OpenAthens Guide: How to Create OpenAthens Links: Databases K-Z

K-Z Databases:

1. Loeb Classical Library
2. NexisUni
3. Ovid
4. Oxford Databases
5. ProQuest Databases (Not Ebook Central)
6. Rotunda Databases
7. Sage Databases (Except Sage Journals)
8. Sage Journals
9. ScienceDirect
10. Scopus
11. Springer Link
12. Taylor & Francis Group
13. Taylor & Francis Online
14. VitalLaw (formerly Cheetah)
15. Wiley Online Library

1. Select Loeb Classical Library.
2. Type your search term
3. Select the magnifying glass.
4. Select the title of your desired electronic content.
5. Copy the URL in the address bar at the top of your screen
6. Paste this URL into the OpenAthens link generator.
7. Select on the OpenAthens link generator.
8. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.

1. Select NexisUni.
2. Type your search term.
3. Select the magnifying glass.
4. Select the title of your desired electronic content.
5. On the grey bar near the top of the screen, you will see "Document" followed by the article's title.
6. Select the permalink icon and a pop-up will appear in the middle of your screen.
7. Copy the URL in the "Link to this Page" pop-up.
8. Paste this URL into notepad or a Word document
9. Remove “.eu1.proxy.openathens.net” and change the dashes into dots for the domain.
10. Copy the edited URL.
11. Paste this edited URL into the OpenAthens link generator
12. Select on the OpenAthens link generator.
13. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.

1. Select Ovid.
2. Type your search term.
3. Select “search.”
4. Select the title of the article that you would like to use.
5. Select “Email Jumpstart,” displayed on the left side of the screen.
6. Copy the URL under “Your Jumpstart URL is:”
7. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.

1. Select Oxford databases.
2. Select the database you would like to use from the databases presented in the "A-Z Databases: Oxford" tab.
3. Type your search term.
4. Select the magnifying glass.
5. You will want to make sure that there is a green unlocked icon, which is present in most Oxford databases, next to the article to ensure that we have access to this content.
6. Select the title of the article that you would like to use.
7. Copy the URL in the address bar at the top of your screen
8. Paste this URL into the OpenAthens link generator.
9. Select on the OpenAthens link generator.
10. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.

1. Select ProQuest databases.
2. Select the database you would like to use from the databases presented in the "A-Z Databases: ProQuest" tab.
3. Type your search term
4. Select the magnifying glass.
5. Select the title of the article that you would like to use.
6. Select the three horizontal dots above “All Options.”
7. Select the link icon to the left of the URL at the top of the “All save & export option” pop-up.
8. If you have correctly copied the permalink, you will see a small blue box on the screen that displays “Link copied to clipboard.”

How to create direct links to PDFs:

1. Select the article you would like to include in your course
2. Copy the URL at the top of the screen (Make sure you are on the Full text – PDF view of the article)
3. Go to the OpenAthens link generator
4. Paste the URL of the article where it says “Enter your links”
5. Select ‘Copy’
6. You are done! You now have a URL that will take the user directly to the article's PDF.

1. Select Rotunda databases.
2. Select the database you want to use from the databases presented in the "A-Z Databases: Rotunda Project" tab.
3. Type your search term.
4. Select the magnifying glass.
5. Select the title of your desired electronic content.
6. Copy the URL in the address bar.
7. Delete “.eu1.proxy.openathens.net” and change the dashes into dots for the domain.
8. Copy this edited URL and paste it into the OpenAthens link generator.
9. Select on the OpenAthens link generator.
10. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.

1. Select Rotunda databases.
2. Select the database you want to use from the databases presented in the "A-Z Databases: Rotunda Project" tab.
3. Type your search term.
4. Select the magnifying glass.
5. Select the title of your desired electronic content.
6. Copy the URL in the address bar.
7. Delete “.eu1.proxy.openathens.net” and change the dashes into dots for the domain.
8. Copy this edited URL and paste it into the OpenAthens link generator.
9. Select on the OpenAthens link generator.
10. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.

1. Select Sage databases.
2. Select the database you would like to use from the databases presented in the "A-Z Databases: SAGE" tab.
3. Type your search term.
4. Select the magnifying glass.
5. Select the title of the article that you would like to use.
6. Near the left side of the page, select the “Get Link” button displayed underneath the permalink icon and a drop-down box will appear on the screen.
7. Select “Copy to clipboard.”
8. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.

1. Select Sage Journals.
2. Type your search term.
3. Select the magnifying glass.
4. Select the title of the article that you would like to use.
5. Copy the URL in the address bar.
6. Paste this URL into the OpenAthens link generator.
7. Select on the OpenAthens link generator.
8. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.

1. Select ScienceDirect.
2. Type your search term.
3. Select the magnifying glass.
4. Select the title of the article that you would like to use.
5. Copy the URL in the address bar at the top of your screen.
6. Paste this URL into the OpenAthens link generator.
7. Select on the OpenAthens link generator.
8. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.

1. Select Scopus
2. Type your search term 
3. Select the magnifying glass.
4. Select the title of your desired electronic content.
5. Copy the URL in the address bar.
6. Select on the OpenAthens link generator.
7. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.

1. Select Springer Link.
2. Type your search term.
3. Select the magnifying glass.
4. Select the title of the article that you would like to use.
5. Copy the URL in the address bar at the top of your screen
6. Paste this URL into the OpenAthens link generator.
7. Select on the OpenAthens link generator.
8. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.

1. Select Taylor & Francis Group.
2. Type the title of your desired eBook title.
3. Select the magnifying glass.
4. Select the title of the eBook that you would like to use.
5. Copy the URL in the address bar at the top of your screen
6. Paste this URL into the OpenAthens link generator.
7. Select on the OpenAthens link generator.
8. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.

1. Select Taylor & Francis Online.
2. Type your search term.
3. Select the magnifying glass.
4. Select the title of the article that you would like to use.
5. Copy the URL in the address bar at the top of your screen
6. Paste this URL into the OpenAthens link generator.
7. Select on the OpenAthens link generator.
8. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.

1. Select VitalLaw.
2. Type your search term.
3. Select the magnifying glass.
4. Select the title of your desired electronic content.
5. Copy the URL in the address bar.
6. Delete “.eu1.proxy.openathens.net” and change the dashes into dots for the domain.
7. Copy this edited URL.
8. Paste this edited URL into the OpenAthens link generator.
9. Select on the OpenAthens link generator.
10. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.

1. Select Wiley Online Library.
2. Type your search term.
3. Select the magnifying glass.
4. Select the title of the article that you would like to use.
5. Copy the URL in the address bar at the top of your screen
6.  Paste this URL into the OpenAthens link generator.
7. Select on the OpenAthens link generator
8. You have successfully created an OpenAthens link.