition to those found in the JFL catalog. To find these:

  1. Hover over Collections on the library web page
  2. Under the term Electronic choose E-books.
  3. On the E-books page you have a number of choices for searching.

Article Databases

On the library web page:

  1. Hover over Collections
  2. Under Electronic choose Databases.

Specific databases can be found by the first letter of the title (A-Z) or by Subject.

General databases can be found under Featured Resources: "Top Databases" or "EBSCO Quick Search."

 
Databases most applicable to this class:
Education Research Complet
Definitive resource for education research including 1,500+ journals, full text for 750+ journals, 100+ books/monographs, and conference papers.
ERIC
The world’s largest digital library of educational literature, including journal articles, books, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials.
Additional suggestions: (Education)
Proquest Education
Provides access to over 790 top educational publications, including more than 615 of the titles in full text
Taylor and Francis Online
Over 200 titles covering curriculum studies, early years education, education research, educational leadership and management, and more.
Teacher Reference Center
Additional suggestions: (Psychology)
Proquest Psychology Journals
This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.     
APA PsycNET
 Searches American Psychological Association resources such as PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS, PsycCRITIQUES, and PsycEXTRA in a single search. Includes full-text peer-reviewed articles and book chapters in psychology and related disciplines.
Additional suggestions: (Religion)
Christian Periodical Index
Indexes 140 Christian magazines and journals, with strong emphasis on evangelical perspectives. Addresses a broad range of topics, including religion, science, literature, music, philosophy, history, nursing, and education. Covers mid-1970s to the present.
           
ATLA Religion Database
An index of major religious and theology journals, essays, and book reviews. Covers Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
Additional suggestions: (General)
Academic Search Complete
Full text journal articles covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. Updated on a daily basis.
JSTOR
Provides full text electronic access to back issues of over 1,000 core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences
Emerald Insight
A full-text journal database in the broad discipline of management (includes Education).

Search Tips:

Sample Selections:

Below are sample book titles and articles that may be useful in addressing the Outcomes listed in your syllabus. Samples are presented in APA format. Suggested search terms are included with some topics.


 

List characteristics of good teaching to include biblical exhortations
and applications to instruction.

 

  • Suggested databases:
    • Christian Periodical Index
    • Education Research Complete
    • JFL Catalog
  • Suggested search terms:
    • “Characteristics of a good teacher”
    • Teaching or teacher and Characteristics
    • Effective teaching

ARTICLES

Moore, D. (2014). Most common teacher characteristics related to intentionality in student spiritual formation. Journal of Research on Christian Education 23:255-270

Benekos, P. J. (2016) How to be a good teacher: Passion, person, and pedagogy. Journal of Criminal Justice Education, 27(2) 225-237,DOI:10.1080/10511253.2015.1128703

BOOKS

Wilson, D. and Conyers, M. (2013). Five big ideas for effective teaching: connecting mind, brain, and education research to classroom practice. NewYork: Teachers College Press.

Vargas, J. S. (2009). Behavior analysis for effective teaching. New York: Taylor & Francis. Retrieved from http://web.a.ebscohost.com/ehost/detail /detail?sid=f3659edd-e91a-4ea6-afbf-07e743c469b3%40sessionmgr4007&vid=0&hid=4107&bdata=JnNpdGU9ZWhvc3QtbGl2ZSZzY29wZT1zaXRl#AN=266292&db=nlebk.


 

Integrate a biblical, Christian worldview into every applicable segment of teaching to include character and its applications to instruction.

  • Suggested databases
    • Education Research Complete
    • Christian Periodical Index
  • Suggested search terms:
    • Character education
    • Moral education or development
    • Christian Worldview and Education
    • Teaching and Religious Aspects and Christianity

ARTICLES

Jeynes, W. H. (2009). The relationship between biblical literacy, academic achievement, and school behavior among Christian and public-schoolstudents. Journal of Research on Christian Education 18(1), 36-55.

Rizzo, K., & Bajovic, M. (2016). Moral literacy through two lenses: Pre-service teachers' preparation for character education. InternationalJournalof Teaching & Learning In Higher Education, 28(1), 131-138.

Rhea, R. (2011). Exploring spiritual formation in the Christian academy: The dialects of church, culture, and the larger integrative task. Journal ofPsychology and Theology, 39(1), 3-15. Retrieved from http://ezproxy.liberty.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/867846676?accountid=12085

BOOKS

Mueller, W. (2006). Engaging the soul of youth culture: Bridging teen worldviews and Christian truth. Downers Grove: InterVarsity Press.

Frost, G. (2007). Learning from the best: Growing greatness in the Christian school. Colorado Springs, CO: ACSI.

DISSERTATION

Barrows, D. (2014)Understanding the times: A causal/comparative study of the effectiveness of a Christian worldview curriculum in helping studentsdevelop a Christian worldview (Doctoral dissertation, Liberty University). Retrieved from http://digitalcommons.liberty.edu/doctoral/971/


 

Explain how research in educational psychology is applied to teaching and give
examples of research findings that contribute to effective teaching
with an application of a biblical worldview.

