OpenAthens Guide: How to Create OpenAthens Links: Databases A-J

A-J Databases:

1. ABC&Clio
2. Alexander Street Press Databases
3. Bates Visual Guide
4. Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive
5. Cambridge Core
6. ClinicalKey
7. Credo
8. Ebook Central (ProQuest)
9. EBSCO
10. Emerald Insight
11. Gale Databases & Gale Ebooks
12. Hein Online
13. HSTalks Databases
14. IEEE Xplore Digital Library
15. JSTOR

1. Select ABC&Clio databases
2. Select the database you would like to use from the databases presented in the "A-Z Databases: ABC and Clio" tab.
3. Enter your search term.
4. Select the magnifying glass.
5. Select the title of your desired electronic content.
6. In the address bar at the top of the screen, delete “.eu1.proxy.openathens.net” and change the dash before “abc” to a dot and the dash after “clio” to a dot and remove the extra dash in between “abc- -clio” so that only one dash is left.
7. Copy this edited URL.
8. Paste the URL into the OpenAthens link generator.
9. Select  on the OpenAthens link generator.
10. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.

1. Select Alexander Street Press Databases.
2. Select the database you would like to use from the databases presented in the A-Z Databases: Alexander Street tab.
3. Enter your search term.
4. Select the magnifying glass.
5. Select the title of your desired electronic content.
6. In the address bar near the top of the screen. Delete “.eu1.proxy.openathens.net” and change the dashes into dots for the domain.
7. Copy this edited URL.
8. Paste it into the OpenAthens link generator.
9. Select on the OpenAthens link generator.
10. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.

1. Select Bates Visual Guide.
2. Select your desired electronic content.
3. Copy the URL in the address bar at the top of your screen.
4. Paste this URL into the OpenAthens link generator.
5. Select  on the OpenAthens link generator
6. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.

1. Select Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive.
2. Type in your search term into the “Keywords” box.
3. Hit enter on your keyboard.
4. Select the title of your desired electronic content.
5. copy the URL in the address bar at the top of your screen.
6. Delete “.eu1.proxy.openathens.net” and change any dashes into dots for the domain.
7. Copy this edited URL.

1. Select Cambridge Core.
2. Type in your search term into the search box.
3. Select the magnifying glass.
4. Before you select your desired title, be sure and check that there is a green check with “Access” displayed next to it for your chosen content. 
5. Select the title of your desired electronic content.
6. Copy the URL in the address bar at the top of your screen
7. Paste this URL into the OpenAthens link generator.
8. Select on the OpenAthens link generator
9. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.

1. Select ClinicalKey.
2. Enter your search term.
3. Select the blue “Search” button.
4. Select the title of your desired electronic content.
5. Copy the URL in the address bar at the top of your screen.
6. Paste this URL into the OpenAthens link generator.
7. Select on the OpenAthens link generator.
8. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.

1. Select Credo.
2. Type your search term into the search box
3. Select the magnifying glass.
4. Select the title of your desired electronic content.
5. Copy the URL in the address bar at the top of your screen.
6. Paste this URL into the OpenAthens link generator.
7. Select on the OpenAthens link generator.
8. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.

1. Select Ebook Central.
2. Enter your desired eBook title and select Search.
3. Select the title of the eBook that you would like to use.
4. On the left side of the screen, you will see “Share Link to Book” displayed next to the permalink symbol.
5. Select “Share Link to Book” and a new box should appear on the screen.
6. Highlight and copy the “Copy Link.”
7. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.

1. Select EBSCO databases.
2. Select the database you would like to use from the databases presented in the "A-Z Databases: EBSCO" tab.
3. Enter your search term.
4. Select the green “Search” button.
5. Select the title of the article that you would like to use.
6. On the lower right part of the screen under “Tools,” you will see “Permalink.”
7. Select “Permalink” to display the permalink for this article in the middle of the page.
8. Highlight and copy the URL displayed to the right of the “Permalink” displayed in the middle of the screen.
9. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.

1. Select Emerald Insight.
2. Type in your search term in the search box.
3. Select the magnifying glass.
4. Select the title of your desired electronic content.
5. Copy the URL in the address bar at the top of your screen
6. Paste this URL into the OpenAthens link generator.
7. Select on the OpenAthens link generator.
8. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.

1. Select Gale databases and Gale eBooks.
2. Select the database you would like to use from the databases presented in the "A-Z Databases: Gale" tab.
3. Enter your search term.
4. Select the magnifying glass.
5. Select the title of your desired article or eBook.
6. Near the top right of the screen, you will see “Get Link” displayed under the permalink icon.
7. Select “Get Link” and a box will appear in the middle of your screen.
8. Select the blue “Select” button in the box and either right-click copy or CNTRL + C.
9. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.

1. Select Hein Online.
2. Enter your search.
3. Select the magnifying glass.
4. Select the title of your desired electronic content.
5. Copy the URL in the address bar at the top of your screen.
6. Paste this URL into the OpenAthens link generator.
7. Select on the OpenAthens link generator.
8. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.

1. Select HSTalks databases.
2. Select the database you would like to use from the databases presented in the "A-Z Databases: hstalks" tab.
3. Enter your search term.
4. Select the magnifying glass.
5. Select the title of your desired electronic content.
6. Near the bottom right of the screen you will see the “Share” icon. Select “Share.”
7. Copy the link displayed below “Permalink.”
8. Paste this link into the OpenAthens link generator.
9. Select on the OpenAthens link generator.
10. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.

1. Select IEEE Xplore Digital Library.
2. Type your search term.
3. Select the magnifying glass.
4. Select the title of the electronic content that you would like to use.
5. Copy the URL in the address bar at the top of your screen.
6. Paste this link into the OpenAthens link generator.
7. Select on the OpenAthens link generator.
8. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.

If the resource has a "Stable URL" link

1. Select JSTOR.
2. Type your search term into the keyword search box.
3. Press enter on your keyboard.
4. Select the title of your desired electronic content.
5. If you see a URL that has "/stable" in the URL, then select the two squares icon to copy this link.
6. Paste this URL into the OpenAthens link generator
7. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.

If the resource has a "Remote Access URL" link

1. Select JSTOR.
2. Type your search term into the keyword search box.
3. Press enter on your keyboard.
4. Select the title of your desired electronic content.
5. If you see a “Remote Access URL” displayed,
6. Select the two squares icon to copy this link.
7. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.