The Gallaudet Dictionary of American Sign Language by Peggy Swartzel Lott (Illustrator); Daniel Renner (Illustrator); Rob Hills (Illustrator); Clayton Valli (Editor)
Publication Date: 2006-04-17
*More than 3,000 ASL Sign Illustrations *Fully Searchable Full-Color DVD Featuring Every Sign *Special ASL Classifier Section *Complete Index of English Synonyms for Every Sign Created by an unparalleled board of experts led by renowned ASL linguist and poet Clayton Valli, The Gallaudet Dictionary of American Sign Language represents the culmination of more than five years of meticulous assessment and labor. More than 3,000 illustrations arrayed in this volume display the most useful selection of signs to be found in any single ASL reference resource.
The American Sign Language Handshape Dictionary by Richard A. Tennant; Marianne Gluszak Brown
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
"The unique feature of this dictionary is that it is organized by handshape rather than by alphabetical order. An American Sign Language learner can look up an unfamiliar sign by looking for the handshape rather than by looking up the word in an alphabetical English glossary. At the same time, an English speaker can look up a sign for a specific word by looking at the Index of English Glossaries located at the end of the dictionary.
Grammar, Gesture, and Meaning in American Sign Language by Scott K. Liddell
Publication Date: 2012-06-05
In the sign languages of the deaf some signs can meaningfully point toward things or can be meaningfully placed in the space ahead of the signer. Such spatial uses of signs are an obligatory part of fluent grammatical signing. There is no parallel for this in vocally produced languages. This book focuses on American Sign Language to examine the grammatical and conceptual purposes served by these directional signs and demonstrates a remarkable integration of grammar and gesture in the service of constructing meaning.
The Joy of Signing by Lottie L. Riekehof
Publication Date: 1987-01-01
Teaches sign language in senteces rather than individual words. Includes graphic drawings, index, and sadditional learning tools.
Time to Sign by Kathryn Clay (General Editor); Randy Chewning (Illustrator); Daniel Griffo (Illustrator); Margeaux Lucas (Illustrator); MB Artists Staff (Contribution by); Mick Reid (Illustrator); Kari Sween (Consultant Editor); Mira Vonne
Publication Date: 2013-09-01
Time to Sign will have you signing in no time! A helpful introduction and alphabet provide a base for hundreds of words and phrases. What's the sign for fun? You'll soon know. And you'll learn signs you can use wherever you are.
Sign Language - History and International Signing
Sign Language - History and International Signing
Sign Languages by Diane Brentari
What are the unique characteristics of sign languages that make them so fascinating? What have recent researchers discovered about them, and what do these findings tell us about human language more generally? This thematic and geographic overview examines more than forty sign languages from around the world.
This engrossing study investigates the infancy of American Sign Language (ASL). Authors Ted Supalla and Patricia Clark highlight the major events in ASL history, revealing much of what has not been clearly understood until now.
Sign language linguists show here that all questions relevant to the linguistic investigation of spoken languages can be asked about sign languages. Conversely, questions that sign language linguists consider - even if spoken language researchers have not asked them yet - should also be asked of spoken languages. The HSK handbook Sign Language aims to provide a concise and comprehensive overview of the state of the art in sign language linguistics.
Bilingualism and Deafness by Carolina Plaza-Pust
Publication Date: 2016-12-05
This book examines sociolinguistic, educational and psycholinguistic factors that shape the path to sign bilingualism in deaf individuals and contributes to a better understanding of the specific characteristics of a type of bilingualism that is neither territorial nor commonly the result of parent-to-child transmission.
This ground-breaking work, originally published 15 years ago, continues to serve as the primary reference on the theories of omission potential and translational contact in sign language interpreting. I In the book, noted scholar Jemina Napier explores the linguistic coping strategies of interpreters by drawing on her own study of the interpretation of a university lecture from English into Australian Sign Language (Auslan).
In Sign Language Interpreting (SLI) there is a great need for a volume devoted to classic and seminal articles and essays dedicated to this specific domain of language interpreting. Students, educators, and practitioners will benefit from having access to a collection of historical and influential articles that contributed to the progress of the global SLI profession.