  • Suggested databases:
    • Education Research Complete
  • Suggested search terms:
    • Educational psychology
    • Effective teaching
    • Teacher education

ARTICLES

Krull, E., Koni, I., & Oras, K. (2013). Impact on student teachers' conception of learning and teaching from studying a course in educational psychology. Asia-Pacific Journal of Teacher Education, 41(2), 218-231. doi:10.1080/1359866X.2013.777026

Fendler, L. (2012). The Magic of psychology in teacher education. Journal of Philosophy of Education, 46(3), 332-351. doi:10.1111/j.1467-9752.2012.00865.x

BOOKS

Hardiman, M. (2003) Connecting brain research with effective teaching: the brain-targeted teaching model. Lanham, MD, Scarecrow Press.

Dallalfar, A., Kingston-Mann, E., & Sieber, T. (Eds.). (2011). Transforming Classroom Culture. New York, US: Palgrave Macmillan. Retrieved from http://www.ebrary.comD.


 

Describe some key characteristics of socio-emotional development during middle
childhood and relate this information to theories of development.

  • Suggested databases:
    • JFL catalog
    • Education Research Journal
  • Suggested search terms:
    • Middle childhood
    • Emotional development

ARTICLES

Guhn, M, Gadermann, A.M., Almas, A., Schonert-Reichel, K.A., Hertzman, C. (2016). Associations of teacher-rated social, emotional, and cognitive development in kindergarten to self-reported wellbeing, peer relations and academic test scores in middle childhood. Early ChildhoodResearch Quarterly 35(2) 76-84.

BOOKS

Huston, A. C., & Ripke, M. N. (2006). Developmental contexts in middle childhood: Bridges to adolescence and adulthood. Cambridge, UK:Cambridge University Press. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com.ezproxy.liberty.edu:2048/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=149843&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Blume, L.B. (2007) Middle childhood to middle adolescence: Development from ages 8 to 18. Upper Saddle River, N.J. Pearson Merrill/Prentice Hall. Bosacki, S. L. (2008). Learning the emotions: Developing emotional lives. In Children's emotional lives: Sensitive shadows in the classroom(pp. 35-66). Bern, Switzerland: Peter Lang Publishing, Inc.


 

Trace the development of physical and meta-cognitive abilities of adolescents.

  • Suggested databases:
    • JFL catalog
    • Education Research Complete
    • ProQuest Psychology Journals
    • APA PsycNet
  • Suggested search terms:
    • Adolescence
    • Development
    • Developmental Psychology
    • Adolescence – Social Aspects

ARTICLES

van der Stel, M., & Veenman, M. J. (2014). Metacognitive skills and intellectual ability of young adolescents: A longitudinal study from adevelopmental perspective. European Journal of Psychology of Education, 29(1), 117-137.

Joseph, N. (2006). Strategies for success: Teaching metacognitive skills to adolescent learners. New England Reading Association Journal,2(1), 33-39.

BOOKS

Dacey, J.S. (1997)Adolescent development. Madison, WI: Brown & Benchmnark.

Kloep, M., Hendry, L., & Taylor, R. (2015). Explorations in developmental psychology : Development from adolescence to early adulthood : Adynamic systemic approach to transitions and transformations. London, GB: Psychology Press. Retrieved from http://www.ebrary.com

Killen, M. and Coplan, R.J. (Ed.). (2011). Social development in childhood & adolescence. Chichester, West Sussex, UK; Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell.


 

Discuss several impacts of culture on student learning.

  • Suggested databases:
    • JFL catalog
    • Education Research Complete
  • Suggested search terms:
    • Educational sociology
    • “Cultural influences on learning” and grade level of interest

ARTICLES

Lai, C., Wang, Q., Li, X., and Hu, X. (2016). The influence of inpidual espoused cultural values on self-directed use of technology for languagelearning beyond the classroom. Computers in Human Behavior, 62(9), 676-688.

Ruff, N. S., & Fritz, R. L. (1994). Teaching culturally perse students. Vocational Education Journal, 69(1), 34.

Cousik, R. (2015). Cultural and functional persity in the elementary classroom: Strategies for teachers. Journal for Multicultural Education, 9(2), 54-67. Retrieved from http://ezproxy.liberty.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1683037042?accountid=12085

BOOKS

Meyers, M. (1993). Teaching to persity: Teaching and learning in the multi-ethnic classroom. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com.ezproxy.liberty.edu:2048/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=27580&site=ehost-live&scope=site


 

Evaluate the significance and limitations of behavioral learning theories in education.

  • Suggested databases:
    • JFL catalog
    • ebrary
    • Education Research Complete
    • JSTOR
  • Suggested search terms:
    • Behavioral learning theory

ARTICLES

Fortner, V. (1989). How theory works out in behavior: Changes by ages. Church Teachers Sep 1989,

BOOKS

Vargas, J. S. (2009). Behavior analysis for effective teaching. Retrieved fromhttp://search.ebscohost.com.ezproxy.liberty.edu:2048/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=266292&site=ehost-live&scope=site

Gonzalez-DeHass, A. R., & Willems, P. P. (2012). Theories in educational psychology: Concise guide to meaning and practice. Retrieved from http://site.ebrary.com/lib/liberty/detail.action?docID=10659244&p00=theories+educational+psychology%3A+concise+guide+meaning+practice

Subject Guide

Lyn Mathews's picture
Lyn Mathews
Contact:
434-592-6965